Electrician Talk banner

Material Markup 20% Or 10%

84K views 102 replies 48 participants last post by  readydave8 
#1 ·
Hey everybody I am a newly licensed contractor in the state of NJ in the trade 15 non-union 15 union but I'm still learning about pricing can someone please tell me the markup on material is it 20% or 10% I would appreciate it.:001_huh:

Joseph Spina
SPINA ELECTRIC

#3 ·
Hey everybody I am a newly licensed contractor in the state of NJ in the trade 15 non-union 15 union but I'm still learning about pricing can someone please tell me the markup on material is it 20% or 10% I would appreciate it.:001_huh:

Joseph Spina
SPINA ELECTRIC

You tell me.

If you bought a recessed can for $20, why would you sell it for $24, if you could sell it for $120?

How much can YOU sell that can for?

#55 ·
Are you an electrician or parts salesman? There is a point where it becomes ethically objectionable. What would you tell your friends if you had your oil changed at a place that advertised $20* and got charged $20/gal "disposal fee" after markup raising your bill to $40?
*disposal cost extra

Do realize that many customers don't even know the actual cost and exploiting this is ethically objectionable and I think its harmful to the success of your business in the long run. Also, do take into consideration that you're not the only player, so if you consistently bid the highest price, you'll consistently get turned down.

#9 ·
The second column multiplier in 480's chart contains the multipliers I use, based on the cost of each item. I don't have a hundred thousand to one million row, though. I've never sold an item that costs over a hundred grand.

#38 ·
The second column multiplier in 480's chart contains the multipliers I use, based on the cost of each item.
I think that chart is a good reference to use for materials.

I don't have a hundred thousand to one million row, though. I've never sold an item that costs over a hundred grand.