Electric fence Energizer(Hammer 630) - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Structured Wiring


Like Tree12Likes
  • 2 Post By RePhase277
  • 4 Post By splatz
  • 3 Post By emtnut
  • 2 Post By Safari
  • 1 Post By emtnut
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2017, 10:00 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Safari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: mombasa,kenya
Posts: 782
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default Electric fence Energizer(Hammer 630)

Called on An electric fence problem. The siren was ON repeatedly. Checked for short circuit on theoo fence,didn't find any.decided to open the energizer. Found one component that looks like a capacitor totally burnt. The component is between that first relay.Can't get Its value. Don't know if any one has a similar one to help me get that components value

Sent from my TECNO-N6S using Tapatalk
__________________
if you want to go fast, go alone.if you want to go far,go together.-an african proverb
Safari is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-06-2017, 01:24 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 11,885
Rewards Points: 1,360
Default

Is it the component between the relay and capacitors? Labeled BR1? If so, that's a bridge rectifier.
RePhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2017, 02:45 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Safari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: mombasa,kenya
Posts: 782
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RePhase277 View Post
Is it the component between the relay and capacitors? Labeled BR1? If so, that's a bridge rectifier.
Its actually between RL1 and BR1, what is remaining there is actually a wire strand if you look closely. It looked like a capacitor but am not sure due to it being totally burnt

Sent from my TECNO-N6S using Tapatalk
__________________
if you want to go fast, go alone.if you want to go far,go together.-an african proverb
Safari is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-06-2017, 04:49 PM   #4
animal lover /rat bastard
 
wildleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: somewhere in FL
Posts: 13,547
Rewards Points: 1,038
Default

http://www.hammerenergisers.co.za/?Task=mail

you can get a new unit for 1500R (less than 120 bucks US). Without a schematic its a guess.
__________________
this message was sent from a dental floss farm using ZappaTalk and a pair of zirconium encrusted tweasers
wildleg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2017, 10:24 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 11,885
Rewards Points: 1,360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Safari View Post
Its actually between RL1 and BR1, what is remaining there is actually a wire strand if you look closely. It looked like a capacitor but am not sure due to it being totally burnt

Sent from my TECNO-N6S using Tapatalk
I see now. It would be a smoothing capacitor for that rectifier. Any pretty large value should work at the appropriate voltage. 1000 uF at 250 V would work. The value at that point isn't super critical.
RePhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2017, 10:29 PM   #6
Band Member
 
emtnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 6,139
Rewards Points: 1,858
Default

My guess would be it was the MOV.

Given that it's blasted to ratchit, there is more than likely other problems with that board.

I'd follow Wildleg's advice
__________________
_____________________________________
Your Mother was a hamster, and your father smells of Elderberries. ... Now go away, or I shall taunt you a second time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
emtnut is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to emtnut For This Useful Post:
Safari (08-07-2017)
Old 08-06-2017, 11:10 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 11,885
Rewards Points: 1,360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emtnut View Post
My guess would be it was the MOV.

Given that it's blasted to ratchit, there is more than likely other problems with that board.

That true, could be another MOV.

I'd follow Wildleg's advice

Nah... We'll I mean, yeah, just replace the thing and get paid.

But the put that thing on the bench and get it going again.
RePhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2017, 12:35 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Safari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: mombasa,kenya
Posts: 782
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildleg View Post
http://www.hammerenergisers.co.za/?Task=mail

you can get a new unit for 1500R (less than 120 bucks US). Without a schematic its a guess.
True wildleg,but looking at cost too. that component costs less than a dollar.it might be the last option

Sent from my TECNO-N6S using Tapatalk
__________________
if you want to go fast, go alone.if you want to go far,go together.-an african proverb
Safari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2017, 12:38 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Safari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: mombasa,kenya
Posts: 782
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RePhase277 View Post
I see now. It would be a smoothing capacitor for that rectifier. Any pretty large value should work at the appropriate voltage. 1000 uF at 250 V would work. The value at that point isn't super critical.
Looked like a ceramic capacitor, 1000uF.Might be on the higher side

Sent from my TECNO-N6S using Tapatalk
__________________
if you want to go fast, go alone.if you want to go far,go together.-an african proverb
Safari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2017, 01:21 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 11,885
Rewards Points: 1,360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Safari View Post
Looked like a ceramic capacitor, 1000uF.Might be on the higher side

Sent from my TECNO-N6S using Tapatalk
If it looked like that it was probably and MOV. I was picturing electrolytic capacitor, which sometimes can explode for no good reason. But an MOV usually only goes bad like that if it clamped down on a serious spike. It might not have caught all of it and something else on the board is cooked.
emtnut and splatz like this.
RePhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2017, 07:06 AM   #11
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 9,118
Rewards Points: 880
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RePhase277 View Post
If it looked like that it was probably and MOV. I was picturing electrolytic capacitor, which sometimes can explode for no good reason. But an MOV usually only goes bad like that if it clamped down on a serious spike. It might not have caught all of it and something else on the board is cooked.
Usually the MOV is in parallel to the power and even if you just cut it out everything runs normal, you just don't have your surge protection any more. It's a sacrificial component. I think your MOV tried, and died, but didn't stop all the surge, and something else is why the board is dead.
__________________
I am with thee, and will keep thee in all places whither thou goest
splatz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to splatz For This Useful Post:
Safari (08-07-2017)
Old 08-07-2017, 09:31 AM   #12
Band Member
 
emtnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 6,139
Rewards Points: 1,858
Default

You did check the littlefuse , right ??
circuitman1, splatz and RePhase277 like this.
__________________
_____________________________________
Your Mother was a hamster, and your father smells of Elderberries. ... Now go away, or I shall taunt you a second time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
emtnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 02:57 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Safari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: mombasa,kenya
Posts: 782
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emtnut View Post
You did check the littlefuse , right ??
Yes I did emtnut, you were right.It must have been an MOV.Disconnected the fence and did short the output of the Enegizer.It worked fine.
I now have to check the actual short on the fence.it is coupled with a razor fence making it hard to isolate. But am on it.

Thanks for the help.

Sent from my TECNO-N6S using Tapatalk
circuitman1 and emtnut like this.
__________________
if you want to go fast, go alone.if you want to go far,go together.-an african proverb
Safari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2017, 12:11 AM   #14
Band Member
 
emtnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 6,139
Rewards Points: 1,858
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Safari View Post
Yes I did emtnut, you were right.It must have been an MOV.Disconnected the fence and did short the output of the Enegizer.It worked fine.
I now have to check the actual short on the fence.it is coupled with a razor fence making it hard to isolate. But am on it.

Thanks for the help.

Sent from my TECNO-N6S using Tapatalk
Thanks for getting back !

In hindsight, we should have suggested disconnecting the fence

Good call
RePhase277 likes this.
__________________
_____________________________________
Your Mother was a hamster, and your father smells of Elderberries. ... Now go away, or I shall taunt you a second time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
emtnut is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to emtnut For This Useful Post:
Safari (08-10-2017)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice for electric vs hvac business or both ZBat910 Business, Marketing, and Sales 33 10-14-2018 01:25 PM
Electric fence charger just the cowboy General Electrical Discussion 4 11-11-2016 06:56 PM
Coffee bike. Electric / Gas Espresso Machine. Kasperbb68 General Electrical Discussion 2 09-17-2016 11:12 AM
Lunera Recalls LED Lamps Due to Fire, Burn and Electric Shock Hazards guest Recalls, Safety Notices and References 0 01-27-2016 09:28 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com