#10 solid in conduit - Page 3 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2010, 08:12 PM   #41
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cape Coral Florida
Posts: 372
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by varmit View Post
Years ago, solid wire was used on almost everything up to and including #10. Stranded use was mostly for motor circuits as it is not a good idea to use crimp lugs on solid wire. Terminating motors with wirenuts was usually a "get run off" offense.

Before THHN became the default wire of choice, we used solid TW pulled from the center of a cardboard box. This was not fun to pull, especially #10, as the wire pulled out of the box like a big long 500 foot spring. Pulling solid or stranded THHN off of a roll that can revolve around a piece of pipe is easy compared to the old ways.

I guess all this means that I am old enough to remember history.

In actual fact, solid copper wire came in #8 and 3 # 8 rw solid in 3/4" emt was the most difficult wire pull imaginable, this was before EZpull ! Ah for the good old days, BillW.
wwilson174 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-25-2010, 08:20 PM   #42
Senior Member
 
Podagrower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Central Fl
Posts: 1,323
Rewards Points: 568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Voltech View Post
Is the insulation getting nicks or if that clear coating over the insulation?

I would use solid #10 or #12 over stranded any day. Its faster to install IMO.
The clear coating, but if it wasn't important, they wouldn't put it on the wire...
Podagrower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 08:41 PM   #43
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NASA
Posts: 7,525
Rewards Points: 2,050
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Podagrower View Post
The clear coating, but if it wasn't important, they wouldn't put it on the wire...
I have read that is THHNs gasoline and oil resistant part.

Someone had posted the UL testing standards and when they do the dielectric testing they strip the plastic off.
Bob Badger is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-25-2010, 08:43 PM   #44
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 20,984
Rewards Points: 6,421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Badger View Post
I have read that is THHNs gasoline and oil resistant part.

Someone had posted the UL testing standards and when they do the dielectric testing they strip the plastic off.
The nylon outer covering is completely optional anyhow. It is allowable to make THHN without the nylon outer covering. I think that's a footnote in table 310-something-or-other.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.

Last edited by MDShunk; 04-25-2010 at 08:47 PM.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 09:08 PM   #45
Les Voltage
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: MS
Posts: 907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Podagrower View Post
The clear coating, but if it wasn't important, they wouldn't put it on the wire...
Its never important when I use it...
Voltech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2010, 04:42 PM   #46
Senior Member
 
220/221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,642
Rewards Points: 4,056
Default

Quote:
Why do they make it then!?
Because they are morons too.

The world is ful of them.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2010, 04:44 PM   #47
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 39,118
Rewards Points: 6,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDShunk View Post
The nylon outer covering is completely optional anyhow. It is allowable to make THHN without the nylon outer covering. I think that's a footnote in table 310-something-or-other.
Table 310.13(A). Note 1 states "Some insulations do not require an outer covering."

But T310.13(A) states THHN has an outer covering of "Nylon jacket or equivilant".
__________________
I'm 480Sparky, and I approved this message.
480sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2010, 04:47 PM   #48
Fried Bologna um um good!
 
jwjrw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: nc
Posts: 8,094
Default

I pull whatever I get the best price on or whatever I have left laying around. I would rather terminate solid but stranded is easier to pull.
__________________
The more I learn the less I seem to know......
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jwjrw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 02:41 AM   #49
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Northern California
Posts: 122
Rewards Points: 75
Default

ok how do you hold onto #10 while twisting it? I'm having trouble holding it firm. I tried holding it together with smooth jaw pliers but it still pinched the insulation.
Conduit Phil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 09:12 AM   #50
Senior Member
 
JohnR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: here
Posts: 2,416
Default

In schools or on some commercial jobs the architect specs solid up to 10 here in CT.
After struggling with pulling a bunch of long runs with #10 in a 1"C. Job was 1.3 mil Sq ft. so there was plenty of it.
I finally got a chance to ask one of the architect's engineers why they made such a ridiculous requirement. His answer was that a splice made with solid and wirenuts was the only splice rated for 25 years without failing. what a joke.

