Mobile home service - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Services and Service Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2010, 07:47 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default Mobile home service

We have a customer upgrading to a new mobile home. His current mobile home is fed from a 150 disconnect adjacent to the home. The new mobile home being delivered has a 200 amp main panel.


My question is does the manufactured home listing require it be fed with 200 amp conductors? The load calculation doesn't justifies the minimum 100amp service.
code_compliant is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-24-2010, 07:56 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Delmarva, USA
Posts: 2,423
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via ICQ to kbsparky Send a message via AIM to kbsparky Send a message via Yahoo to kbsparky
Default

You can connect it with a smaller feeder, providing your load calculation justifies it. See 550.33(B).

We routinely connect mobile homes with a 200 Amp panel to a 100 Amp feeder, when they have gas heat, gas range, and minimal other loads.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 07:57 AM   #3
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 18,793
Rewards Points: 2,053
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by code_compliant View Post
We have a customer upgrading to a new mobile home. His current mobile home is fed from a 150 disconnect adjacent to the home. The new mobile home being delivered has a 200 amp main panel.


My question is does the manufactured home listing require it be fed with 200 amp conductors? The load calculation doesn't justifies the minimum 100amp service.
As an owner I would want the full 200 amp capacity of the panel, however if the load is less than 150 amps I see no reason why you cannot use the existing 150 amp. panel with the appropriate conductors for that service.
Dennis Alwon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 08:02 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thanks for the input!
code_compliant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mobile home requirement charlie Bob General Electrical Discussion 10 02-28-2010 10:55 PM
Home Depot and the Home improvement Hack B4T General Electrical Discussion 180 12-31-2009 04:03 PM
Mobile tool repair.. B4T Off Topic (Non Trade) 5 09-24-2009 02:35 PM
Mobile vehicle instalations CEM UK Electrical Forum 3 04-15-2009 05:40 PM
disgusted with virgin mobile murdock Off Topic (Non Trade) 10 01-06-2008 01:18 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:49 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com
 

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1