G24 2-pin to G24 LED problem - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Lighting Design

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By telsa

Old 12-17-2016, 02:52 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 2
Default G24 2-pin to G24 LED problem

Good day all,

I'm a maintenance tech for the Postal service and I'm having an odd problem trying to retrofit new G24 LED bulbs into a 2 bulb G24 fixture in a lobby. The new bulbs fit the sockets just fine and work with the OLD ballast setup flawlessly. The old ballasts are Robertson HP28P's... Specs can be found here, http://www.ballastshop.com/media/import/pdf/r_HP28P.pdf

The problem arose when I had to remove two dead ballasts from one of the fixtures. I replaced the (2) Robertson ballasts with (1) Philips Advance H2Q26TPBLSM ballast, specs can be found here, https://www.1000bulbs.com/product/57...FRyewAodMGoGGw ...

I have tried various wiring methods (shunted/ non shunted/ direct 120v line voltage) and no matter what I do the new LED g24's burn up and stop working within a few minutes of applied power. The LED's come on nice and bright with the new ballast but after a minute or so they begin to smoke and sizzle eventually burning out and failing.

I must be missing something in translation here so I'm hoping you guys can get me back up and running. Thanks a ton!
RobbySals is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!