600 amp service Gutter or no gutter - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Services and Service Equipment


Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Dennis Alwon
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2016, 06:26 AM   #1
Semper Fidelis
 
Suncoast Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 13,460
Rewards Points: 4,574
Default 600 amp service Gutter or no gutter

I have a service upgrade coming up, one 3 phase 400 amp disconnect with 250 amp fuses and one single phase 200/ 200. all outdoor.
The engineer is calling out a 12x12 line gutter with parallel conductors. This is the only way I have ever done it.
I will need three 4 hole and one three hole polaris taps in the gutter for the line side make up.

What would be the violation if we just put a conduit up from each of the two disconnects for the service drop?
One with 250 amp conductors and one with 200 amp conductors.
It would eliminate the gutter and a few splices.
Suncoast Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-28-2016, 07:03 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 11,012
Rewards Points: 12,474
Default

I think the way you are thinking about doing it is a better job myself. Did you ask the engineer if he would accept it?

Also, I've seen gutters installed like I believe you are explaining, but I don't understand how they are getting by not complying with 314.28 as referenced from 366.58(B). I guess the AHJ did not consider it a "pull box"? IDK.
__________________
Giving up on unbiased truth.
hardworkingstiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 08:41 AM   #3
still in business
 
sbrn33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: middle america
Posts: 8,402
Rewards Points: 2,754
Default

Do you need to CT it? If so just put some lugs in the cabinet.
__________________
I still can't believe you even posted that trash.
sbrn33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 08:50 AM   #4
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 19,334
Rewards Points: 414
Default

If there are CT's remote from there than I don't see the problem. If you have to have ct's in a cabinet then this won't work. You would have to come out of the ct cabinet
Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 08:52 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 7,704
Rewards Points: 13,684
Default

A HOT gutter ?

Is that your scheme ?
telsa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 01:17 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
ponyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: parts unknown
Posts: 7,982
Rewards Points: 707
Default

That's how I've done it in the past for retail/apartment spaces. Make it the poco's problem. They preferred that to a ground level line side tap in a tamper prone gutter.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Too dumb for New York, too ugly for LA
ponyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 05:21 PM   #7
zap
 
tates1882's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: northwest
Posts: 1,066
Rewards Points: 758
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suncoast Power View Post
I have a service upgrade coming up, one 3 phase 400 amp disconnect with 250 amp fuses and one single phase 200/ 200. all outdoor.
The engineer is calling out a 12x12 line gutter with parallel conductors. This is the only way I have ever done it.
I will need three 4 hole and one three hole polaris taps in the gutter for the line side make up.

What would be the violation if we just put a conduit up from each of the two disconnects for the service drop?
One with 250 amp conductors and one with 200 amp conductors.
It would eliminate the gutter and a few splices.
I don't see a problem until you have 6+ disconnects. I really don't like having line taps in a gutter.
tates1882 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 06:07 PM   #8
Semper Fidelis
 
Suncoast Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 13,460
Rewards Points: 4,574
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrn33 View Post
Do you need to CT it? If so just put some lugs in the cabinet.
It will just be the utility meter, no CTs
Suncoast Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 06:33 PM   #9
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 19,334
Rewards Points: 414
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suncoast Power View Post
It will just be the utility meter, no CTs
So you have 2 or 3 meters??? I have never seen a 600 amp meter base without CT's. I am still not understanding where the meter's are located
sbrn33 likes this.
Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2017, 06:43 PM   #10
Semper Fidelis
 
Suncoast Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 13,460
Rewards Points: 4,574
Default

The final design will be a 400amp/320 continuous meter
The 3 phase fused disconnect will be a 400/250
The single phase disconnect for the two apartments will a 200/200
The two parallel risers will terminate in a 12x12 x48 line gutter.

Ill scan the drawing and post it when I go back out.
Suncoast Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2017, 06:47 PM   #11
still in business
 
sbrn33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: middle america
Posts: 8,402
Rewards Points: 2,754
Default

This is a place for a CT cabinet and an Iline 18 space panel. Cheap and easy peasy.
__________________
I still can't believe you even posted that trash.
sbrn33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hiring Service Techs emahler General Electrical Discussion 0 11-30-2016 01:08 PM
7-unit CLUSTER-F: one service or two? mikewillnot Residential Electrical Forum 8 10-01-2016 09:11 AM
Electric Company Service Drop Upgrade MustangRider6688 Services and Service Equipment 12 07-11-2016 05:03 PM
Changing my service AK_sparky General Electrical Discussion 30 06-22-2016 09:48 PM
600 volt service metering hydro Services and Service Equipment 1 01-20-2016 01:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com