CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Other Codes and Standards

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-23-2009, 11:31 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Suisun City, Ca
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Question Fire Alarm

Hi all,
I have to install pull out switch for alarm bell and I need to know if anyone knows the regulations, height etc., plus if it needs to be connected to system to call fire department when you pull the switch. I called the local fire department, but they did not get back to me yet and I need to finish estimate.
Thank you.
Sincerely,
Martin

martinkulik is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 06-23-2009, 11:32 PM   #2
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 17,356
Rewards Points: 2,102
Default

Call the fire department when you pull the switch?? Okey-dokey.

You'll find the mounting dimensions you need in the ADAAG.

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&sourc...8ApUw-T9q-uXog

__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 08:47 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 169
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Pull station -I would match the switch height at the current location.

Is this an addition to a current system? If so, it will most likely already be set up to call the fire department. Go to the annunciator panel and check it out.
Shaffer87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 12:28 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ILLINOIS
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaffer87 View Post
Pull station -I would match the switch height at the current location.

Is this an addition to a current system? If so, it will most likely already be set up to call the fire department. Go to the annunciator panel and check it out.

pull stations have to meet A.D.A. specs....42" aff....horns/strobes 80" aff to top...NO HIGHER....(F.D. will pull out a tape measure and check). Can't just keep adding horn/strobes to an existing circuit, and is it a class one or class two system?..Where is the end of the line resistor at? all things to look for
prldrp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 06:02 PM   #5
animal lover /rat bastard
 
wildleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: central east coast us
Posts: 10,093
Rewards Points: 2,794
Send a message via ICQ to wildleg
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by prldrp1 View Post
pull stations have to meet A.D.A. specs....42" aff....horns/strobes 80" aff to top...NO HIGHER....(F.D. will pull out a tape measure and check). Can't just keep adding horn/strobes to an existing circuit, and is it a class one or class two system?..Where is the end of the line resistor at? all things to look for
actually, the strobe has to be 80" AFF to the bottom of the strobe.here is an excerpt from ADA Title III Reg 28 CFR 36 (http://www.ada.gov/reg3a.html#Anchor-16621)

4.28.3* Visual Alarms.Visual alarm signal appliances shall be integrated into the building or facility alarm system. If single station audible alarms are provided then single station visual alarm signals shall be provided. Visual alarm signals shall have the following minimum photometric and location features:

(1) The lamp shall be a xenon strobe type or equivalent.
(2) The color shall be clear or nominal white (i.e., unfiltered or clear filtered white light).
(3) The maximum pulse duration shall be two-tenths of one second (0.2 sec) with a maximum duty cycle of 40 percent. The pulse duration is defined as the time interval between initial and final points of 10 percent of maximum signal.
(4) The intensity shall be a minimum of 75 candela.
(5) The flash rate shall be a minimum of 1 Hz and a maximum of 3 Hz.
(6) The appliance shall be placed 80 in (2030 mm) above the highest floor level within the space or 6 in (152 mm) below the ceiling, whichever is lower.
(7) In general, no place in any room or space required to have a visual signal appliance shall be more than 50 ft (15 m) from the signal (in the horizontal plane). In large rooms and spaces exceeding 100 ft (30 m) across, without obstructions 6 ft (2 m) above the finish floor, such as auditoriums, devices may be placed around the perimeter, spaced a maximum 100 ft (30 m) apart, in lieu of suspending appliances from the ceiling
__________________
Fatal error: Using $this sht!ck when not in object context in /home/electric/public_html/includes/functions_newpost.php(1471) : eval()'d code on line 1 will DO ELECTRICAL SHOES ! FrunkSlammer has just sent you -2676 points to use in the rewards store!
wildleg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 01:34 PM   #6
Electrical Savant
 
lectricboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 478
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by prldrp1 View Post
pull stations have to meet A.D.A. specs....42" aff....horns/strobes 80" aff to top...NO HIGHER....(F.D. will pull out a tape measure and check). Can't just keep adding horn/strobes to an existing circuit, and is it a class one or class two system?..Where is the end of the line resistor at? all things to look for
I don't see anything about the mounting height being to the top of the appliance. All I see is 80" AFF.


4.28.3* Visual Alarms. Visual alarm signal appliances shall be integrated into the building or facility alarm system. If single station audible alarms are provided then single station visual alarm signals shall be provided. Visual alarm signals shall have the following minimum photometric and location features:
(1) The lamp shall be a xenon strobe type or equivalent.
(2) The color shall be clear or nominal white (i.e., unfiltered or clear filtered white light).
(3) The maximum pulse duration shall be two-tenths of one second (0.2 sec) with a maximum duty cycle of 40 percent. The pulse duration is defined as the time interval between initial and final points of 10 percent of maximum signal.
(4) The intensity shall be a minimum of 75 candela.
(5) The flash rate shall be a minimum of 1 Hz and a maximum of 3 Hz.
(6) The appliance shall be placed 80 in (2030 mm) above the highest floor level within the space or 6 in (152 mm) below the ceiling, whichever is lower.
(7) In general, no place in any room or space required to have a visual signal appliance shall be more than 50 ft (15 m) from the signal (in the horizontal plane). In large rooms and spaces exceeding 100 ft (30 m) across, without obstructions 6 ft (2 m) above the finish floor, such as auditoriums, devices may be placed around the perimeter, spaced a maximum 100 ft (30 m) apart, in lieu of suspending appliances from the ceiling.
(8) No place in common corridors or hallways in which visual alarm signalling appliances are required shall be more than 50 ft (15 m) from the signal.
lectricboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 10:55 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Land of the homicides (Oakland California)
Posts: 366
Rewards Points: 250
Default

tell the alarm monitor company to put the system in standby/test mode... then go play with the MPS!
slowforthecones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 10:57 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Land of the homicides (Oakland California)
Posts: 366
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martinkulik View Post
Hi all,
I have to install pull out switch for alarm bell and I need to know if anyone knows the regulations, height etc., plus if it needs to be connected to system to call fire department when you pull the switch. I called the local fire department, but they did not get back to me yet and I need to finish estimate.
Thank you.
Sincerely,
Martin
No offense but if you don't know the basics of heights, monitored system and etc....to be installing fMPS, strobes, horns and etc.... you probably have no biz trying to give a estimate!! I think we have a "Hack" in the house.
slowforthecones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 11:05 PM   #9
Pure Evil
 
drsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Presque Isle, Maine
Posts: 6,019
Rewards Points: 2,640
Default

Hack, hack, hack.

__________________

drsparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fire alarm, fire alarm bell, fire alarm switch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fire job and 110.26 Chris Kennedy Business, Marketing, and Sales 14 05-23-2009 01:23 PM
Fire Alarm jculber General Electrical Discussion 18 02-26-2009 08:14 PM
Fire Alarm, I get all the fun ones MDShunk Structured Wiring 16 02-16-2009 06:04 AM
High rise fire alarm replacement nscherneck Other Codes and Standards 3 01-24-2008 12:27 AM
Urgent: Interconnected Smoke Alarm Crabby UK Electrical Forum 5 11-25-2007 11:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:20 PM.


Copyright © 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com