Industrial Help Needed - Page 3 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Industrial Electrical Forum


Like Tree16Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2019, 06:42 PM   #41
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 6,653
Rewards Points: 2,916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTW View Post
My method for identifying voltages and connection method in a building - go outside and look at the poco transformer setup. When you're as awesome and talented as I am, it only takes a quick glance to figure it out.
Of course this works with pole-mount transformers but what about pad-mount?
splatz likes this.
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-28-2019, 06:46 PM   #42
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 6,653
Rewards Points: 2,916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weasel View Post
The only way you can get 480/277 on a delta transformer is to purchase a 3 phase 480vac delta primary and a 480/277 wye secondary and bond XO
You can also install 3 relatively small single-phase transformers and connect them zig-zag to create a neutral from an ungrounded 3Ø ∆ system.
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 07:19 PM   #43
MTW
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 15,170
Rewards Points: 9,508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
Of course this works with pole-mount transformers but what about pad-mount?
Read the label on it.

I've never seen a paramount for anything but the smallest industrial building around here, and those are always 480 volt wye since delta is no longer offered by our poco here. Those older industrial services are far too large to meet poco specs for paramount. Usually they receive primary voltage and have their own transformers, or the poco has some huge 100 kva or bigger ones sitting on the ground.
micromind likes this.

Last edited by MTW; 10-28-2019 at 07:22 PM.
MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-28-2019, 08:38 PM   #44
Senior Member
 
460 Delta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Southern Ohio
Posts: 876
Rewards Points: 1,100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTW View Post
Like myself.
I don’t see.
__________________
Perfection is the enemy of good enough
460 Delta is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 10:36 PM   #45
MTW
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 15,170
Rewards Points: 9,508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 460 Delta View Post
I don’t see.
MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2019, 05:45 AM   #46
Senior Member
 
460 Delta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Southern Ohio
Posts: 876
Rewards Points: 1,100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTW View Post
I do see.
__________________
Perfection is the enemy of good enough
460 Delta is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2019, 11:38 PM   #47
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 6,653
Rewards Points: 2,916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTW View Post
Read the label on it.

I've never seen a paramount for anything but the smallest industrial building around here, and those are always 480 volt wye since delta is no longer offered by our poco here. Those older industrial services are far too large to meet poco specs for paramount. Usually they receive primary voltage and have their own transformers, or the poco has some huge 100 kva or bigger ones sitting on the ground.
Around here, the PUCO pad mounts don't have any labeling on the outside, only the factory nameplate inside the door.

Also, they're trying to get everything underground, they won't do anything overhead in Reno, only the outlying areas. And reluctantly at that.

Idiotic as it may seem the smallest 3Ø pad mount they have these days is 150 KVA.

They'll still hook up a 4 wire high-leg ∆ in the outlying areas but if anything goes bad on an existing ∆ bank in Reno, it gets replaced with a grounded Y.
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2019, 05:36 AM   #48
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 8,813
Rewards Points: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRaef View Post
While EFFECTIVELY this may wring true most of the time, in reality there is NO ground reference on an ungrounded delta system, so what you measure on from phase to ground depends on capacitance to ground, which can vary greatly from site to site, even on the same system. Plus it can often be "fooled" by things like power electronics that have surge protection erroneously left in place that has a "wye" connection with an internal ground reference. So sometimes you WILL measure 277V or some other odd voltage from phase to ground on an ungrounded delta system, so it's just not reliable to do a voltage measurement only.
I was thinking about this. If you tested phase to ground on a delta system with a low-Z meter / solenoid tester, would that eliminate the capacitive ground readings, readings through MOVs, etc.?
__________________
Everything Should Be Made as Simple as Possible, But Not Simpler
splatz is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com