Why can't I invent something like this? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Tools, Equipment & Safety > Tools, Equipment and New Products


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2009, 12:36 PM   #1
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 39,118
Rewards Points: 6,520
Question Why can't I invent something like this?

Stopped by the supply house the other day.

They had a bunch of these on display at the counter.







I asked, "How much?" and the answer was about $13.50. So I got one.

Anyone ever actually use one? Did I waste my money, or are they worth it?

More than once I've had to pull wire and really have to jerry-rig some contraption up to keep from skinning the wires.....
__________________
I'm 480Sparky, and I approved this message.
480sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-23-2009, 12:40 PM   #2
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
Stopped by the supply house the other day.

They had a bunch of these on display at the counter.





I asked, "How much?" and the answer was about $13.50. So I got one.

Anyone ever actually use one? Did I waste my money, or are they worth it?

More than once I've had to pull wire and really have to jerry-rig some contraption up to keep from skinning the wires.....

I've never seen one, but I'm impressed. I would have definately bought a few.
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 12:50 PM   #3
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 75
Default

I've seen it, but never bought it.

I keep a broken pen tube over my tri-tap so I don't break the 6-32 tip off in my bag.

When working alone and I need to feed wires into a box I pass a piece of ceiling wire thru the hole towards the front of the box, then thru the pen tube, then thru the other hole on the opposite side of the box. Makes a perfect pulley type thing to run the wires over.
ArrrrrMatey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-23-2009, 01:35 PM   #4
Moderator
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY State
Posts: 11,439
Rewards Points: 604
Default

I bought one as soon as my local guy got them in. He had a sample on the counter for a few weeks.

Works good, but you still get some scraping because the opening is a bit big and the wire still rubs on the conduit fitting. Not nearly as much as without one though.
__________________
“The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.”
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 01:37 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: denver, colorado
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

I grabbed one as soon as I saw it about three months ago. Works great, also works after drywall is up!
__________________
Wood alcohol: Cannot be made non-poisonous.
Of all the lessons dad could have left out...
busymnky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 03:07 PM   #6
Member
 
forqnc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cesapeake, Va
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
I bought one as soon as my local guy got them in. He had a sample on the counter for a few weeks.

Works good, but you still get some scraping because the opening is a bit big and the wire still rubs on the conduit fitting. Not nearly as much as without one though.
What about if you mounted it with the rollers inside the box, would this not help keep the wires more centered in the conduit and avoid scraping?
forqnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 05:07 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 229
Rewards Points: 150
Default

For 15$, I am going to try it.
__________________
2008 NEC
wingz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 05:20 PM   #8
Moderator
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY State
Posts: 11,439
Rewards Points: 604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by forqnc View Post
What about if you mounted it with the rollers inside the box, would this not help keep the wires more centered in the conduit and avoid scraping?
Yeah, I never considered that. Thanks.
__________________
“The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.”
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 05:28 PM   #9
Ambassador of Amps
 
TOOL_5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: sf bay area, CA
Posts: 9,518
Rewards Points: 2,354
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Yeah, I never considered that. Thanks.
IF youre going to cut the wire, couldnt you put a buching on the threads while you pull?

Is there a place online to get these?

~Matt
__________________
Advertising space available. Inquire within.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TOOL_5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 05:44 PM   #10
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 75
Default

I find it odd that a product with a patent (not the typical Patent Pending...) isn't more widely available.
ArrrrrMatey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 06:05 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
cdnelectrician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,889
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

I like it! Don't see myself using it all that much though
cdnelectrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 06:06 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boonville NY
Posts: 290
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Anybody use these yet? Saw them in the supply house yesterday http://www.rack-a-tiers.com/whatsnew.php
Sparky480 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 06:12 PM   #13
Moderator
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY State
Posts: 11,439
Rewards Points: 604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparky480 View Post
Anybody use these yet? Saw them in the supply house yesterday http://www.rack-a-tiers.com/whatsnew.php
Bought 'em.
Haven't used 'em....yet.
__________________
“The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.”
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 06:13 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boonville NY
Posts: 290
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Let us know how you like them!! Seem like they can come in handy
Sparky480 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 06:49 PM   #15
Town Drunk
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD, USA
Posts: 3,725
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparky480 View Post
Anybody use these yet? Saw them in the supply house yesterday http://www.rack-a-tiers.com/whatsnew.php
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Bought 'em.
Haven't used 'em....yet.
Same here.
__________________
John from Baltimore
"One day at a Time"
All responses based on the '14 NEC
It's not my fault, it's not my problem, I'm not your solution.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 08:17 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
william1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, N.C.
Posts: 11,095
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Looks like it would work pretty well. I will have to pick one up next time I go supply house.
william1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 08:34 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: kentucky
Posts: 12,412
Rewards Points: 5,198
Default Why can't I invent something like this?

The answer is simple. Just find a need...and satisfy it. I'm not being smart {because I'm not}. We just have to take time out and think.
RIVETER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 08:46 PM   #18
Bucket Head
 
The Motts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Unseen University
Posts: 346
Rewards Points: 256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparky480 View Post
Anybody use these yet? Saw them in the supply house yesterday http://www.rack-a-tiers.com/whatsnew.php
Do you mean the plate vise? They sell them at Lowe's and there is another thread here about them: http://www.electriciantalk.com/f14/you-got-try-8696/.
__________________
I have a face for radio. And a voice for silence.
The Motts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 09:24 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 811
Rewards Points: 530
Default

I just got the plate vise today, I cant wait to try it.

I Need to get a few of those fairleads for wire pulls, I should get 2 one for each van.
__________________
SEU installer
electro916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 10:03 PM   #20
Eeeeeevil Bitch
 
BCSparkyGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia
Posts: 2,256
Rewards Points: 1,014
Default

Can anyone pick one up and send one to me? I can't seem to find a Canadian distributer. Let me know, I would like to try one, as they have me pulling lots of wire lately.
__________________

BCSparkyGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com