CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > NEC Code Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-10-2010, 08:44 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: new jersey
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default arc flash breaker code

hello,
I performed a search here and didn't find what I was looking for, so here goes...
I've looked at the code when it comes to using the AFCI breakers...I've been told that each room is to have a dedicated circuit protected by the AFCI, however, I don't get that from the code sections regarding AFCI protection...it states that certain rooms need to be protected, but no where does it state that each bedroom needs to have its own home run...
I'm about to rough a 2 family dwelling, the rooms are so small and only have 3-4 receptacles per room, so I can't imagine running a home run for each room...a retired inspector told me each one had to be a home run...but that's not what the code book says...
anyone have any clarification on this?
am I just reading the code wrong?
maybe I missed something...

480jc is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 08-10-2010, 11:29 AM   #2
Ax grinder
 
raider1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Logan, Utah
Posts: 1,997
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

There is nothing in the NEC that requires each bedroom to be supplied with an individual branch circuit.

Chris

raider1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 12:17 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
TheRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 485
Rewards Points: 250
Default

There is nothing that requires an individual branch circuit for each bedroom.......but each branch circuit that serves bedrooms shall have AFCI protection for the entire branch circuit.
__________________
Rick -

"fool-proof systems do not take into account the ingenuity of fools"
TheRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 07:33 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: new jersey
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default that's what I thought

yeah,
that's what I thought...I just figured I'd ask, sometimes we don't see things that others do...thanks for your help Gents!
480jc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 07:38 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: kentucky
Posts: 9,579
Rewards Points: 2,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 480jc View Post
hello,
I performed a search here and didn't find what I was looking for, so here goes...
I've looked at the code when it comes to using the AFCI breakers...I've been told that each room is to have a dedicated circuit protected by the AFCI, however, I don't get that from the code sections regarding AFCI protection...it states that certain rooms need to be protected, but no where does it state that each bedroom needs to have its own home run...
I'm about to rough a 2 family dwelling, the rooms are so small and only have 3-4 receptacles per room, so I can't imagine running a home run for each room...a retired inspector told me each one had to be a home run...but that's not what the code book says...
anyone have any clarification on this?
am I just reading the code wrong?
maybe I missed something...
Arc Flash...Arc Fault...It stumbles me, as well. But we knew what you meant.
RIVETER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 08:04 PM   #6
Electric Al
 
oldtimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,701
Rewards Points: 2,082
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRick View Post
There is nothing that requires an individual branch circuit for each bedroom.......but each branch circuit that serves bedrooms shall have AFCI protection for the entire branch circuit.
Depending on the number of receptacles on the cct.
oldtimer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 08:07 PM   #7
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 35,479
Rewards Points: 2,468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldtimer View Post
Depending on the number of receptacles on the cct.

Huh?
__________________
Ark: ..............Arch: ................. Arc:
480sparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 08:19 PM   #8
Electric Al
 
oldtimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,701
Rewards Points: 2,082
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
Huh?
I mean, however many receptacles are allowed on each circuit.
oldtimer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 08:20 PM   #9
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 35,479
Rewards Points: 2,468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldtimer View Post
I mean, however many receptacles are allowed on each circuit.

In a dwelling, there is no limit.
__________________
Ark: ..............Arch: ................. Arc:
480sparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 08:28 PM   #10
Electric Al
 
oldtimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,701
Rewards Points: 2,082
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
In a dwelling, there is no limit.
Are you saying, that by your code, you can put as many receptacles as you want, on the same circuit? Or, are you yanking the oldtimers chain?
oldtimer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 08:29 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: kentucky
Posts: 9,579
Rewards Points: 2,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldtimer View Post
Are you saying, that by your code, you can put as many receptacles as you want, on the same circuit? Or, are you yanking the oldtimers chain?
He said there is no limit...He didn't say it was CODE.
RIVETER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 08:31 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 3,026
Rewards Points: 2,000
Send a message via Yahoo to doubleoh7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldtimer View Post
Are you saying, that by your code, you can put as many receptacles as you want, on the same circuit? Or, are you yanking the oldtimers chain?

In a dwelling unit, there is no max. # of receptacles per circuit.
doubleoh7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 08:35 PM   #13
Electric Al
 
oldtimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,701
Rewards Points: 2,082
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doubleoh7 View Post
In a dwelling unit, there is no max. # of receptacles per circuit.
WOW. You could wire an entire house with a 12 cct. loadcentre.
oldtimer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 09:12 PM   #14
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 35,479
Rewards Points: 2,468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldtimer View Post
WOW. You could wire an entire house with a 12 cct. loadcentre.

Technically, five.
__________________
Ark: ..............Arch: ................. Arc:
480sparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 09:55 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 2,649
Rewards Points: 2,000
Send a message via Yahoo to gold
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 480jc View Post
hello,
I performed a search here and didn't find what I was looking for, so here goes...
I've looked at the code when it comes to using the AFCI breakers...I've been told that each room is to have a dedicated circuit protected by the AFCI, however, I don't get that from the code sections regarding AFCI protection...it states that certain rooms need to be protected, but no where does it state that each bedroom needs to have its own home run...
I'm about to rough a 2 family dwelling, the rooms are so small and only have 3-4 receptacles per room, so I can't imagine running a home run for each room...a retired inspector told me each one had to be a home run...but that's not what the code book says...
anyone have any clarification on this?
am I just reading the code wrong?
maybe I missed something...
Quote:
What is your electrical related field/trade: journeyman electrician/licensed electrical contractor
I call BS.

Call an Electrician.

gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Arc Flash equipment garfield General Electrical Discussion 10 03-07-2010 11:11 PM
What is the flash of arc flash? Jeff000 General Electrical Discussion 26 10-31-2009 09:20 PM
Arc Flash RIVETER General Electrical Discussion 21 10-28-2009 07:33 PM
Flash Lights brian john Tools, Equipment and New Products 49 10-26-2008 09:33 AM
Arc Flash K&R Workplace Safety 2 03-10-2007 08:07 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Copyright 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com