1000 Amp Residential service - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Services and Service Equipment

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2010, 06:29 PM   #1
Tool Junkie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MD
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 25
Default 1000 Amp Residential service

Thought I would post a pic of the 1000 amp service I am working on.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1017070905a.jpg (111.7 KB, 75 views)
FragElectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 03-23-2010, 06:32 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
william1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, N.C.
Posts: 11,079
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Condo's???
william1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 06:33 PM   #3
Chairman of the Bored
 
BuzzKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 9,566
Rewards Points: 2,128
Default

That must be one big ass meth lab for a 1000 amp service.
BuzzKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 06:33 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
william1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, N.C.
Posts: 11,079
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Where are the myers hub's?
william1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 06:34 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
sparks134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,118
Rewards Points: 500
Default

lets see the back up genny!
__________________
Its not just a job, it's a career!!!
sparks134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 06:34 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
william1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, N.C.
Posts: 11,079
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuzzKill View Post
That must be one big ass meth lab for a 1000 amp service.
There are several house's around here that have up to 1600 amp services.
william1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 06:36 PM   #7
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 17,358
Rewards Points: 2,106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by william1978 View Post
Where are the myers hub's?
He might be using sealing rings. I've done that a time or three, when space is tight.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 06:37 PM   #8
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 35,871
Rewards Points: 566
Default

Six condos/apartments/townhouses, plus a house panel.
__________________
Ark: ............... Arch: ..................Arc:
480sparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 10:10 PM   #9
Tool Junkie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MD
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 25
Default

It is an existing 5000 square foot house that is getting an 8000 square foot addition. The existing house has a 400 amp service. The 5-200 Amp disconnects will be feeding the 2 existing 200 amp panels in the existing house, 1-200 amp panel for the detached pool house and detached 2 level garage, 1-200 amp panel to provide additional circuits to the addition, and 1-200 amp panel for the 22 tons of geothermal units. There will be 3-45 kw generators, 1 for the 2 existing panels, 1 for the additional house panel and pool house/garage panel and 1 for the geothermal panel.

No myers hubs are required as the trough and disconnects will be externally bonded with the 4/0 copper from the footer.

The back side of the bottom trough has a square cut out where a second trough enters from the other side of the wall. The trough on the other side of the wall sits under a CT cabinet.
FragElectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 10:19 PM   #10
B4T
Scotchkote Installer
 
B4T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Long Island, N.Y.
Posts: 30,628
Rewards Points: 15,378
Default

Are you designing the service or following a print?

Keep posting pics
B4T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 10:26 PM   #11
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 3,552
Rewards Points: 2,748
Default

Around here, the POCO would set a 15 KVA transformer on the pole, and feed the 1000 amp service with #6 tri-plex.

Nah, maybe they'd go to a 25 KVA, and use #4. It's a big service y'know!

Rob

P.S. Nice-looking work!
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 10:30 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
william1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, N.C.
Posts: 11,079
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black4Truck View Post

Keep posting pics
Yea Frag we like pictures.
william1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 10:36 PM   #13
Ambassador of Amps
 
TOOL_5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: sf bay area, CA
Posts: 9,332
Rewards Points: 2,050
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
Around here, the POCO would set a 15 KVA transformer on the pole, and feed the 1000 amp service with #6 tri-plex.

Nah, maybe they'd go to a 25 KVA, and use #4. It's a big service y'know!

Rob

P.S. Nice-looking work!
Oh, they install fusable links huh?

~Matt
__________________
I HAVE THE RIGHT TO OFFEND ANYONE I PLEASE. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO BE OFFENDED, YOU DO NOT HAVE THE RIGHT TO SHUT ME UP.

Advertising space available. Inquire within.
TOOL_5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 10:37 PM   #14
Tool Junkie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MD
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black4Truck View Post
Are you designing the service or following a print?

Keep posting pics
Not a single electrical print to be had. The home owner is the GC. So its design build in the field.

Working on more pics, all the ones I have left have my employees in them. Can't post those on the net.
FragElectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 10:40 PM   #15
B4T
Scotchkote Installer
 
B4T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Long Island, N.Y.
Posts: 30,628
Rewards Points: 15,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FragElectric View Post
Not a single electrical print to be had. The home owner is the GC. So its design build in the field.

Dam.. your good and so far it ALL fits like a glove
B4T is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to B4T For This Useful Post:
FragElectric (03-24-2010)
Old 03-23-2010, 10:57 PM   #16
animal lover /rat bastard
 
wildleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: central east coast us
Posts: 10,217
Rewards Points: 3,042
Send a message via ICQ to wildleg
Default

nice looking work (might be my eye, but looks like a slight violation of 110.26 A 3 - 6" rule ?)
__________________
Fatal error: Using $this sht!ck when not in object context in /home/electric/public_html/includes/functions_newpost.php(1471) : eval()'d code on line 1 will DO ELECTRICAL SHOES ! FrunkSlammer has just sent you -2676 points to use in the rewards store!
wildleg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 10:59 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Welland, Ontario Canada
Posts: 236
Rewards Points: 200
Default

Very interesting. I have never seen a service that big for a residential application. In Quebec a 400 amp service is common, they primarily use electric heating. I have heard of, but have never seen, a 600 volt (30~40 amps) service supplied to large custom home to supply the electric heat / cooling loads and this kept the remainder to 120/240 volt 400 amp.

In this neck of the woods, I would suspect that we would be splitting up that with individual drops to the locations and use a central metering pole.

Any residential service that is more then 200 amps requires special permission by the utility and the inspection authority anyway according to our code.

Cheers

Last edited by Navyguy; 03-23-2010 at 11:04 PM.
Navyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 11:37 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
danickstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: LA valley
Posts: 846
Rewards Points: 520
Default

I am thinking he left room for the next 3000 Sq. ft. addition or bedroom grotto pumps to the left.

e: send me the pics with the employees- I will put donny darko bunny heads on them so they cant be recognized and return them to you for posting.

Last edited by danickstr; 03-23-2010 at 11:45 PM.
danickstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 01:50 AM   #19
NJ-IEC Member
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 14,185
Rewards Points: 42
Default

Lookin good!
__________________
Replies based on NEC 2014
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 01:55 AM   #20
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 17,358
Rewards Points: 2,106
Default

Curious what product you used between the two back-to-back gutters?
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Residential service i b e w N PHILLY KID Union Topics 6 08-04-2012 04:20 PM
residential service question BuzzKill General Electrical Discussion 14 01-08-2009 10:25 PM
residential service changes liverstos General Electrical Discussion 8 07-07-2008 07:07 PM
Residential service dilema sparkysteve Services and Service Equipment 3 07-05-2008 07:49 PM
Residential Service Question tahoewire Services and Service Equipment 8 01-13-2008 11:49 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:29 PM.


Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com