Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Other Codes and Standards


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-05-2011, 10:02 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
dotrat103's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 9
Default Light switch location

I'm not sure if this would falls under the electrical or building code. I was wiring a new bathroom and family room the homeowners are putting in their basement. With the odd lay-out and the way the carpenter said he had to frame it, I had to put the light switch for the family room on the outside of the door. I've never seen nor can I find anything that says the switch has to be in the room of the lights it controlls, just that it has to be "readily accessable". Any info you have on this would be greatly appreciated.

-Jason

dotrat103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!
Old 06-05-2011, 10:07 AM   #2
Moderator
 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 14,400
Default

You can have the switch anywhere you want-- It can be on the other side of the house as the NEC does not specify. Of course, a homeowner may complain.
I have seen many switches outside the are they serve- no issue.

I have heard of local amendments though- Boston may have one- not sure.

Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 10:11 AM   #3
BBQ
Salty Member
 
BBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 31,028
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dotrat103 View Post
I'm not sure if this would falls under the electrical or building code. I was wiring a new bathroom and family room the homeowners are putting in their basement. With the odd lay-out and the way the carpenter said he had to frame it, I had to put the light switch for the family room on the outside of the door. I've never seen nor can I find anything that says the switch has to be in the room of the lights it controlls, just that it has to be "readily accessable". Any info you have on this would be greatly appreciated.

-Jason

Here is the code section.


Quote:
210.70 Lighting Outlets Required. Lighting outlets shall
be installed where specified in 210.70(A), (B), and (C).

(A) Dwelling Units. In dwelling units, lighting outlets
shall be installed in accordance with 210.70(A)(1), (A)(2),
and (A)(3).

(1) Habitable Rooms. At least one wall switch–controlled
lighting outlet shall be installed in every
habitable room
and bathroom.
Notice that section requires the lighting outlet to be in the room but the switch just has to be on a wall.

As far as the NEC you could put the bathroom light switch in the kitchen closet. (I don't suggest it, it irritates customers)
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to BBQ For This Useful Post:
jwjrw (08-06-2011), metalpats (08-16-2011)
Old 06-10-2011, 05:21 AM   #4
Dr Evil
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 14,022
Default

A hallway is still permitted to have a pullchain ?
__________________
Lines, Loads and Legs, still pumping loads in between legs without the help of Lines

Last edited by Shockdoc; 06-10-2011 at 05:23 AM.
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 06:55 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Canada, Ontario, Toronto
Posts: 4
Default

I would tell the homeowner you can p ut it anywhere but usually put in in the room. Check with them if it ok.

Last edited by quietshane; 06-26-2011 at 07:15 PM. Reason: spelling
quietshane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 11:35 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: kansas
Posts: 44
Default

A problem with bathroom light switches outside the bathroom is kids

turning the lights out when you are busy inside bathroom.
john120/240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 11:40 PM   #7
Chief Electron Relocator
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 34,177
Default

YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
__________________
Never believe everything you read on the internet. --Thomas Jefferson.
480sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to 480sparky For This Useful Post:
CDN EC (08-18-2011), Chris1971 (08-25-2011), ColoradoMaster3768 (07-16-2011), JM2 (08-06-2011), metalpats (08-16-2011)
Old 08-06-2011, 02:25 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: US
Posts: 11,937
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dotrat103 View Post
I'm not sure if this would falls under the electrical or building code. I was wiring a new bathroom and family room the homeowners are putting in their basement. With the odd lay-out and the way the carpenter said he had to frame it, I had to put the light switch for the family room on the outside of the door. I've never seen nor can I find anything that says the switch has to be in the room of the lights it controlls, just that it has to be "readily accessable". Any info you have on this would be greatly appreciated.

-Jason
That should be okay.

Chris1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Location and distance for motor cutoff switch? swimmer NEC Code Forum 3 03-29-2011 11:24 AM
Light Fed Before Switch pudge565 NEC Code Forum 67 04-23-2010 09:12 AM
Furnace switch location. Mr. Sparkle Residential Electrical Forum 17 09-27-2009 10:09 AM
Old Light Switch DeeJayy Vintage Electrical 21 03-24-2008 04:51 PM
GFI/Light Switch Beerman General Electrical Discussion 1 12-15-2007 05:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Copyright 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2