Being Assigned as Master Electrician for Electrical Contractor in Texas - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Business > Business, Marketing, and Sales

Like Tree10Likes
  • 1 Post By J F Go
  • 1 Post By Southeast Power
  • 2 Post By TGGT
  • 2 Post By telsa
  • 1 Post By telsa
  • 1 Post By Navyguy
  • 1 Post By Chris Wendt
  • 1 Post By Chris Wendt

Old 08-09-2019, 03:11 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 8
Default Being Assigned as Master Electrician for Electrical Contractor in Texas

I am a Master Electrician in the state of Texas. I have a friend/business partner who just got his Journeyman Electrician license in Texas. He is wanting to open his own electrical business as an LLC. In order for him to be a Licensed Electrical Contractor with the state of Texas, he is needing to employ and assign a Master Electrician to his business. I am not going to be owning a percentage of this company that he is starting. I will just be an employee and the company will have me assigned as their Master Electrician. I currently own my own LLC that is 100% owned by me, that my Master Electrical License is assigned to and I am also currently employed by another electrical contractor who is not using my Master License.

What are my risks if I allow myself to be assigned as the Master Electrician for my friend's company?

Will I be liable for any reason if my friend's company fails financially, if I do not have ownership and am an employee?

Will it effect my Master License and name if their company fails and I am the assigned Master Electrician?