Neat ground rod driver. - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Tools, Equipment & Safety > Tools, Equipment and New Products


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2009, 08:40 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
steelersman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lake Ridge, Virginia
Posts: 3,500
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black4Truck View Post

Using your logic, I should drill out a house with a brace & bit
Not exactly. Drilling an entire house out is different as there are many holes to be drilled. If you're only driving 1 or 2 rods then I'd have them driven by the time you get out the cord and drill and special attatchment for it.
steelersman is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-08-2009, 08:48 PM   #22
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steelersman View Post
Not exactly. Drilling an entire house out is different as there are many holes to be drilled. If you're only driving 1 or 2 rods then I'd have them driven by the time you get out the cord and drill and special attatchment for it.
I've heard that story before, usually by cocky apprentices. And everytime, as I'm working like a gentleman, making the contractor money, working smarter and not unnecessarily harder- the apprentice is sweating his ass off when he has 3 more foot to hammer in as I'm putting the drill away and starting the next task.
BadSplice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 08:48 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
220/221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,683
Rewards Points: 4,140
Default

Quote:
If you're only driving 1 or 2 rods then I'd have them driven by the time you get out the cord and drill and special attatchment for it.
Maybe on the beach

Around here you'd be in trouble. I have had ground rods refuse to go all the way in even after using the 30# demo hammer on them for several minutes. They just hit a rock and flat ass stop. That's when the vertical rod adjustment tool comes out.
220/221 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-08-2009, 08:58 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
steelersman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lake Ridge, Virginia
Posts: 3,500
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
That's when the vertical rod adjustment tool comes out.
Just call it by it's simpler name, "hacksaw".
steelersman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 08:59 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
steelersman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lake Ridge, Virginia
Posts: 3,500
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadSplice View Post
I've heard that story before, usually by cocky apprentices.
Well this time you're hearing it from a cocky "master".
steelersman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 09:02 PM   #26
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steelersman View Post
Just call it by it's simpler name, "hacksaw".
Another time wasting hand tool, Jeeze! Where's your cordless Sawzall?!?!?
BadSplice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 09:10 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
220/221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,683
Rewards Points: 4,140
Default

Quote:
Another time wasting hand tool, Jeeze! Where's your cordless Sawzall?!?!?
I know

Who uses a hacksaw? (unless your batteries are all dead)

He probably still solders and tapes his splices.
220/221 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 09:17 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
steelersman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lake Ridge, Virginia
Posts: 3,500
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadSplice View Post
Another time wasting hand tool, Jeeze! Where's your cordless Sawzall?!?!?
I don't own or need a cordless sawzall. I do have and sometimes use a corded sawzall though.
steelersman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 09:25 PM   #29
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steelersman View Post
I don't own or need a cordless sawzall. I do have and sometimes use a corded sawzall though.
What's the cord for? To remind you of the past?
BadSplice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 09:27 PM   #30
B4T
Scotchkote Installer
 
B4T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Long Island, N.Y.
Posts: 30,669
Rewards Points: 15,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadSplice View Post
What's the cord for? To remind you of the past?
B4T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 09:39 PM   #31
Senior Member
 
william1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, N.C.
Posts: 11,095
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steelersman View Post
Well this time you're hearing it from a cocky "master".
william1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 09:44 PM   #32
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 39,118
Rewards Points: 6,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadSplice View Post
Oh, cause it doesn't use an SDS standard?
No. It's about 4x the diameter of an SDS bit.
__________________
I'm 480Sparky, and I approved this message.
480sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 09:48 PM   #33
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 39,118
Rewards Points: 6,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steelersman View Post
I don't own or need a cordless sawzall. I do have and sometimes use a corded sawzall though.
Then why not just drive the rod with a power tool in the first place and know you have 8 feet in the ground instead of being lazy and end up knowingly creating a code violation?
__________________
I'm 480Sparky, and I approved this message.
480sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 09:51 PM   #34
B4T
Scotchkote Installer
 
B4T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Long Island, N.Y.
Posts: 30,669
Rewards Points: 15,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
Then why not just drive the rod with a power tool in the first place and know you have 8 feet in the ground instead of being lazy and end up knowingly creating a code violation?

He never said that he cut the rod, but there are plenty of other things you can pick on
B4T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 10:50 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
steelersman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lake Ridge, Virginia
Posts: 3,500
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
Then why not just drive the rod with a power tool in the first place and know you have 8 feet in the ground instead of being lazy and end up knowingly creating a code violation?
I've only cut the rod once that I can remember. Besides I hardly ever need to. I can almost always drive it all the way in. And if you do cut it, it should be kosher as long as it's 25 ohms or less resistance. Besides when I did cut it off I still beat the end with a hammer to mushroom it out so that it didn't look like it was cut.
steelersman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 05:44 AM   #36
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NASA
Posts: 7,525
Rewards Points: 2,050
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steelersman View Post
If you're only driving 1 or 2 rods then I'd have them driven by the time you get out the cord and drill and special attatchment for it.
With your 'three pound mini-sledge or a regular hammer'?

Then I say you live on a sand bar.

Come on up to where I live and if you can drive a single entire 8' rod with just a mini sledge or regular hammer your much more of a man then most anyone I know.

Most times in my area driving a rod would give Ken's demo hammer some trouble. Rods have a hard time splitting potato sized rocks.
Bob Badger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 06:34 AM   #37
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NASA
Posts: 7,525
Rewards Points: 2,050
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steelersman View Post
Besides when I did cut it off I still beat the end with a hammer to mushroom it out so that it didn't look like it was cut.
Com on dude, yous no thats the ritghz waye ta do dat is ta cut the rod firsts.
Bob Badger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 06:57 AM   #38
Senior Member
 
steelersman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lake Ridge, Virginia
Posts: 3,500
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Yeah, I guess I'm a hack. I learned that trick from Peter.
steelersman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 10:17 AM   #39
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Do you use a corded drill too?



I'm sorry, I just can't get over this whole corded tool bit.
BadSplice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 10:27 AM   #40
Senior Member
 
steelersman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lake Ridge, Virginia
Posts: 3,500
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

I use a cordless drill.
steelersman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
some neat cable tying by our apprentices (pix attached) blindside Commercial Electrical Forum 37 04-30-2009 12:10 AM
fun lighting circuit problem and neat troubleshooting trick EJPHI General Electrical Discussion 1 10-09-2008 03:40 PM
What is Neat and Workmanlike, and are there any hazards here? Joe Tedesco Code Violation Discussion 10 12-13-2007 05:23 PM
Some neat electrical videos leftyguitarjoe General Electrical Discussion 12 11-15-2007 12:56 PM
neat old lightning rods MDShunk Vintage Electrical 6 11-07-2007 01:57 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com