208 vs 480 safety - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Tools, Equipment & Safety > Workplace Safety


Like Tree7Likes
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-02-2019, 09:03 PM  
Senior Member
 
EJPHI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: N California
Posts: 268
Rewards Points: 338
Default 208 vs 480 safety

For a long time, our products were designed to operate off of 208V. The engineers are all well trained in LOTO and safe practices for making live voltage measurements. We do not work live but need to make measurements of the voltage for testing purposes.

Now we are moving to 480V and I would like to ask what everyone does that is different for 480.
We will need to make voltage checks on live circuits. Do we need different probes?
Is you LOTO method different for 480 vs 208?
PPE different or the same?

Thanks
EJPHI is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-02-2019, 09:29 PM  
Moderator
 
John Valdes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 15,497
Rewards Points: 2,618
Default

I treat them the exact same.
Cow, bill39, glen1971 and 1 others like this.
John Valdes is offline  
Old 05-02-2019, 09:42 PM  
Senior Member
 
Bird dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: South East US
Posts: 4,727
Rewards Points: 1,242
Default

Check out the difference between level III & level IV meters. The other thing is levels of PPE in case of arc flash for 208 vs 480.
__________________
Popcorn munching forum observer
"The supreme art of war is to subdue the enemy without fighting." Sun Tzu
Bird dog is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-02-2019, 09:50 PM  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: So.Cal.
Posts: 3,343
Rewards Points: 6,635
Default

It's between 480, and 4160 is where the difference is. I use gloves for the 4160. 34.5kv. I use the panel meter.
__________________
-------------------------------
~ She thinks I'm crazy, but I'm just growing old~
joebanana is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to joebanana For This Useful Post:
emt1 (07-10-2019)
Old 05-02-2019, 11:31 PM  
Senior Member
 
cwsims84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon
Posts: 140
Rewards Points: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EJPHI View Post
For a long time, our products were designed to operate off of 208V. The engineers are all well trained in LOTO and safe practices for making live voltage measurements. We do not work live but need to make measurements of the voltage for testing purposes.

Now we are moving to 480V and I would like to ask what everyone does that is different for 480.
We will need to make voltage checks on live circuits. Do we need different probes?
Is you LOTO method different for 480 vs 208?
PPE different or the same?

Thanks
Just use a 40cal suit/gear either way... really, if it goes ****ty and you aren’t wearing the right gear, it suddenly isn’t your problem anymore..
cwsims84 is offline  
Old 05-02-2019, 11:39 PM  
Senior Member
 
EJPHI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: N California
Posts: 268
Rewards Points: 338
Default

You guys are helping me a lot.

Keep it coming. I am gonna point managers to this thread

Last edited by EJPHI; 05-02-2019 at 11:53 PM. Reason: Typo
EJPHI is offline  
Old 05-03-2019, 10:35 AM  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: florida
Posts: 1,336
Rewards Points: 888
Default

480 is a touch voltage (wont jump) so you can treat it the same as 208. If you use 00 gloves like you are suppose to then its all good. (please don't claim that your guys always wear there gloves as we know better).

The biggest difference is you now have 277 trying to escape rather than 110. Where a wet 110v connection will hold a 277v connection will burn up. I prefer working 480 as ive never come across anything that isn't a wye at that voltage.

Make sure all your meters are rated to 600v cat IV especially tracers. Also try to get a idiot meter like a fluke T5 and tell your guys to use that as the primary meter. The other meters should only be used once you have reached the limits of the T5. This will reduce most of the risk of accidentally leaving a meter set to ohms or touching the probe on a wiggy.

Its a good thing that you are worried about the difference. That shows you still respect it. Once you get comfortable and loose respect is when it can all go horribly wrong.
tmessner likes this.
gpop is offline  
Old 05-03-2019, 12:55 PM  
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 26,527
Rewards Points: 15,405
Default

Allow me to stick this thing in here , just to set the mood...........


__________________
Thought for the Day: President Trump is the first sitting U.S. president to EVER step foot in North Korea... Obama got a Nobel Peace Prize for being black.
macmikeman is offline  
Old 05-03-2019, 01:15 PM  
Senior Member
 
canbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Just North of Calgary
Posts: 736
Rewards Points: 1,452
Default

Hey Mac, I always like seeing those videos but how many cycles was that flash? That is the worst case scenario and the best case would be that your fuse would open at a quarter cycle. Either way, PPE is required and good practice followed.


Tim.
canbug is offline  
Old 05-03-2019, 01:27 PM  
Senior Member
 
Bird dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: South East US
Posts: 4,727
Rewards Points: 1,242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by canbug View Post
Either way, PPE is required and good practice followed.


Tim.
Something has to block the molten copper flying at you.
__________________
Popcorn munching forum observer
"The supreme art of war is to subdue the enemy without fighting." Sun Tzu
Bird dog is online now  
Old 05-03-2019, 04:53 PM  
Senior Member
 
460 Delta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Southern Ohio
Posts: 602
Rewards Points: 572
Default

Just saying, but 277 will take out a bigger chunk of your favorite screwdriver than 120 will.
A B grounded 480 will do some real damage, I have several on R-mix plants and they are to be respected.
__________________
Perfection is the enemy of good enough
460 Delta is online now  
Old 05-03-2019, 06:15 PM  
Senior Member
 
EJPHI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: N California
Posts: 268
Rewards Points: 338
Default

I checked with some of the guys today and we will have 480 delta feed in most instances. We also have some 208 corner grounded delta UPS that will have to play well with the 480. This should be fun.

