Service entrance install with a new panel upgrade - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Services and Service Equipment

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2010, 07:40 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Suisun City, Ca
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default Service entrance install with a new panel upgrade

I am upgrading service to a 150 amp service. The existing panel is installed right in front of house facing steps coming down so I know I have to install the panel 36 inches in clearence from the wall. I do not have too many options because the wall is on right side of the steps coming down as well as in front of the steps. The wall in front of the steps is only 30 inches from edge to edge so I have to install it on the right wall the way I draw it on the picture. I had a inspector coming out if he is going to allow me to give me 1 and half inch exception since it is 34 and half inches exactly to the edge of steps and he said he will, but i need to put the meter socket next to the panel and I am not sure if I can use LB in service entrance run between the meter in the corner of the building like I drw in the picture. Also, I am not sure if they going to measure to meter socket box distance from the wall or the main panel. Does anyone might know. Any help will help.
Thank you.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 132elsi.jpg (70.6 KB, 22 views)
martinkulik is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 10-06-2010, 07:52 PM   #2
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 15,947
Rewards Points: 3,415
Default

I would check with the POCO. They may have a problem with it but I elieve the NEC is Okay with it.
Dennis Alwon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 02:33 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Land of the homicides (Oakland California)
Posts: 366
Rewards Points: 250
Default

sounds like this is a san francisco city install from the looks of the photos. PGE would be ok with anything.. bunch of slackers there at PGE.
slowforthecones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 02:36 AM   #4
Ambassador of Amps
 
TOOL_5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: sf bay area, CA
Posts: 9,332
Rewards Points: 2,050
Default

PG&E allows LB's in the service if they can be sealed. Sometimes they just dont care. I would call them, make sure its OK then go forward.

~Matt
__________________
I HAVE THE RIGHT TO OFFEND ANYONE I PLEASE. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO BE OFFENDED, YOU DO NOT HAVE THE RIGHT TO SHUT ME UP.

Advertising space available. Inquire within.
TOOL_5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 12:52 PM   #5
Electrical Savant
 
lectricboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 478
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martinkulik View Post
I am upgrading service to a 150 amp service. The existing panel is installed right in front of house facing steps coming down so I know I have to install the panel 36 inches in clearence from the wall. I do not have too many options because the wall is on right side of the steps coming down as well as in front of the steps. The wall in front of the steps is only 30 inches from edge to edge so I have to install it on the right wall the way I draw it on the picture. I had a inspector coming out if he is going to allow me to give me 1 and half inch exception since it is 34 and half inches exactly to the edge of steps and he said he will, but i need to put the meter socket next to the panel and I am not sure if I can use LB in service entrance run between the meter in the corner of the building like I drw in the picture. Also, I am not sure if they going to measure to meter socket box distance from the wall or the main panel. Does anyone might know. Any help will help.
Thank you.
My question is, why would you upgrade to 150 amp? The cost difference of 150 & 200 amp is minimal (if any at all)!!
__________________
I'd Rather Have A Full Bottle In Front Of Me, Than A Full Frontal Labotomy
lectricboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 01:53 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Suisun City, Ca
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lectricboy View Post
My question is, why would you upgrade to 150 amp? The cost difference of 150 & 200 amp is minimal (if any at all)!!
I know but the PGE told me they won't allow me to put 200 because of their existing lines. They are due to major upgrade sometimes in future but not right now. I wanted to do 200 and could not do it.
Thank you.
martinkulik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 01:54 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Suisun City, Ca
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slowforthecones View Post
sounds like this is a san francisco city install from the looks of the photos. PGE would be ok with anything.. bunch of slackers there at PGE.
Thats right!!!
martinkulik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 01:00 AM   #8
I void warranties
 
Jlarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 13,095
Rewards Points: 2,180
Default

Why even use an LB? I would just come in the side of the meter can with a Myers hub.
__________________
The best never stop learning.

Jlarson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 02:58 AM   #9
Ambassador of Amps
 
TOOL_5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: sf bay area, CA
Posts: 9,332
Rewards Points: 2,050
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martinkulik View Post
I know but the PGE told me they won't allow me to put 200 because of their existing lines. They are due to major upgrade sometimes in future but not right now. I wanted to do 200 and could not do it.
Thank you.
In SF, You should stay at 150A or less - going to 200 gets them riled up and could incur you some BIG costs. At 200 the city makes PGE involved and is a big mess. Basically - If you dont have to have 200, go with 150.

Just my 2 cents..

~Matt
__________________
I HAVE THE RIGHT TO OFFEND ANYONE I PLEASE. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO BE OFFENDED, YOU DO NOT HAVE THE RIGHT TO SHUT ME UP.

Advertising space available. Inquire within.
TOOL_5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 03:36 AM   #10
BrooklineElectric.com
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 31
Default

It looks like the meter and panel are over the stairs and if so, that would not be allowed by the city inspector I'm sorry to say.
__________________
John A. Peters 415-239-5393 Text/Cell
www.BrooklineElectric.com
John Peters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 02:36 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Land of the homicides (Oakland California)
Posts: 366
Rewards Points: 250
Default

tell me more about the 150 vs. 200 and what more is involved for sf? I don't do much work in SF but may in the future.
slowforthecones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 02:50 AM   #12
Ambassador of Amps
 
TOOL_5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: sf bay area, CA
Posts: 9,332
Rewards Points: 2,050
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slowforthecones View Post
tell me more about the 150 vs. 200 and what more is involved for sf? I don't do much work in SF but may in the future.
At 200A the city will most likely want an AIC letter from PG&E to state the AIC level to check against the equipment - which means involvement with their reps - known for being a PITA - and that means PG&E fees.

