4 wire Cat 5/6 for internet? Please help!! - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Structured Wiring


Like Tree8Likes
  • 2 Post By CoolWill
  • 2 Post By LawnGuyLandSparky
  • 2 Post By MikeFL
  • 1 Post By 99cents
  • 1 Post By splatz
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2019, 04:25 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 8
Default 4 wire Cat 5/6 for internet? Please help!!

I am currently troubleshooting a problem one of my customers has where he told me he lost internet access on one of his desktops. Now I am an electrician who usually works in the commercial field so I can say I don’t really have much experience in the data field as a whole and was hoping that someone who’s in the field who knows what they’re talking about can help me please?!?
When I checked his cat 5/6 wiring he has the typical RJ-45 jacks but I noticed that where his computer is plugged into the RJ-45 jack he only has 4 of the 8 conductors from the cat 5 line landed on the plug. The other 4 conductors are routed to an RJ-11 jack that I’m assuming are his phone lines. Can anyone please explain this to me because I thought you need all four pairs to establish an internet connection through the cat5/6 line. Please help any information would be greatly appreciated.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Tony Vee is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-12-2019, 04:43 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 1,298
Rewards Points: 626
Default

10 megabit and 100 megabit protocol only uses 4 wires.
Navyguy and splatz like this.
__________________
I'm With Her! Hillary 2016
CoolWill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 05:40 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,032
Rewards Points: 3,998
Default

You don't need to know a thing about data to troubleshoot this. It worked before. 4 wires didn't magically yank themselves off a connector and land themselves onto a phone jack.
Navyguy and splatz like this.
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-12-2019, 06:25 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
MikeFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Sunshine State
Posts: 4,928
Rewards Points: 1,964
Default

Plug in a laptop at the same place and see if it gets on line.
Navyguy and Bird dog like this.
__________________
Michael Gookin, President
GPS Timers

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

(833) GPS-TIME
MikeFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 01:33 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ca
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 120
Default

The old traditional Cat5 only used 2 of the 4 pairs for the data. One pair one direction and one pair the other direction (TxD/RxD). The other two pairs are just idle and don't do anything.


They are occasionally stripped out and put to use for another data drop, or voice signals.


There is some debate on whether this "meets spec" but it has worked for me.


As the others have stated, not likely the source of your problems. But sloppy wiring practices in order to accomplish it might be.
Jerome208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 06:04 AM   #6
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 19,881
Rewards Points: 10,123
Default

I make sure he has power. Beyond that, he can hire a propellorhead.

Of course, I don’t even know how to operate a TV remote. My kids change the clock on my car radio.
Bird dog likes this.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 04:18 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: KS
Posts: 361
Rewards Points: 694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
I make sure he has power. Beyond that, he can hire a propellorhead.

Of course, I don’t even know how to operate a TV remote. My kids change the clock on my car radio.
We call that a 12:00 flasher



troubleshooting data can be nuanced. The basic steps are:

1. Check the cable. Try another device and see if you get a connection
2. Check layer 2/3 (start-->run-->cmd and ping the default gateway)
3. Start checking for firewall/driver issues

Last edited by sparkiez; 05-14-2019 at 04:21 PM.
sparkiez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 04:23 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Philly/NJ
Posts: 510
Rewards Points: 788
Default

if some asshole only jacked out 4 of the 8 wires.....it prolly isn't a good connection.

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Klein-To...823R/205209866

get that tester and test it.
Tonedeaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 04:57 PM   #9
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 7,678
Rewards Points: 2,760
Default

I think the OP is probably gone but this was a common practice at one time. The 10 and 100 mbit ethernet run on pins 1, 2, 3, and 6; most phones run on a single pair, the blue pair, landed on the center pins, so 4 & 5 of an 8-pin jack. This was never considered a great practice but it pretty much works.



It sounds like maybe he had crimped up a jackwad splitter cable between the computer / phone and the wall, which probably failed when someone tugged on it or looked at too hard.
Navyguy likes this.
__________________
Whatsoever thy hand findeth to do, do it with thy might;
for there is no work, nor device, nor knowledge, nor wisdom,
in the grave, whither thou goest.
splatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 01:14 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 92
Rewards Points: 143
Default

A few years ago ran into an issue at a site that was using only two pair for some drops - cable was split so two pairs went to another jack. Things worked until they did an equipment upgrade. I don't remember for sure but think it was from one brand gig switch to another. The new one tried to negotiate 1000mb/s and kept on failing. Hard coded ports to 100mb/s until able to pull new cables.
Stuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this Electrician correct on wire sizing? grover1134 General Electrical Discussion 10 11-05-2018 07:15 PM
How to wire outlet constant on and toggle frso Residential Electrical Forum 18 11-06-2017 02:43 PM
T-stat wire at 120V: Lamp Repair boot Off Topic (Non Trade) 5 09-23-2017 06:38 PM
Wire Strippers for #18 stranded 2 conductor !Tom Tools, Equipment and New Products 22 05-04-2016 08:22 PM
8ga Aluminum Oven Wire vs 8ga Copper Wire? savatreatabvr General Electrical Discussion 17 01-13-2016 07:57 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com