Electrician Talk banner

NFPA NEC online (NFCSS)

2K views 9 replies 5 participants last post by  wendon 
#1 ·
So for a hundred and some odd years the NFPA has been printing codes...and it still exists in print and it is good. You open up a book, check the table of contents or the index...or go straight to a code section and make your reference...and you're done.

Online, the NFPA has found it in their infinite wisdom that the content has to be delivered in bleeding-edge format. Not that the actual PDF's are very different...but in how one gets to them.

I have a subscription to the all-access online content (NFCSS) for the codes. The license is purchased by my work, which is the federal government. I can't access the content half of the god-damned time because they changed the coding on the site...again...and my subscription is basically worthless.

No, NFPA, I cannot get the latest update for Java. My computer is administered by someone else. It takes months or years for the government to review new software releases. Changing your site that often is essentially detrimental to progress.

Java-this, CSS, Silverlight-that, XML, Flash, what-the-f**k-ever...it all comes down to a simple written word f***ing document.

I can't even use the stupid feedback link on the page...just a spinning wheel of death for hours....Loading (a load of crap is what)!

What a waste of time. Anyone else feel this pain? Please...just looking for someone to sympathize with.

:censored::censored::censored:

See less See more
#2 ·
Download the PDF.
Put it on your computer, tablet, and phone. Open with the PDF viewer of your choice.
Profit.

It's really that easy.

I also have all the PDFs (code and otherwise) in Cloud services so I could get to them anytime from anywhere with an internet connection. I wouldn't depend on the NFPA for anything other than being crooked and evil.

#3 · (Edited)
Download the PDF.
Put it on your computer, tablet, and phone. Open with the PDF viewer of your choice.