Federal Pacific Panel Replacement - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Services and Service Equipment


Like Tree6Likes
  • 2 Post By telsa
  • 1 Post By Tangent
  • 2 Post By HackWork
  • 1 Post By Takideezy
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2017, 11:21 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Takideezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 12
Default Federal Pacific Panel Replacement

I have been asked to provide a quote for replacing a 200A Federal Pacific main breaker panel. The panel's branch circuit wiring is contained in 16 different EMT pipe runs entering both the top and bottom of the panel. I can cut back each conduit, add a piece of trough, and chase nipple to a new panel. I also received a suggestion to mount the new panel on top of the existing enclosure and chase nipple through the back.

Is anyone aware of a retrofit, or has anyone ever swapped out the buss and breaker array? I am not looking for the easy way out, just trying to be efficient with my time and the customers dollars. Thanks.

Sent from my iPad
Takideezy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-19-2017, 11:27 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 8,197
Rewards Points: 14,670
Default

Cutler Hammer will make custom guts for you.
telsa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 11:31 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: South East US
Posts: 1,105
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

http://www.eaton.com/Eaton/ProductsS...Kits/index.htm
__________________
Popcorn munching forum observer
Bird dog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 11:43 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Tangent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 26
Default

I have used and installed Cuttlers retrofit panels in an apartment building, Always check first with the AHJ before installing something like this. The inspector did not like it then he changed his mind and installed over 200 of them. Keep in mind that these retrofit panels are very expensive and they take a while to order.
Personally I would just use a two piece connector and install a new panel. Wiring space is at a premium in a Fed panel,
http://www.garvinindustries.com/cond...ece-connectors
splatz likes this.
Tangent is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Tangent For This Useful Post:
splatz (03-21-2017)
Old 03-19-2017, 11:46 AM   #5
Click Here
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 17,093
Rewards Points: 1,400
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tangent View Post
I have used and installed Cuttlers retrofit panels in an apartment building, Always check first with the AHJ before installing something like this. The inspector did not like it then he changed his mind and installed over 200 of them. Keep in mind that these retrofit panels are very expensive and they take a while to order.
Personally I would just use a two piece connector and install a new panel. Wiring space is at a premium in a Fed panel,
http://www.garvinindustries.com/cond...ece-connectors
What is this sorcery?!?!?!?!?!
splatz and cl2sparky like this.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 11:52 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Tangent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 26
Default

Retrofit Panel = Lipstick On A Pig!
Tangent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 11:55 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: South East US
Posts: 1,105
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
What is this sorcery?!?!?!?!?!
It's for a 42 space panel with 84 tandems!
__________________
Popcorn munching forum observer
Bird dog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 03:35 PM   #8
Deplorable-Electrician
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: God's Country of Virginia
Posts: 29,300
Rewards Points: 28,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Takideezy View Post
I have been asked to provide a quote for replacing a 200A Federal Pacific main breaker panel. The panel's branch circuit wiring is contained in 16 different EMT pipe runs entering both the top and bottom of the panel. I can cut back each conduit, add a piece of trough, and chase nipple to a new panel. I also received a suggestion to mount the new panel on top of the existing enclosure and chase nipple through the back.

Is anyone aware of a retrofit, or has anyone ever swapped out the buss and breaker array? I am not looking for the easy way out, just trying to be efficient with my time and the customers dollars. Thanks.

Sent from my iPad
First off welcome aboard!

I'd cut the conduits back and install a trough.

A panel on top of an old panel is a trunk slammer hack move.
__________________
I have never claimed to be a nice guy!

"Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere" mlk
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 07:12 PM   #9
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 6,941
Rewards Points: 1,168
Default

I don't think there's anything wrong with retrofit panels. Oddball panels recessed in block. Lots of conduits. Apartments. As long as the wire bend space is there, why not. As others mentioned, it takes time to size and order. Take all your measurements to make sure they have a configuration that'll fit. Not a spur of the moment thing unfortunately.
nrp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 08:51 PM   #10
Semper Fidelis
 
Suncoast Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 13,531
Rewards Points: 4,716
Default

I have installed a few of those but, some are not NRTL listed/labeled
Suncoast Power is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 10:11 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Takideezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Today I revisited the customer and had the opportunity to pull the panel cover(S)...oh my! From the meter underground feeding a 200A CH main breaker panel. The line side lugs of the main breaker contain the service entrance conductors...and a 100A sub feed cable that runs to the Federal Pacific panel that started this discussion. Wait, it gets worse. Jammed under the line side of the FP's main breaker are the 100A subfeed cable and a #8's that goes to an adjacent disconnect. No problem cause there is nothing on the load side of the disconnect...oh wait what's that on the line side of the disconnect's 2 pole 30A breaker? Yup, you guessed it and #12 branch circuit. I've seen some pretty irresponsible work in my days, never have I seen what is essentially a #12 without any over current protection. I'm guessing that this what they call a fusible link. I'm quoting the corrective action tomorrow, two new panels and the interconnecting wiring. Sheesh, and folks wonder why buildings burn down.
Takideezy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Condo panel breaker replacement question Rush2112 Residential Electrical Forum 23 02-20-2017 08:34 PM
Old Breaker/Fuse Panel A Little Short General Electrical Discussion 18 10-11-2016 05:34 AM
Can I use old breaker panel as a sub panel marshall361 General Electrical Discussion 4 07-09-2016 04:45 PM
Federal Pacific..Ticking Time Bomb? mckayman General Electrical Discussion 74 06-26-2016 04:49 PM
Calcul maximum electric panel size martindag General Electrical Discussion 12 03-06-2016 05:23 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com