QOU breaker covers/boxes - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Site Supporter Section > Square D by Schneider Electric


Like Tree8Likes
  • 3 Post By HackWork
  • 2 Post By 360max
  • 1 Post By papaotis
  • 2 Post By HackWork
 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2016, 04:22 PM   #1
Vacated
 
Wiresmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 1,454
Rewards Points: 2,848
Default QOU breaker covers/boxes

i have been looking for a cover for a standard four-square box for a QOU breaker. does anyone have any suggestions. some background information for why i am looking for this is that i need to put individual receptacles on there own breaker and i would like to have the breaker close to the receptacle, if there is a raised cover like the ones used for standard toggle switches or some other cover for a four square box. i dont want to use the big disconect boxes if i don't need to. a cover for an fs style box would work as well. thank you, any ideas are appreciated.
Wiresmith is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-23-2016, 04:49 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 35,491
Rewards Points: 2,169
Default

I don't know of anything for a 1900 box, but what about using one of these?

QOU breaker covers/boxes-s-l1600.jpg

$14 @ http://www.homedepot.com/p/Square-D-...0SCP/100157760

You can use one breaker in each of these boxes. Or you can install 2 breakers and mount this box between 2 receptacles to save on material and labor.
HackWork is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to HackWork For This Useful Post:
Wiresmith (10-25-2016)
Old 10-24-2016, 09:49 PM   #3
Manufacturer
 
Square D_Sarah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hd13 View Post
i have been looking for a cover for a standard four-square box for a QOU breaker. does anyone have any suggestions. some background information for why i am looking for this is that i need to put individual receptacles on there own breaker and i would like to have the breaker close to the receptacle, if there is a raised cover like the ones used for standard toggle switches or some other cover for a four square box. i dont want to use the big disconect boxes if i don't need to. a cover for an fs style box would work as well. thank you, any ideas are appreciated.
Thanks for the question. I am working with our QO product team for a recommendation on a cover option. I will be post a response tomorrow.
Square D_Sarah is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-24-2016, 11:00 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
360max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 11,434
Rewards Points: 1,234
Default



http://www.sears.com/bussmann-soy-b-...2&blockType=G2
Wiresmith and splatz like this.

Last edited by 360max; 10-24-2016 at 11:02 PM.
360max is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to 360max For This Useful Post:
Wiresmith (10-25-2016)
Old 10-24-2016, 11:35 PM   #5
corn-fused
 
papaotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: on the river, near the corn
Posts: 4,769
Rewards Points: 620
Default

dont know what a QOu is ,but i think 360 has the answer
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
i like neat! just doesnt always happen
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
papaotis is offline  
Old 10-24-2016, 11:38 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
sbrn33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: middle america
Posts: 11,544
Rewards Points: 3,490
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
I don't know of anything for a 1900 box, but what about using one of these?

Attachment 94002

$14 @ http://www.homedepot.com/p/Square-D-...0SCP/100157760

You can use one breaker in each of these boxes. Or you can install 2 breakers and mount this box between 2 receptacles to save on material and labor.
Or put tandems in there and do 4???
sbrn33 is offline  
Old 10-25-2016, 12:11 AM   #7
corn-fused
 
papaotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: on the river, near the corn
Posts: 4,769
Rewards Points: 620
Default

coulda swore the op said he didnt want that big ugly box.
Wiresmith likes this.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
i like neat! just doesnt always happen
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
papaotis is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to papaotis For This Useful Post:
Wiresmith (10-25-2016)
Old 10-25-2016, 09:41 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 35,491
Rewards Points: 2,169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by papaotis View Post
dont know what a QOu is ,but i think 360 has the answer
QOU is a standalone braker like you may find bolted to the frame in a piece of equipment without a breaker enclosure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by papaotis View Post
coulda swore the op said he didnt want that big ugly box.
You would be better off going back and reading the OP instead of swearing. He did not say anything about "ugly". He mentioned not wanting a big disconnect box, but what I posted is a small enclosure that is narrower than a 4" square and only a little bit taller.
HackWork is online now  
Old 10-25-2016, 12:52 PM   #9
Manufacturer
 
Square D_Sarah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hd13 View Post
i have been looking for a cover for a standard four-square box for a QOU breaker. does anyone have any suggestions. some background information for why i am looking for this is that i need to put individual receptacles on there own breaker and i would like to have the breaker close to the receptacle, if there is a raised cover like the ones used for standard toggle switches or some other cover for a four square box. i dont want to use the big disconect boxes if i don't need to. a cover for an fs style box would work as well. thank you, any ideas are appreciated.
We unfortunately do not have QOU covers as we do not make enclosures for the QOU breakers. Using a QO2L30S with a QO breaker, will be best for this type of application.
Square D_Sarah is offline  
Old 10-25-2016, 12:54 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
sbrn33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: middle america
Posts: 11,544
Rewards Points: 3,490
Default

Oh, this is gonna get good.
sbrn33 is offline  
Old 10-25-2016, 12:58 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 35,491
Rewards Points: 2,169
Default

I think it's clear that Square D should hire me.
Service Call and Wiresmith like this.
HackWork is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to HackWork For This Useful Post:
Service Call (10-26-2016)
Old 10-25-2016, 11:36 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: saluda,s.c.
Posts: 1,024
Rewards Points: 660
Default

:vs_lol::vs_lol::vs_lol:
Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
I think it's clear that Square D should hire me.
circuitman1 is offline  
 


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creating a "service call kit" for your second truck HackWork Business, Marketing, and Sales 41 04-07-2017 01:12 PM
AFC breaker Tripping? Darg87 Canadian Electrical Forum 10 05-29-2016 11:18 PM
what is the differences between inverse time circuit breaker and regular breaker? mike883 General Electrical Discussion 17 05-22-2016 04:47 PM
Troubleshooting a tripped breaker? JasonCo General Electrical Discussion 16 04-24-2016 05:31 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com