CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Services and Service Equipment

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-08-2011, 03:59 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 167
Rewards Points: 150
Default 600 amp breaker in a 400a panelboard

I was looking at the work of a fellow electrician who did a job for our company and found that a 600 amp circuit breaker, serving as the service disconnect, was installed in a Square D I-line panel. The kicker was that the data plate (sticker) rated the panelboard at 450 amps max. Am I missing something? That would be a violation of the UL listing and the amperage rating of the equipment. That's at least 2 code violations there. Could there be another explanation?

Electron_Sam78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 03-08-2011, 04:09 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 14,058
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Electron_Sam78 View Post
I was looking at the work of a fellow electrician who did a job for our company and found that a 600 amp circuit breaker, serving as the service disconnect, was installed in a Square D I-line panel. The kicker was that the data plate (sticker) rated the panelboard at 450 amps max. Am I missing something? That would be a violation of the UL listing and the amperage rating of the equipment. That's at least 2 code violations there. Could there be another explanation?


did it say 450 amp breaker?
was the bus rating 450 amps?
or was the main 450 amps?
Don't quite have enough info, but I can think of a few scenarios that it would be legal.

mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 04:12 PM   #3
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 15,612
Rewards Points: 2,342
Default

I am not familiar very much with I Line panels but was the 450amps the rating of the panel or the rating of the max. busbar breaker sizes?

LOL Or what McClary said.
Dennis Alwon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 04:52 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 167
Rewards Points: 150
Default

on the tag it is identified as an I-line panelboard, gives the cat no., voltage rating, and the box labeled "MAX Amps" contains the pre-printed numbers: 450 A.
Electron_Sam78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 04:59 PM   #5
BBQ
Salty Member
 
BBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 31,029
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Sam, if you had a 450 amp panel and wanted a 450 amp breaker you would have to use a 600 amp frame size breaker with a 450 amp 'rating plug' or 450 amp setting.

Look at the breaker carefully for a setting or rating plug.
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to BBQ For This Useful Post:
HARRY304E (03-08-2011)
Old 03-08-2011, 05:07 PM   #6
Heavily Armed Member
 
HARRY304E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Reporting from the east coast of Moonbatchusetts..
Posts: 39,497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Electron_Sam78 View Post
on the tag it is identified as an I-line panelboard, gives the cat no., voltage rating, and the box labeled "MAX Amps" contains the pre-printed numbers: 450 A.
Whats the cat,#

If it is on the name plate 450Amps max then a 600Amp main is too big.

A 600 amp and 400 amp ILine breaker would fit in an ILine panel..

Im sure that if you get that cat # you will be able to get the exact rating of that panel...
HARRY304E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 05:09 PM   #7
Fried Bologna um um good!
 
jwjrw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: nc
Posts: 8,092
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HARRY304E View Post
Whats the cat,#

If it is on the name plate 450Amps max then a 600Amp main is too big.

A 600 amp and 400 amp ILine breaker would fit in an ILine panel..

Im sure that if you get that cat # you will be able to get the exact rating of that panel...


I think BBQ nailed it......

__________________
The more I learn the less I seem to know......
jwjrw is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jwjrw For This Useful Post:
HARRY304E (03-08-2011)
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GE Panelboard garysparks Services and Service Equipment 1 10-20-2010 07:01 PM
USED Moeller 400A Circuit Breaker (motor protection) Introyble Electrician Swap 8 08-19-2010 07:59 PM
panelboard davis2000 General Electrical Discussion 12 04-25-2009 02:08 PM
Rodent in Panelboard jrannis Commercial Electrical Forum 8 03-28-2009 10:06 PM
Panelboard Location BEI Brian NEC Code Forum 2 04-20-2007 05:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:05 AM.


Copyright 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com