CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > NEC Code Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-15-2013, 08:41 PM   #1
Journeyman
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New England
Posts: 60
Rewards Points: 75
Default adding neutral bar

If you add a neutral bar to a service entrance panel, can you directly attach it to the case as long as you have an appropriately sized jumper? I have always done it this way but just wanted opinions on it.

P-Electrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 06-15-2013, 09:27 PM   #2
ET rocks
 
3xdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 2,277
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

Sure. As long as you install it per the bars instructions (drill and tap using the supplied screws).

Not some nasty hack job.

3xdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 09:47 PM   #3
Journeyman
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New England
Posts: 60
Rewards Points: 75
Default

I used self tappers, did not have any screws supplied, panel is a train wreck old sq d qo
P-Electrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 12:50 AM   #4
ET rocks
 
3xdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 2,277
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

Like sheet metal screws? If so, that's a no go.

Get some Square D PK kits and keep them in your tool bag.
3xdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 12:58 AM   #5
Journeyman
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New England
Posts: 60
Rewards Points: 75
Default

I have to go back to do some other work so i will pull them out and drill/tap the holes. Thank you

Last edited by P-Electrician; 06-16-2013 at 01:19 AM.
P-Electrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 01:26 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Deep Cover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: SE WI
Posts: 2,909
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

You cannot do what you describe if there is a main before this panel.
Deep Cover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 01:29 AM   #7
Journeyman
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New England
Posts: 60
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Main breaker is in the panel. Is not a 4 wire feed
P-Electrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 01:34 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Deep Cover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: SE WI
Posts: 2,909
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Just because there is a main breaker in the panel and there aren't 4 conductors entering the panel, does not necessarily mean that this is the main panel.

It very well may be, but from what I've read on this site, meter/main combo's are pretty common on the east coast.
Deep Cover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 01:40 AM   #9
Journeyman
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New England
Posts: 60
Rewards Points: 75
Default

No oc device in the meter
P-Electrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 02:57 AM   #10
BBQ
Salty Member
 
BBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 31,029
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deep Cover View Post

It very well may be, but from what I've read on this site, meter/main combo's are pretty common on the east coast.
Not in MA, RI or CT.
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 08:05 AM   #11
ITW
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Michigan, West Virginia
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

In order to have a ground bar mounted without insulator bases to the panel enclosure that panel must contain the service disconnect switch. That means the enclosure must contain the first means of disconnect for the service entrance conductors to that facility. The grounding and grounded systems cannot come together at any other place than the service disconnect enclosure described here.
ITW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 08:07 AM   #12
ITW
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Michigan, West Virginia
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Exclamation

I was thinking neutral bar... a ground bar can be mounted to the enclosure.
ITW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 08:12 AM   #13
ITW
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Michigan, West Virginia
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Talking

...and should be.
ITW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 08:17 AM   #14
ITW
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Michigan, West Virginia
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

A neutral bar can only be bonded to the enclosure at the first means of disconnect for the service entrance conductors.
Seems rather round-about, but if you think on this some it will come to full light for you.
ITW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 08:35 AM   #15
Professional Nit Picker
 
manchestersparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,668
Rewards Points: 1,006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deep Cover View Post

It very well may be, but from what I've read on this site, meter/main combo's are pretty common on the east coast.

Not in Md, DC, or southeastern Pa
__________________
Anything Worth Doing ....
Is Worth Doing Right
manchestersparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 08:42 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
8V71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 2,458
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by manchestersparky View Post
Not in Md, DC, or southeastern Pa
Probably an unanswerable question but any ideas why?
8V71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 11:06 AM   #17
ET rocks
 
3xdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 2,277
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

Hmmm. In post #1 the OP mentions "service entrance panel".

What's all the doubt for?
3xdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 11:12 AM   #18
Donuts > Fried Eggs
 
Big John's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Portland
Posts: 14,873
Rewards Points: 2,040
Default

Unless the bar came with instructions that required machine-screws, I don't see a problem with OPs installation.

The screws are for mounting, not carrying fault current like they would be with a ground bar. As long as the jumper wire to the service neutral is in place, it seems compliant.
__________________
Spend $86 to keep yourself safe. Always wear your gloves.
Big John is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 11:13 AM   #19
BBQ
Salty Member
 
BBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 31,029
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

I am really wondering what is going on that he needs to add a neutral bar.
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 11:17 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,135
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big John View Post
The screws are for mounting, not carrying fault current like they would be with a ground bar.
Speaking about ground bars... How many ground lugs have you bolted to the side/bottom of a panel thru a 1/4" hole that you drilled yourself?

Hackster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a/c XxZavyxX Residential Electrical Forum 12 05-24-2013 08:28 AM
not adding up well..... chicken steve Off Topic 36 08-21-2012 08:32 PM
adding #4 lug to neutral buss billyrr Residential Electrical Forum 27 12-01-2011 06:14 PM
Broken Neutral, Connect Neutral to Box? JayWater General Electrical Discussion 45 08-19-2011 08:02 PM
one leg 130v to neutral the other 117v to neutral??? brooklyn General Electrical Discussion 3 01-07-2010 07:59 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:58 PM.


Copyright 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com