CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > NEC Code Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-14-2011, 10:21 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
reddog552's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mundys Corner Pa Now IN Belleville Il.
Posts: 151
Rewards Points: 81
Default Service entrance disconnect

I know the service entrance disconnect must be near the entrance of the service cable. Is there a rule how far from entering the building. Case in point,I was at a single famly dwelling which had an addition . The service entrance cables of a 200 amp service were ran from the meter cabinent through the addition in 2" rigid app.30' to the main panel.this instulation was inspected ? Is there a rule for how far unprotected cables can be run?

reddog552 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 04-14-2011, 10:44 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Salvatoreg02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NY/CT
Posts: 1,567
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reddog552
I know the service entrance disconnect must be near the entrance of the service cable. Is there a rule how far from entering the building. Case in point,I was at a single famly dwelling which had an addition . The service entrance cables of a 200 amp service were ran from the meter cabinent through the addition in 2" rigid app.30' to the main panel.this instulation was inspected ? Is there a rule for how far unprotected cables can be run?
Our building requirement is less the 6' applies without protection. More then 6' then OCPD must be installed after the load side of the meter.

Sent from my iPhone using ET Forum

__________________
Sal
P.E.S
Salvatoreg02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 10:58 AM   #3
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 15,614
Rewards Points: 2,346
Default

The NEC states as near as possible where the conductors enter the building. That being said many jurisdictions have amendments such as 10 feet, etc.
Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 02:37 PM   #4
Sideways Sparky
 
farlsincharge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SK Canada
Posts: 1,405
Rewards Points: 526
Default

We are 6M (20'), any further and it has to be run in Rigid.
farlsincharge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 02:42 PM   #5
Fried Bologna um um good!
 
jwjrw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: nc
Posts: 8,092
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Commercial we can go up to 15ft in most cases in my home county. Residential they will usually let us go 1 bay over. No more that that. So basically 5ft or less. I would ask my AHJ.
__________________
The more I learn the less I seem to know......
jwjrw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 03:06 PM   #6
Ax grinder
 
raider1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Logan, Utah
Posts: 1,997
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

30' seems a little excessive to me but there may be a local amendment that allows that.

Chris
raider1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 07:50 PM   #7
Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Great Police State of South Jersey
Posts: 327
Rewards Points: 262
Default

Up to the EI here. It used to be in the utility requirements.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 09:41 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 417
Rewards Points: 254
Default

This reminds me of the first house that I ever wired on my own. It was in Vermont and I was a 3rd year apprentice. At the time no license was required for residential. Setup was a 200 amp meter socket with main breaker disconnect mounted on a pedastal and then 200' to the house. The conduit entered the bldg. about 35' from the panel. I decided that this rule applied and some of my journeyman thought so as well so I mounted another disconnect inside. In retrospect I don't think it needed this disconnect because the conductors had ocp at the meter disconnect. Oh well.
blueheels2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 10:56 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: missouri
Posts: 7,306
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

all the AHJs around here require an outside disconnect so we install meter/main combos if it is metered at the pole they require a disconnect on the house.
Mr Rewire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 11:13 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: florida
Posts: 1,044
Rewards Points: 500
Default

we have same thing here.. we call them house power panels, standard 200 amp. its just a meter socket with 12 throws below,(6)2pole throws cost about $120 each. also handy when wiring outside things like well pumps,a/c units etc. (not intended for single pole though,but alot of folks put single pole ckts on them)
rnr electric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 11:29 PM   #11
I saw a guy do it once.
 
SparkYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Los Angeles SFV
Posts: 861
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rnr electric View Post
we have same thing here.. we call them house power panels, standard 200 amp. its just a meter socket with 12 throws below,(6)2pole throws cost about $120 each. also handy when wiring outside things like well pumps,a/c units etc. (not intended for single pole though,but alot of folks put single pole ckts on them)
In California we use"all in ones" with the Meter, main, and loadcenter all in one enclosure.
SparkYZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 11:38 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: florida
Posts: 1,044
Rewards Points: 500
Default

yup sounds like the same thing just different terminology.
rnr electric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 11:49 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: AB CA
Posts: 1,504
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

In canada there is a limit, I think like 10 feet or something, unless it's run under the slab. Can't just run it in rigid here I don't think.

kaboler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Service Entrance Voltech NEC Code Forum 8 03-17-2011 11:40 PM
Old Service Entrance davis9 Vintage Electrical 7 12-04-2010 04:40 PM
Service Entrance silva.ac Services and Service Equipment 6 01-29-2009 05:51 PM
Service entrance walkerj Vintage Electrical 9 11-04-2007 12:06 AM
UG Service Entrance Hillbilly Services and Service Equipment 11 03-20-2007 09:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Copyright 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com