How do YOU choose a new multimeter? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > Featured Articles


Like Tree15Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2018, 10:57 AM   #1
Administrator
 
Cricket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Texas Strong
Posts: 3,115
Rewards Points: 5,926
Default How do YOU choose a new multimeter?

How do YOU choose a new multimeter?-multimeter-lge.jpg


Quote:
Among the many tools in an electrical contractor’s arsenal, the digital multimeter is probably one of the most useful. In addition to the usual ohms, volts, and amps, it measures parameters that include capacitance, frequency and temperature. Choosing a multimeter may have been an easier procedure when analog versions were the only types available, but technology has been moving at a fast pace. So, as with any useful tool, the market is flooded with a wide range of models. Some are pretty basic, but others are loaded with all the bells and whistles. 8 Tips for Choosing a Multimeter
How do YOU choose a new multimeter?
__________________
"Show respect even to people who don’t deserve it, not as
a reflection of their character, but as a reflection of yours."
Cricket is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-04-2018, 11:13 AM   #2
Moderator
 
John Valdes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 15,567
Rewards Points: 2,744
Default

f l u k e
MTW and B-Nabs like this.
John Valdes is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 11:14 AM   #3
Russian Bot
 
Helmut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: THE United States Of America
Posts: 3,435
Rewards Points: 3,751
Default

Needs.

Some meters are graphical, some are plain jane, some are combined with an amprobe, ect.

So yeah, based upon need for me.
__________________
Alright, Alright, Alright... I'll tell you what to do. Go that way, reeeeeeeeeally fast. If something gets in your way......turn.
Helmut is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-04-2018, 11:20 AM   #4
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 26,766
Rewards Points: 15,879
Default

I don't make the choice. The person at Harbor Freight who puts all that stuff in the $10 dollar sale bin is the one who makes the decision for me.
brian john, QMED and gpop like this.
__________________
Thought for the Day: President Trump is the first sitting U.S. president to EVER step foot in North Korea... Obama got a Nobel Peace Prize for being black.
macmikeman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 11:24 AM   #5
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 58,937
Rewards Points: 278
Default

I go to the Fluke site and look for the meter that fits the measurements I want to take and then check out the specs for ranges and accuracy I desire.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 11:24 AM   #6
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 20,984
Rewards Points: 1,421
Default

I usually check the clearance racks first, but they hardly ever have them in my size there.
brian john and sparkiez like this.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 11:24 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
MotoGP1199's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: CA
Posts: 161
Rewards Points: 287
Default

Definitely needs. My newest meter is a Fluke 1587. I needed a meter that had frequency filter for drives and I needed a megger. 1587 fit the bill perfect. It was cheaper(its a fluke so its not really that cheap) than buying both seperate and I only have to carry one meter for most of my needs.
MotoGP1199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 08:29 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
QMED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Seattle
Posts: 137
Rewards Points: 276
Default

Fluke ftw although I did buy an Amprobe PRM-6 because fluke doesn't offer a phase/motor rotation meter, it's a great piece of equipment.
QMED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 08:33 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Midwest
Posts: 876
Rewards Points: 1,514
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QMED View Post
Fluke ftw although I did buy an Amprobe PRM-6 because fluke doesn't offer a phase/motor rotation meter, it's a great piece of equipment.
While it is not a dedicated rotation meter I think the Fluke T Plus Pro does have that function.
QMED likes this.
bill39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 08:51 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
MotoGP1199's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: CA
Posts: 161
Rewards Points: 287
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QMED View Post
Fluke ftw although I did buy an Amprobe PRM-6 because fluke doesn't offer a phase/motor rotation meter, it's a great piece of equipment.

Fluke 9040 Phase rotation indicator

http://en-us.fluke.com/products/elec...indicator.html
Attached Thumbnails
How do YOU choose a new multimeter?-4d7ccce5-12c5-4c24-89d5-176060fd6890.jpeg  

QMED likes this.
MotoGP1199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 09:03 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
QMED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Seattle
Posts: 137
Rewards Points: 276
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MotoGP1199 View Post
Fluke 9040 Phase rotation indicator

http://en-us.fluke.com/products/elec...indicator.html
Quote:
Fluke ftw although I did buy an Amprobe PRM-6 because fluke doesn't offer a phase/motor rotation meter, it's a great piece of equipment.
QMED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 09:05 AM   #12
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 20,984
Rewards Points: 1,421
Default

I still use the old-school Knopp rotation meter. It has never let me down, and I haven't had to change the batteries in at least 30 years. It works on VFD secondaries also. I'm not sure if the digital ones do or not.
QMED likes this.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 09:08 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
QMED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Seattle
Posts: 137
Rewards Points: 276
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDShunk View Post
I still use the old-school Knopp rotation meter. It has never let me down, and I haven't had to change the batteries in at least 30 years. It works on VFD secondaries also. I'm not sure if the digital ones do or not.
You must keep it in the fridge when you're not using it
QMED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 09:10 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
QMED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Seattle
Posts: 137
Rewards Points: 276
Default

I bought a fluke T150 just because I liked the form factor even though I already have a T+Pro haha.
QMED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 10:10 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
canbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Just North of Calgary
Posts: 767
Rewards Points: 1,510
Default

Don't overbuy your meter. I think Fluke is the way to go but get one that fits your needs not your wants.
I bought a cheaper digital and it didn't work well at all for the job, controls. It was stolen out of my truck and then I went shopping for a good meter.

Tim
QMED likes this.
canbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 10:19 AM   #16
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 20,984
Rewards Points: 1,421
Default

I've fixed 90% of things for the last 10-15 years with a simple T5.
QMED likes this.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MDShunk For This Useful Post:
Dan the electricman (11-25-2018)
Old 04-05-2018, 07:30 PM   #17
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 8,970
Rewards Points: 864
Default

I bought a 28II because the 189 would die in the rain while working outside on generators. For much of the regular electrical work, it’s a Knopp tester and a non contact pen.
nrp3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 08:42 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Rora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 342
Rewards Points: 680
Default

Something that achieves the stuff you do 95% of the time, then balance how well it does with the other 5% vs. cost and size.

Something that does everything by itself without doing everything poorly, is worth extra cost to me.

High standard of accuracy. Although it's unlikely having an extra .1% is going to make or break you, but having good stats across the board helps increase confidence that what you're seeing is what's really going on.
__________________
Self-confidence isn't 1000V rated.
Rora is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 09:02 PM   #19
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 20,984
Rewards Points: 1,421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rora View Post
Something that achieves the stuff you do 95% of the time, then balance how well it does with the other 5% vs. cost and size.

Something that does everything by itself without doing everything poorly, is worth extra cost to me.

High standard of accuracy. Although it's unlikely having an extra .1% is going to make or break you, but having good stats across the board helps increase confidence that what you're seeing is what's really going on.
Pretty much why I like the T5. When that can't get it done I'll dust off something more expensive.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 09:27 PM   #20
MTW
Senior Member
 
MTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 14,372
Rewards Points: 7,884
Default

I'll use anything as long as it says "Sperry" on it.
MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Snapon Auto-Range Multimeter - Question maciag Tools, Equipment and New Products 5 02-08-2018 11:28 AM
Multimeter & Automotive O2 sensor heater coil theForce General Electrical Discussion 1 01-03-2018 02:18 PM
interesting question: will the multimeter blow? mike883 General Electrical Discussion 25 08-04-2016 10:09 AM
Need help on Analog Multimeter Mikebro Tools, Equipment and New Products 6 05-17-2016 10:46 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com