Inside the equipment we use all black wire with L1, L2, L3 labels which may have to be rethought so we can easily know which wires have 480 on them.
EJPHI is offline  
Old 05-03-2019, 06:33 PM  
Senior Member
 
Bird dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: South East US
Posts: 4,727
Rewards Points: 1,242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EJPHI View Post
I checked with some of the guys today and we will have 480 delta feed in most instances. We also have some 208 corner grounded delta UPS that will have to play well with the 480. This should be fun.

Inside the equipment we use all black wire with L1, L2, L3 labels which may have to be rethought so we can easily know which wires have 480 on them.
Always check with a meter. Doesn't all of your equipment have nameplates with voltage etc?
__________________
Popcorn munching forum observer
"The supreme art of war is to subdue the enemy without fighting." Sun Tzu
Bird dog is online now  
Old 05-03-2019, 06:41 PM  
Senior Member
 
EJPHI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: N California
Posts: 268
Rewards Points: 338
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bird dog View Post
Always check with a meter. Doesn't all of your equipment have nameplates with voltage etc?
Nope, but may need to do that.
EJPHI is offline  
Old 05-05-2019, 05:02 PM  
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 66
Rewards Points: 132
Default

With all the new electrical safety requirements, your location might have to do an arc flash study. This is expensive and many places skip it when they get the estimate. It is based on NEC 70 E. For most places a Level 2 ( 12 cal.. ) PPE is fine unless you have large distribution panels or feeders. We had 800 amp, 480/277 volt panels that were a Level 1 PPE and 200 amp, 208/120 volt panel that were a Level 2 & 3. It depends more on the available fault current and the OCPD rather than the voltage. By today's standards, you always must wear your PPE and follow the rules of 70E. That means either sit in your office and ignore the voltage readings or be prepared to spend a lot more time with PPE, prep and filling out energized work permits. A Level 4 PPE is expensive and very difficult to work in unless the place is air conditioned down to 60 degrees.
kb1jb1 is offline  
Old 05-05-2019, 05:32 PM  
Senior Member
 
EJPHI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: N California
Posts: 268
Rewards Points: 338
Default

We have very high energy close to where our equipment will be deployed. So yeah there is major concern about this step up in voltage.

Does anyone know of a very reliable indicator that we can connect line to line?

We can do something simple with some resistors and LEDs, but the indicator must always be correct. We can't accept a design where a false reading due to a failed component would indicate no voltage when in fact voltage is present.
EJPHI is offline  
Old 05-05-2019, 05:46 PM  
Senior Member
 
Bird dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: South East US
Posts: 4,727
Rewards Points: 1,242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EJPHI View Post
We have very high energy close to where our equipment will be deployed. So yeah there is major concern about this step up in voltage.

Does anyone know of a very reliable indicator that we can connect line to line?

We can do something simple with some resistors and LEDs, but the indicator must always be correct. We can't accept a design where a false reading due to a failed component would indicate no voltage when in fact voltage is present.
A properly trained electrician with a meter.
__________________
Popcorn munching forum observer
"The supreme art of war is to subdue the enemy without fighting." Sun Tzu
Bird dog is online now  
Old 05-05-2019, 11:29 PM  
Senior Member
 
EJPHI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: N California
Posts: 268
Rewards Points: 338
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bird dog View Post
A properly trained electrician with a meter.
Bull****
EJPHI is offline  
Old 05-07-2019, 07:40 AM  
Senior Member
 
Going_Commando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Hampshah
Posts: 6,027
Rewards Points: 1,456
Default

Buy fluke meters with fluke connect so you can rig up your voltage testing and whatnot when its locked out, then close everything up, unlock, energize, and view your readings on your tablet while sitting comfortably on a 5 gallon pail out of the way.

I fricken love fluke connect.
__________________
"I bet you smell like cigarettes and felonies." -HackWork
Going_Commando is offline  
Old 05-10-2019, 07:37 PM  
Senior Member
 
JRaef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Posts: 5,026
Rewards Points: 1,940
Default

Do you mean something that you permanently install on the equipment to indicate that live voltage is present?


Grace Voltage Vision


Panduit Verisafe
__________________
"If you don't know where you're going, then any direction will do." -- Lewis Carroll
JRaef is offline  
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safety Hazard - Recall of Eaton Heavy Duty 30A and 60A Safety Switches Bird dog General Electrical Discussion 19 03-16-2019 12:04 PM
Phones and Safety splatz Workplace Safety 17 12-09-2018 11:31 PM
Punitive safety culture MDShunk Workplace Safety 48 05-30-2018 08:35 PM
SQD Safety Switch Recall Bird dog General Electrical Discussion 5 04-19-2018 12:46 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com