Advancing in the industrial field? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Industrial Electrical Forum

Like Tree9Likes
  • 2 Post By Wiresmith
  • 4 Post By paulengr
  • 2 Post By micromind
  • 1 Post By Instrumentation

Old 01-19-2019, 06:24 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 6
Question Advancing in the industrial field?

For some background, I took an electrical tech. course in high school for 3 years, doing half days of class. I have a "certificate" for this, but I don't think it means much at this point. After that I landed a job building and installing panels for an OEM. Not much troubleshooting involved, but I did get familiar with industrial prints/ladder logic, PLC installations, and motor control circuits. I did this for two years. I now work as an industrial electrician, learning under one of the senior guys at the plant.

My main questions here are:

-What are my chances of advancement (esp. in heavy industry) without any school or formal training?

-Will the hours I worked at the OEM, and my current job count towards any kind of test or certification? (I have searched the internet for this, but in the U.S. it varies greatly from state to state, and union vs. non-union. Any personal stories, especially from PA, would help a ton.)

-Is it viable to study independently (buy books, read articles), or is that a step in the wrong direction? i.e. book knowledge is worthless without actually having worked with the equipment.

Thanks for the help guys. Sorry if the questions are somewhat vague, haha.
Bishop17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!