Apprenticeship help in Toronto - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > Electrician Apprentice Forum

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By daveEM

Old 03-25-2018, 02:22 PM   #1

Default Apprenticeship help in Toronto

Hey guys...first time poster here. Im a 25 year old student living in Toronto,ON currently enrolled in an electrical techniques program. I have my own car, G drivers license and my own tools. I get my certificate in May and i want to start my apprenticeship in the Summer. I have a few questions about going about it that hopefully someone living in the GTA can answer for me.

1. I live near a local 183 union, should i do my apprenticeship there or work for local electrical companies as an apprentice ? And after i complete my hours how do i log in hours doing either route ?

2. I have experience in residential and commercial installations, for my apprenticeship should i do a bit of both as well as industrial ? Or is there one area i should focus on more than the others.

3. My program was a 1 year electrical course, do i get any credit for the time spent in school and the experience earned, and should my pay increase based on that ? Im familiar with installing switches, outlets, lights two way three way, fire alarm etc as well as commerical conduit bending and motor wiring...i have more experience than someone who just came on the job and knows nothing

And any other tips would be greatly appreciated, i enjoy working in this field and hope to learn as much as i can to better myself and hopefully earn as much as i can. Thanks alot
TorontoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!