Testing generator under load - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Industrial Electrical Forum


Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By Navyguy
  • 1 Post By joebanana
  • 2 Post By glen1971
  • 1 Post By Funkadelicfred
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2019, 08:55 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Ontario
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 96
Default

Doing a generator test with an auto transfer switch at a plant today for an afternoon. Don't really want to pull main disconnect under load (400 amps or so) so we were thinking to do the 15 second transfer test and then pull the disconnect so that the genny and switch will keep running. Is there a better way to do this?
ASCO 300 series 400 amp automatic transfer switch.
Funkadelicfred is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-24-2019, 11:16 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Welland, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,062
Rewards Points: 3,840
Default

Unless the genny and primary power are synced, all the loads are going to drop anyway... you are only talking 400 amps, so I guess it is not a coordinated / synchronized system.

If it is a true test, you need to duplicate what would happen in a real power failure... I suspect dropping the main is the closest to a real power failure. I assume critical loads will have a UPS momentary back-up; the issue is what happens to production when you drop the main...

If the production material can sit for a minute or two it is not an issue, but if it is like molten metal, food or some other major safety issue you cannot simulate that without issues; then again maybe nothing better to do that to see what the issues are.

I worked in a forge and we always had to drawdown our cooling water as part of the shutdown because on a hard shutdown or power failure the cooling water holding tank would overflow because the system held more water then the tank could hold... it would take us a few minutes to regain our water capacity and all the hammersmiths had to empty their indicted coils of material because the product and the coil would melt.

Cheers
John
glen1971 likes this.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Navyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 01:39 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Ontario
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 96
Default

We are testing to see how much gas it uses instead of hydro for cost sakes so it's not to simulate an outage.
Funkadelicfred is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-24-2019, 04:00 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Ontario
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 96
Default

My boss was concerned with it arcing due to the higher load
Funkadelicfred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 04:19 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: So.Cal.
Posts: 3,452
Rewards Points: 6,843
Default

This plant doesn't have a written procedure for these tests? Did you ask? Is there a syncroscope anywhere near by the Gen. brkr.?
The_Modifier likes this.
__________________
-------------------------------
~ She thinks I'm crazy, but I'm just growing old~
joebanana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 05:40 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Ontario
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 96
Default

No, there is nothing like that at the plant and no, there is no procedure. The genny operates normally during an outage but we are trying to adjust our global adjustment there by going off during peak hours and running the genny then to see how much it will save/cost.
They settled on turning the genny on for 15 minutes, then doing the transfer switch test and while it was testing, they pulled the main disconnect.
Funkadelicfred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 07:54 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta Rockies
Posts: 2,670
Rewards Points: 3,698
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkadelicfred View Post
No, there is nothing like that at the plant and no, there is no procedure. The genny operates normally during an outage but we are trying to adjust our global adjustment there by going off during peak hours and running the genny then to see how much it will save/cost.
They settled on turning the genny on for 15 minutes, then doing the transfer switch test and while it was testing, they pulled the main disconnect.
I'd get the transfer switch to initiate the test so that you know it will automatically start the generator, transfer, take the load, then transfer back and shutdown the generator after a cool down time.

I don't see the point in manually starting a generator, or not transferring the load. You haven't proved the whole logic.
micromind and stiffneck like this.
glen1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 10:00 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Ontario
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glen1971 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkadelicfred View Post
No, there is nothing like that at the plant and no, there is no procedure. The genny operates normally during an outage but we are trying to adjust our global adjustment there by going off during peak hours and running the genny then to see how much it will save/cost.
They settled on turning the genny on for 15 minutes, then doing the transfer switch test and while it was testing, they pulled the main disconnect.
I'd get the transfer switch to initiate the test so that you know it will automatically start the generator, transfer, take the load, then transfer back and shutdown the generator after a cool down time.

I don't see the point in manually starting a generator, or not transferring the load. You haven't proved the whole logic.


Yeah I don't either
glen1971 likes this.
Funkadelicfred is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Base load and contract load Vijayg General Electrical Discussion 4 06-29-2018 11:41 AM
Building Load Woodland Commercial Electrical Forum 15 01-22-2018 04:02 PM
NETA Testing Co. Looking for Several Field Techs ykavanagh Looking To Hire 1 03-24-2017 12:28 PM
Testing in oregon morg123452000 General Electrical Discussion 2 02-05-2017 12:18 PM
Testing in oregon morg123452000 General Electrical Discussion 0 02-04-2017 02:57 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com