CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Services and Service Equipment

Old 01-19-2010, 05:06 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Default 400 amp three phase service entrance

I'm a second year apprentice and i'mCurrently working on a small commerical job. The building is going to have a 400 amp three phase service. How would you go about determining the size of conducter needed to feed this building> if you where to perform a load calculation and then use wire acording to the calculation how would you make sure that later on nobody would come alonge and just add circuits. As far as i know so far i think they want to use 750 kcmil nu al to feed it. Just trying to understand how it all works. Would each wire need to be rated for 400 amps? All the code refferences on here have me confused since the cec seems to be set up differently. Thank you in advance.

jojoschauss is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE