Electrician Talk banner

Moving to the US

6K views 35 replies 19 participants last post by  Wire Tags 
#1 ·
Hey,

I am a Journeyman Red seal electrician from Alberta, Canada. I am considering moving to the US (possibly Phoenix area). Has anyone gone through the process before? What are some tips to consider if I were to go through with applying for a work visa? Any information is always helpful.

thanks

#5 ·
Your question is immigration in nature. I suggest you contact your state department or the Canadian Consulate in the US or the US Consulate in Canada.

I have no idea on Journeyman policy and reciprocation in AZ but you may want to check into that too.

Bring your national health plan with you! (j/k)

Welcome to the forums.

#11 ·
This has been a humorous thread so far. I've had two pay cuts within the last 6 months so I'm used to it. Planning on calling the consulate next week to help with info as well. If things are good In the US I'd probably stay (as long as my family can too). And yes I'd like to bring my Healthcare with me but it might not be an option.

Thanks all for your suggestions. Please feel free to keep them coming

#25 ·
To Op, I started my electrical career in Phoenix. I don't know what red seal is but if it's a union thing I wouldn't worry about it. The electrical union isn't all that strong there.
Weather wise in july walking outside literally feels the same as opening am oven door. If you don't have cloth seats in your car you cannot wear shorts from April through October or you WILL have burnt thighs. Fall is nice though (there is no winter or spring...)
One last weather thing, it is not always a dry heat there. At the end of July and through August is monsoon season where moisture comes up from the ocean straight through the valley. When it is 115 degrees and it rains...It's NOT a dry heat.

Sent from my C6725 using Tapatalk

Reactions: barmet55
#26 ·