~Matt
__________________
I HAVE THE RIGHT TO OFFEND ANYONE I PLEASE. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO BE OFFENDED, YOU DO NOT HAVE THE RIGHT TO SHUT ME UP.

Advertising space available. Inquire within.
TOOL_5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TOOL_5150 For This Useful Post:
slowforthecones (10-11-2010)
Old 10-11-2010, 09:24 AM   #13
Moderator
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY State
Posts: 9,134
Rewards Points: 7,156
Default

You guys have to be joking me about this 150 vs 200 issue.

200A is the gold standard of residential services, WHY would they make such an issue out of it. It's not like the load is going to go up just because of a service change.

Each and every time I see something written about California it makes me SO glad I am over 3000 miles away. Although, the damage from the warped mentality can be felt via telepathy.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
jwjrw (10-11-2010), mcclary's electrical (10-11-2010), walkerj (10-11-2010)
Old 10-11-2010, 05:25 PM   #14
BrooklineElectric.com
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 31
Default

The gold standard may be true in California but that's not true in San Francisco, because we have natural air-conditioning, and it never snows so we'd never need more than 100 amps here. Of course there is always an exception for a huge house or in the old days some place that used all electric heat.

If PG&E were going to be required to provide 200 amps full load, they might have to increase the size of the Transformers overhead and/or underground and that's why they get the engineering department involved.
__________________
John A. Peters 415-239-5393 Text/Cell
www.BrooklineElectric.com

Last edited by John Peters; 10-11-2010 at 05:25 PM. Reason: capitalization
John Peters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 05:27 PM   #15
I void warranties
 
Jlarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 13,095
Rewards Points: 2,180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Each and every time I see something written about California it makes me SO glad I am over 3000 miles away. Although, the damage from the warped mentality can be felt via telepathy.
At least you have a couple thousand miles, I have like nothing.
__________________
The best never stop learning.

Jlarson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 05:41 PM   #16
Fried Bologna um um good!
 
jwjrw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: nc
Posts: 8,092
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jlarson View Post
At least you have a couple thousand miles, I have like nothing.
Yea but you fit right in with that bunch from cali....
__________________
The more I learn the less I seem to know......
jwjrw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 05:44 PM   #17
I void warranties
 
Jlarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 13,095
Rewards Points: 2,180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwjrw View Post
Yea but you fit right in with that bunch from cali....
Nope,

I'm not crazy
I like guns
I don't smoke pot
I like chicks

Your argument is invalid
__________________
The best never stop learning.

Jlarson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 06:52 PM   #18
Fried Bologna um um good!
 
jwjrw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: nc
Posts: 8,092
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jlarson View Post
Nope, I'm not crazy


That is debatable and would depend on your definition of crazy.....



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jlarson View Post
I like guns



So do many residents in cali....
(Hell the two biggest gun control advocates used to have ccw's to "protect themselves from right wing gun nuts" till they caught flack...now one is a deputized us marshall so she turned her ccw in...hypocrite all the way..)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jlarson View Post
I don't smoke pot

Geeze and here I thought you were cool.....




Quote:
Originally Posted by Jlarson View Post
I like chicks



Sounds like a gay guy cover story to me....I love pu**y and tolerate chicks becuse they have it and I want it....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jlarson View Post
Your argument is invalid


Really????? Seemed pretty convincing to miller and slick...
__________________
The more I learn the less I seem to know......
jwjrw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 06:56 PM   #19
I void warranties
 
Jlarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 13,095
Rewards Points: 2,180
Default



Quote:
Originally Posted by jwjrw View Post
Sounds like a gay guy cover story to me....I love pu**y and tolerate chicks becuse they have it and I want it
Chicks dig me

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwjrw View Post
Really????? Seemed pretty convincing to miller and slick...
Vic and miller, really? That's like getting the other residents of the crazy farm to agree I'm crazy.
__________________
The best never stop learning.

Jlarson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 06:57 PM   #20
Fried Bologna um um good!
 
jwjrw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: nc
Posts: 8,092
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jlarson View Post
:laughing



Chicks dig me



Vic and miller, really? That's like getting the other residents of the crazy farm to agree I'm crazy.


__________________
The more I learn the less I seem to know......
jwjrw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Service Entrance silva.ac Services and Service Equipment 6 01-29-2009 06:51 PM
Service Entrance Conductors Absolutetruthz Services and Service Equipment 15 06-08-2008 04:16 PM
Service Entrance Panel cykoupai General Electrical Discussion 5 02-08-2008 10:26 PM
Service entrance walkerj Vintage Electrical 9 11-04-2007 01:06 AM
UG Service Entrance Hillbilly Services and Service Equipment 11 03-20-2007 10:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:42 AM.


Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com