CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Services and Service Equipment

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2012, 05:13 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Exclamation Will a 150 amp breaker fit in a 200 amp meter main panel

I need to replace a meter and main breaker. The existing is 150 amp breaker feeding the house. I cant find An outdoor rated 150 amp meter main anywhere. So i was wondering if i can just buy a 200 amp main and just insert the 150 amp breaker in it. Removing the 200 amp breaker it comes with. Is it code and if it is which manufacturer would most likely be compatible.
Thank you

Shaggrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 01-12-2012, 06:17 AM   #2
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 15,615
Rewards Points: 2,348
Default

As long as the panel is rated higher than the breaker it should be no issue.

Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 06:21 AM   #3
toothless peckerhead
 
chicken steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: cooped up
Posts: 22,785
Rewards Points: 2,898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaggrock View Post
I need to replace a meter and main breaker. The existing is 150 amp breaker feeding the house. I cant find An outdoor rated 150 amp meter main anywhere. So i was wondering if i can just buy a 200 amp main and just insert the 150 amp breaker in it. Removing the 200 amp breaker it comes with. Is it code and if it is which manufacturer would most likely be compatible.
Thank you

I've done this with Milbank meters

and have consulted Milbank on it

Milbank states it is perfectly fine

<but>

it voids the warranty if anyone but Milbank does the swap

your milage may vary on other models/ makes

~CS~
chicken steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 06:23 AM   #4
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 15,615
Rewards Points: 2,348
Default

Why would it void the warranty? The breaker is under warranty when you buy it and so is the panel. There is no reason you cannot size down the main as long as the breaker is designed to fit.
Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 06:27 AM   #5
toothless peckerhead
 
chicken steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: cooped up
Posts: 22,785
Rewards Points: 2,898
Default

i suspect it has to do with properly tourqed assmeblage Denny....~CS~
chicken steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 09:59 AM   #6
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 35,408
Rewards Points: 2,332
Default

Milbank is merely covering their butts, liability-wise.
__________________
Ark: ..............Arch: ................. Arc:
480sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 480sparky For This Useful Post:
chicken steve (01-12-2012)
Old 01-12-2012, 10:31 AM   #7
Electric Al
 
oldtimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,690
Rewards Points: 2,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaggrock View Post
I need to replace a meter and main breaker. The existing is 150 amp breaker feeding the house. I cant find An outdoor rated 150 amp meter main anywhere. So i was wondering if i can just buy a 200 amp main and just insert the 150 amp breaker in it. Removing the 200 amp breaker it comes with. Is it code and if it is which manufacturer would most likely be compatible.
Thank you

Just curious. . . . . Are you an electrician?
__________________
OK, so what's the speed of dark?

Steven Wright
oldtimer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 03:25 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Yes i am an electrician mostly commercial work. I should have been more specific, can i bu for example a seimens, square d, ge etc panel and breaker and expect the 150 amp breaker to fit in the 200 amp panel i never heard of that one you mentioned earlier in the thread. And would it be code.
Shaggrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 04:05 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
LightsOn81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North carolina
Posts: 554
Rewards Points: 500
Default

When you replace that breaker it's no longer mill banks breaker so they won't take the liability if that replacement breaker fails
__________________
If it gets any better, I won't be able to stand it!
LightsOn81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 04:24 PM   #10
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 15,615
Rewards Points: 2,348
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaggrock View Post
Yes i am an electrician mostly commercial work. I should have been more specific, can i bu for example a seimens, square d, ge etc panel and breaker and expect the 150 amp breaker to fit in the 200 amp panel i never heard of that one you mentioned earlier in the thread. And would it be code.
Generally the 150 will be the same as the 200 amp. Just order the same style and you'll have no problem.

I get the feeling you are not licensed to do this work.
Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 01:08 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
mbednarik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: central iowa
Posts: 1,533
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

is it a main breaker panel inside? If it is 25' tap rule might apply.
mbednarik is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 10:55 AM   #12
Head Grunt
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lower Adirondacks, NY
Posts: 407
Rewards Points: 250
Default

The breakers should interchange with no issue but as others said any kind of warranty will be voided. Why not just upgrade the wire and go with 200amp?

__________________
No free man shall ever be debarred the use of arms.-Thomas Jefferson
woodchuck2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker, main, meter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Meter Main Replacement Breaker mkgrady General Electrical Discussion 14 11-06-2011 03:34 PM
Main breaker panel cheaper than main lug Shockdoc General Electrical Discussion 5 07-19-2011 08:51 PM
Sub-panel need Main breaker Xknob&Tube Residential Electrical Forum 11 07-08-2010 11:40 PM
Do you grease the sec where it enters meter and main breaker? Paelectrican Services and Service Equipment 14 03-22-2010 11:32 AM
Square D meter main panel randas Residential Electrical Forum 9 03-19-2010 03:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:12 AM.


Copyright 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com