250V DC power supply - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Industrial Electrical Forum


Like Tree5Likes
  • 2 Post By MikeFL
  • 1 Post By just the cowboy
  • 1 Post By CoolWill
  • 1 Post By CoolWill
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2019, 09:10 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 712
Rewards Points: 52
Default 250V DC power supply

Anyone know a source for a 250V DC power supply? I have a customer looking for one to power a magnet. He says it is a 10 amp load. That's all the info I have. I haven't seen it and don't know the manufacturer.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
Forge Boyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-28-2019, 09:36 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 2,558
Rewards Points: 3,402
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Forge Boyz View Post
Anyone know a source for a 250V DC power supply? I have a customer looking for one to power a magnet. He says it is a 10 amp load. That's all the info I have. I haven't seen it and don't know the manufacturer.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
How about a bridge rectifier and filter capacitor?
__________________
I'm With Her! Hillary 2016
CoolWill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2019, 09:43 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 712
Rewards Points: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolWill View Post
How about a bridge rectifier and filter capacitor?
He told me it needs 250v and that a rectifier won't work because it's only 230-240v. It's a magnet for on a crane and they always have a power supply mounted on the machine.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
Forge Boyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-28-2019, 10:02 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
MikeFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Sunshine State
Posts: 5,669
Rewards Points: 226
Default

I had something in mind until you said it's mounted on a crane.
Is this crane outdoors?
What are the ambient conditions?

Your supply is 240VAC and you need 250VDC 10A output?

You may want to check with the manufacturer/supplier/ dealer of the crane and of the magnet. Ask them how they do it.
MechanicalDVR and Bird dog like this.
__________________
Michael Gookin, President
GPS Timers

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

(833) GPS-TIME

Last edited by MikeFL; 06-28-2019 at 10:09 AM.
MikeFL is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MikeFL For This Useful Post:
MechanicalDVR (06-28-2019)
Old 06-28-2019, 10:06 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
joe-nwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 434
Rewards Points: 872
Default

Use a step-up to increase your input voltage to the rectifier.
joe-nwt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2019, 10:14 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 712
Rewards Points: 52
Default

Ok. I talked to the guy again and he said he just wants to be able to test the magnet. So I would be looking for a cheap way to do it. Then he remembered that he just might have a power supply on another machine and is going to check that out. Thanks for your input. If it doesn't work for him with what he has I might be back asking how to do a rectifier as I haven't ever worked with them.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
Forge Boyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2019, 11:01 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
just the cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,665
Rewards Points: 28
Default We did this

Way back when.........
We took a Variack and ran it to a step up transformer then to the full wave bridge. Set proper voltage then hooked up test weight. We could then turn down voltage till weight dropped off to prove % voltage drop was safe.

Cowboy
micromind likes this.
__________________
A cowboy may get thrown down, but he always gets up and walks forward and don't look back at what thru him.
just the cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to just the cowboy For This Useful Post:
Southeast Power (06-28-2019)
Old 06-28-2019, 11:53 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 1,463
Rewards Points: 2,040
Default

just use 208v 3ph + a 3 phase rectifier, it will gives you about 243vdc with a lot less ripple than single phase rectifier, no need for capacitor
oliquir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2019, 11:55 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 712
Rewards Points: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oliquir View Post
just use 208v 3ph + a 3 phase rectifier, it will gives you about 243vdc with a lot less ripple than single phase rectifier, no need for capacitor
No 208 on sight. They do have 480v

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
Forge Boyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2019, 11:56 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 2,558
Rewards Points: 3,402
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Forge Boyz View Post
He told me it needs 250v and that a rectifier won't work because it's only 230-240v. It's a magnet for on a crane and they always have a power supply mounted on the machine.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
240 volts AC rectifies into about 338 volts DC. Then you can PWM it to what he needs.
splatz likes this.
__________________
I'm With Her! Hillary 2016
CoolWill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2019, 12:03 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 712
Rewards Points: 52
Default

This is good. I'm learning things. I've never worked with DC much before.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
Forge Boyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2019, 01:47 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
JRaef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Posts: 5,147
Rewards Points: 2,174
Default

Buy a used 2 quadrant DC drive with a 480V input, lots of people are pulling these out to replace them with AC drives and motors, so the old DC drives end up surplus sites for dirt cheap.



240V input only gets you to 180VDC output..
__________________
"If you don't know where you're going, then any direction will do." -- Lewis Carroll
JRaef is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JRaef For This Useful Post:
Forge Boyz (06-28-2019)
Old 06-28-2019, 02:01 PM   #13
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 8,866
Rewards Points: 366
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolWill View Post
240 volts AC rectifies into about 338 volts DC. Then you can PWM it to what he needs.
Is that or vice versa?



If it's reversed, am trying to think if there's something you can do with transformer taps to make 338VAC...
__________________
Everything Should Be Made as Simple as Possible, But Not Simpler
splatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2019, 02:06 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 2,558
Rewards Points: 3,402
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by splatz View Post
Is that or vice versa?



If it's reversed, am trying to think if there's something you can do with transformer taps to make 338VAC...
VAC x sqrt2 = peak DC, which without the capacitor averages to 0.637 x peak. With the capacitor, the voltage is pretty close to the peak.
splatz likes this.
__________________
I'm With Her! Hillary 2016
CoolWill is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to CoolWill For This Useful Post:
splatz (06-28-2019)
Old 06-28-2019, 05:10 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 1,463
Rewards Points: 2,040
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolWill View Post
240 volts AC rectifies into about 338 volts DC. Then you can PWM it to what he needs.
thats only when using capacitors, if no capacitor you will get 240vdc minus losses in rectifer
oliquir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2019, 05:27 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 2,558
Rewards Points: 3,402
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oliquir View Post
thats only when using capacitors, if no capacitor you will get 240vdc minus losses in rectifer
You get roughly 215 volts DC average, after rectifier losses with no capacitor.
__________________
I'm With Her! Hillary 2016
CoolWill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com