Rules Concerning Motors/Hermetic - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Canadian Electrical Code Forum

Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By spinninwheels
  • 2 Post By PlugsAndLights
  • 1 Post By Azachi

Old 11-03-2016, 11:46 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 82
Default Rules Concerning Motors/Hermetic

Hey guys I've been poking around here unregistered and finally decided to take the bait and make it official with registering. Just to give some background info I work as an electrician in the Canadian Forces and have 2 years of on the job training but the base I work at exposes me to alot. I've taken up the ESAT a couple weeks ago and I have some conflicting issues that maybe you guys as experts could clear up for me.

Today at work we were installing a circuit for a stand up freezer, it was a normal 120V single phase with a 12A draw. Normally you would take 12A x 1.25 = 15A but I would avoid this as it's right on the 80% of a 15A breaker. So to avoid nuisance tripping I would install a 20A breaker, use the 75C column as i'm coming off a breaker which is what they're rated for and use #12AWG as we are not allowed to use any #14AWG on the base.

Now for my confusion. I've been getting alot of motor questions in the ESAT and what they do is they usually refer to Table 44 when I'm just given the Horespower and Voltage along with single or 3 phase. From there I would then take the FLA given off Table 44 and then head to table 29 to find that if i were to protect the motor with a circuit breaker that it is 250%.

Then there's the whole other avenue of hermetic motors where to protect the motor you use the FLA x 6(locked rotor current) x 50%

So now that i've expressed these other 2 confusing scenarios, i've always understood refrigeration and freezers to be hermetic but maybe they're not.