CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > NEC Code Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-21-2010, 08:58 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MINNESOTA
Posts: 6
Default 480/277, 240/120, 208/120 in same bldg

Is there a industry standard or code color for 3 diff systems in the same bldg 480/277, 240/120 high leg, 208/120 the thing i cant figure is the brn yellow org for 480 , but then i have the high leg to mark org or red , red would be used for the 208/120. My code book is at the shop and this has been bugging me all day. I think i can make up my own color code but i want to do whats been done in other bldgs

THARMON is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 03-21-2010, 09:00 PM   #2
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 34,855
Default

200.6(D) of the 2008.

__________________
Never believe everything you read on the internet. --Thomas Jefferson.
480sparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 09:04 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
william1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, N.C.
Posts: 11,079
Default

I have only worked on one building that had all 3 of those. 480/277 was brown,orange,yellow,gray. The 240/120 was black,red,white and the 208/120 was black,red,blue,white.
william1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 09:09 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MINNESOTA
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks, but the 240/120 is three phase and we cant have the same color used on two systems , right?
THARMON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 09:09 PM   #5
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 34,855
Default

Tharmon: Check your PM box.
__________________
Never believe everything you read on the internet. --Thomas Jefferson.
480sparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 09:11 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MINNESOTA
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks i will look that up
THARMON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 10:16 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Toronto Sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, (Scarborough) Canada.
Posts: 1,580
Default

Voltage would be almost the same on both systems black-red and each to the white.
__________________
Don't fight .. Play nice!
Toronto Sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 05:54 PM   #8
"Boozer"
 
Innovative's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 696
Default

Never worked on a building with all three of those voltages available..... two, yes, but not all three.......most are usually 277/480 and 120/208
__________________
www.IEC-Electric.com
www.Hivoltage.biz

"The impossible, is usually the untried"
Innovative is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 09:20 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
william1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, N.C.
Posts: 11,079
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Innovative View Post
Never worked on a building with all three of those voltages available..... two, yes, but not all three.......most are usually 277/480 and 120/208
Yea most buildings that I work in are the same way. For some reason the phone guy said 208v would mess up his equip. and he told the GC that he needed 240v so we set a XFMR to get the voltage that he wanted.
william1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 09:24 PM   #10
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 34,855
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by william1978 View Post
Yea most buildings that I work in are the same way. For some reason the phone guy said 208v would mess up his equip. and he told the GC that he needed 240v so we set a XFMR to get the voltage that he wanted.

What equipment does 'the phone guy' have that needs 240?
__________________
Never believe everything you read on the internet. --Thomas Jefferson.
480sparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 09:28 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
william1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, N.C.
Posts: 11,079
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
What equipment does 'the phone guy' have that needs 240?
I don't remember what equipment he had that needed 240v but I do remember putting several L630R's in. I was done with the parking deck by the time they started putting in there equip.

william1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Work in Bldg Built In 2000 Randy L NEC Code Forum 5 01-24-2009 07:42 PM
Roof electrical move on commercial bldg alselec General Electrical Discussion 2 12-09-2008 09:59 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Copyright 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com