Bonding trim screw on a blank cover? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Tools, Equipment & Safety > Code Violation Discussion


Like Tree6Likes
  • 1 Post By 99cents
  • 2 Post By zac
  • 1 Post By joe-nwt
  • 1 Post By zac
  • 1 Post By joe-nwt
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2019, 05:57 PM   #1
zac
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 2,806
Rewards Points: 812
Default Bonding trim screw on a blank cover?

Why don't we bond the trim screws of a blank cover? There's no device so technically you could get an energized screw taking apart a cover off a plastic box. I actually came across a bathroom switch that the trim screws were reading 120. The installer screwed the mounting screw of the switch in between the switch leg wire and box. The result was everytime the switch was turned on barefoot they'd get shocked. Obviously the switches weren't grounded (I never do).

Not for it just trying to contribute to the forum. It's been lagging.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
zac is online now   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-04-2019, 06:05 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 31,655
Rewards Points: 395
Default

One step further, what about a blank metal cover plate on a plastic box?
__________________
There are 2 types of electrician... Those who knowingly break code, and those who lie about it.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HackWork For This Useful Post:
zac (04-04-2019)
Old 04-04-2019, 06:07 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 1,432
Rewards Points: 894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
One step further, what about a blank metal cover plate on a plastic box?
There are blank covers with bonding pigtails.
__________________
I'm With Her! Hillary 2016
CoolWill is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to CoolWill For This Useful Post:
zac (04-04-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-04-2019, 06:08 PM   #4
zac
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 2,806
Rewards Points: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
One step further, what about a blank metal cover plate on a plastic box?
That's easy, just wrap the ground wire around the cover screw.
No serious, you could get lit up crawling in an attic and grabbing a metal cover.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
zac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 06:08 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 31,655
Rewards Points: 395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolWill View Post
There are blank covers with bonding pigtails.
AFAIK, there’s no requirement to use them.
__________________
There are 2 types of electrician... Those who knowingly break code, and those who lie about it.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 06:19 PM   #6
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,017
Rewards Points: 10,399
Default

A nylon screw would solve the problem.

But nylon screw manufacturers don’t sit on code advisory committees.
sparkiez likes this.
99cents is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to 99cents For This Useful Post:
Grounded-B (04-18-2019), zac (04-04-2019)
Old 04-04-2019, 06:37 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: US
Posts: 3,255
Rewards Points: 1,872
Default

How is it not bonded? I just read continuity from the threaded trim hole to the yoke and grounding screw.

My bad I got confused between the talk of getting shocked by a device and potential of shock from blank plate screws.

Your post does illustrate why you should probably ground your switches, though...

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk

Last edited by TGGT; 04-04-2019 at 06:42 PM.
TGGT is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TGGT For This Useful Post:
zac (04-04-2019)
Old 04-04-2019, 06:45 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 31,655
Rewards Points: 395
Default

FWIW, I ground switches in plastic boxes. Never in metal, not switches or outlets or anything.
__________________
There are 2 types of electrician... Those who knowingly break code, and those who lie about it.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 06:54 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: US
Posts: 3,255
Rewards Points: 1,872
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
FWIW, I ground switches in plastic boxes. Never in metal, not switches or outlets or anything.
I will when I use MC since the sheath does not qualify as a EGC. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
TGGT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 06:56 PM   #10
zac
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 2,806
Rewards Points: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TGGT View Post
I will when I use MC since the sheath does not qualify as a EGC. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
If you bond the box it wouldn't matter about the mc.. just like romex.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
HackWork and TGGT like this.
zac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 07:22 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: US
Posts: 3,255
Rewards Points: 1,872
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zac View Post
If you bond the box it wouldn't matter about the mc.. just like romex.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
That's right I got mixed up. I kept thinking if you landed the EGC on the device, the box wouldnt be properly grounded when the device wasn't secure to it. All our jobs spec a pigtail between box and device.

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
TGGT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 08:43 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zac View Post
That's easy, just wrap the ground wire around the cover screw.
No serious, you could get lit up crawling in an attic and grabbing a metal cover.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
Don't touch them un-grounded staples either.
CoolWill likes this.
joe-nwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 08:59 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 1,432
Rewards Points: 894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zac View Post
That's easy, just wrap the ground wire around the cover screw.
No serious, you could get lit up crawling in an attic and grabbing a metal cover.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
I think you would have to be trying to get shocked. Even if the plate was energized, you would still need to find a way to get grounded.
__________________
I'm With Her! Hillary 2016
CoolWill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 09:04 PM   #14
zac
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 2,806
Rewards Points: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolWill View Post
I think you would have to be trying to get shocked. Even if the plate was energized, you would still need to find a way to get grounded.
True but it can happen. I've been lit up taking a cover plate off a energized metal box in a garage. I was standing on my fiberglass ladder had my other hand on something metal (maybe plumbing forgot) and it hurt!

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
zac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 09:09 PM   #15
zac
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 2,806
Rewards Points: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe-nwt View Post
Don't touch them un-grounded staples either.
You don't have to bond fastners, they're not in the box. That would be like bonding a metal one hole strap on pvc.
Not necessary.


Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
MikeFL likes this.
zac is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to zac For This Useful Post:
joe-nwt (04-05-2019)
Old 04-04-2019, 09:55 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 1,432
Rewards Points: 894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
AFAIK, there’s no requirement to use them.
I think 314.25(A) via 250.110 does.
__________________
I'm With Her! Hillary 2016
CoolWill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 09:33 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zac View Post
You don't have to bond fastners, they're not in the box. That would be like bonding a metal one hole strap on pvc.
Not necessary.


Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
Thank you Captain........
CoolWill likes this.
joe-nwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 09:55 PM   #18
zac
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 2,806
Rewards Points: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe-nwt View Post
Thank you Captain........
Well alrighty then. Thanks for the imput.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
zac is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Philips and Robertson Screw Heads power Off Topic (Non Trade) 33 11-05-2017 01:40 PM
Old Novaline panel with damaged cover screw holders? Islander General Electrical Discussion 10 03-02-2017 06:41 PM
Screw U 99cents Business, Marketing, and Sales 75 06-28-2016 04:37 PM
Bonding screw on hack job panel Anathera General Electrical Discussion 19 03-04-2016 07:50 AM
Blank Face GFCI Question Ducatiguy Canadian Electrical Forum 5 01-11-2016 04:35 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com