Vol-Con xl - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Tools, Equipment & Safety > Tools, Equipment and New Products


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2009, 07:59 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 75
Default Vol-Con xl

Is it worth it to have a vol con (wiggy) in your tool box or should I just get a clamp on multi meter?
scott_8222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-05-2009, 08:00 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
steelersman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lake Ridge, Virginia
Posts: 3,500
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Vol-cons are good for determining that something has true power and not ghost voltages. I learned that from this forum by the way.
steelersman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 08:20 PM   #3
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,365
Rewards Points: 500
Default

for construction, vol-con is a great tool.
paul d. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-05-2009, 09:03 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Richard Rowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 142
Rewards Points: 75
Default

I have a selinoid meter not that expensive one, I think if you do control voltage of any kind you need one. I was wondering about the Flouke T+Pro will it replace the wiggy and multi meter???
Richard Rowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 09:17 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 75
Default

I was reading about the T+PRO on the Fluke site and it says that its safer than traditional solenoid meters. Why is that?
scott_8222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 09:33 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 811
Rewards Points: 530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scott_8222 View Post
I was reading about the T+PRO on the Fluke site and it says that its safer than traditional solenoid meters. Why is that?
The display turns on at 12 volts which is a safety feature because a traditional wiggy will not detect that low voltage. Wiggys are now not NFPA-70E approved, but the T+pro is, Thats why I have one.
__________________
SEU installer
electro916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 12:11 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Larry Fine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 154
Rewards Points: 150
Default

I like the Knopp K-60, which is CAT-III rated.
__________________
I laid in bed last night, looking up at the stars, and
I said to myself, "Where the hell is my ceiling?!"
Larry Fine, Master Electrician and
Electrical Contractor, Richmond, Va
Larry Fine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 04:39 PM   #8
Tabihu Juhar
 
76nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 3,209
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Look into dual impedance meters, like the Fluke 116:


http://us.fluke.com/usen/products/Fluke+116.htm
76nemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 05:46 PM   #9
Zog
Senior Member
 
Zog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 5,446
Rewards Points: 1,096
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scott_8222 View Post
I was reading about the T+PRO on the Fluke site and it says that its safer than traditional solenoid meters. Why is that?
CATIII rating, based on how much fault current the meter can handle if misused without failing. (Among other things)
Zog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 08:50 PM   #10
Master Electrician
 
electricalperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New Bedford, Massachusetts
Posts: 2,684
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

the knopp k60 is cat3 get that one
electricalperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 09:01 PM   #11
Tabihu Juhar
 
76nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 3,209
Rewards Points: 2,000
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by electricalperson View Post
the knopp k60 is cat3 get that one

Why do you perfer this over Flukes T+Pro? I thought you had one.
76nemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 09:03 PM   #12
Master Electrician
 
electricalperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New Bedford, Massachusetts
Posts: 2,684
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 76nemo View Post
Why do you perfer this over Flukes T+Pro? I thought you had one.
i have a t+pro and a k-60 if he wants a real solenoid tester he can get that one
electricalperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 09:17 PM   #13
Tabihu Juhar
 
76nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 3,209
Rewards Points: 2,000
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by electricalperson View Post
i have a t+pro and a k-60 if he wants a real solenoid tester he can get that one

A "real solenoid tester"? Is there a real need besides what the T+ can do?
76nemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 09:23 PM   #14
Master Electrician
 
electricalperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New Bedford, Massachusetts
Posts: 2,684
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 76nemo View Post
A "real solenoid tester"? Is there a real need besides what the T+ can do?
not really i just like the way it feels
electricalperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 09:29 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
steelersman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lake Ridge, Virginia
Posts: 3,500
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by electricalperson View Post
i just like the way it feels
That's what she said.
steelersman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 09:29 PM   #16
Semi-Retired
 
BryanMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The Triad (NC)
Posts: 1,289
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Getting back to the original post...
When someone asking if they need a multi-meter or not is a real good sign that they don't.

If they actually needed one they would already have enough experience of using one to be asking the other type of multi meter questions (analog: digital and fluke:greenlee and ModelX:ModelY) ... ya know?
__________________
November 2011: Relocated to Winston-Salem.
May have to change the username suffix.
BryanMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 09:34 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
steelersman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lake Ridge, Virginia
Posts: 3,500
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scott_8222 View Post
Is it worth it to have a vol con (wiggy) in your tool box or should I just get a clamp on multi meter?
You should have both as both have their purpose.
steelersman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 09:42 PM   #18
Master Electrician
 
electricalperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New Bedford, Massachusetts
Posts: 2,684
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

he needs to get a wiggy learn more then buy a clamp on
electricalperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 11:11 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Toronto Sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, (Scarborough) Canada.
Posts: 1,584
Rewards Points: 1,008
Default

Have had two amprobes analog (500A) + a (2000A) Then I got a Hioki 3261 Digital and it worked fine for me over the years.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Don't fight .. Play nice!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Toronto Sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 11:27 AM   #20
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 28,443
Rewards Points: 19,255
Default

Knopp testers shake when voltage is present. I'm used to that shake after 30 years of using one. When I use my Fluke volt tester I have to remember that there will be no shake, which is to me an increased risk that I will make the mistake that something is de-energized when it is not. I have to tell myself to be careful each time I get the Fluke out. I do not have to tell myself that same thing when using my Knopp tester. Old habits die hard.
macmikeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com