Correct me if I am wrong, but isn't the clear coating that gets DEstroyed part of the W in THWN? so if it is underground then just in pulling it in, we have ruined the rating if it is scraped?
__________________
Signed out.
JohnR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 12:15 PM   #51
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Northern California
Posts: 122
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnR View Post
In schools or on some commercial jobs the architect specs solid up to 10 here in CT.
After struggling with pulling a bunch of long runs with #10 in a 1"C. Job was 1.3 mil Sq ft. so there was plenty of it.
I finally got a chance to ask one of the architect's engineers why they made such a ridiculous requirement. His answer was that a splice made with solid and wirenuts was the only splice rated for 25 years without failing. what a joke.

Correct me if I am wrong, but isn't the clear coating that gets DEstroyed part of the W in THWN? so if it is underground then just in pulling it in, we have ruined the rating if it is scraped?
I don't have that much experience with stranded, but any time I've made a splice with it, it doesn't seem as solid as well, solid. Solid will twist around each other and hold its shape. How do you get stranded to do that? Theres no pre-twisting with stranded, is there?
Conduit Phil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 01:14 PM   #52
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnR View Post
I
I finally got a chance to ask one of the architect's engineers why they made such a ridiculous requirement. His answer was that a splice made with solid and wirenuts was the only splice rated for 25 years without failing. what a joke.
When I hear stuff like that, it makes me want a requirement that building wiring engineers get some kind of practical instruction on wiring practice as part of their degree, or do an internship with an electrical contractor, maybe even put some tools on and do some work! It would go a long way towards eliminating silly specs like that.
Fusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 01:18 PM   #53
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NASA
Posts: 7,525
Rewards Points: 2,050
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnR View Post
Correct me if I am wrong, but isn't the clear coating that gets DEstroyed part of the W in THWN? so if it is underground then just in pulling it in, we have ruined the rating if it is scraped?
As far as I know UL strips the plastic of when doing their dielectric testing on THHN.

The plastic outer is part of the Gasoline and oil resistance rating not the wet location rating.
Bob Badger is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bob Badger For This Useful Post:
JohnR (05-16-2010)
Old 05-14-2010, 03:42 PM   #54
Square D
 
david wise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Philadelphia, Pa.
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Just had to pull out 300ft. #10 solid out of underground pipe for our parking lot lights. Repulled with strainded. I always TRY to pull strainded when possible. Solid 10 strips easily though
david wise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 07:43 PM   #55
Senior Member
 
brian john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gilbert's Corner VA
Posts: 29,989
Rewards Points: 1,750
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparks134 View Post
I've never seen it before, must be a beeaatch to pull in conduit!
You ever pulled 750 kcmil copper?
__________________
Ah, but I was so much older then, I'm younger than that now
brian john is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to brian john For This Useful Post:
sparky970 (02-25-2014)
Old 05-14-2010, 07:45 PM   #56
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brian john View Post
You ever pulled 750 kcmil copper?
Nope, never. Don't care if I never do either. I saw it on a reel once in a warehouse and decided right then and there that it was evil.
Fusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 10:15 PM   #57
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cape Coral Florida
Posts: 372
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brian john View Post
You ever pulled 750 kcmil copper?



The biggest cable I ever pulled was 1500mcm PILC 15KV , I have a piece of it on my work bench as a souvenir! I ran some exposed 2000mcm on another project but it was not in conduit. I don't have any of that cable but I have one of the lugs ! Ahhh --memories!
wwilson174 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 10:25 PM   #58
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: US
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fusion View Post
Nope, never. Don't care if I never do either. I saw it on a reel once in a warehouse and decided right then and there that it was evil.
Why not? Wrestling big wire is more manly.


Yes, my e-penis is longer than yours.
Fission is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 10:33 PM   #59
Senior Member
 
brian john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gilbert's Corner VA
Posts: 29,989
Rewards Points: 1,750
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wwilson174 View Post
The biggest cable I ever pulled was 1500mcm PILC 15KV , I have a piece of it on my work bench as a souvenir! I ran some exposed 2000mcm on another project but it was not in conduit. I don't have any of that cable but I have one of the lugs ! Ahhh --memories!
1000 kcmil was the biggest I have worked with.
__________________
Ah, but I was so much older then, I'm younger than that now
brian john is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 12:19 PM   #60
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 872
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brian john View Post
You ever pulled 750 kcmil copper?
Paralell runs of 4/750kmcm Tech90 in a grid ceiling
Mike_586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stranded or solid 12 awg wire? calimurray General Electrical Discussion 99 06-16-2014 01:23 AM
good solid 10 in 1 (Ideal) bduerler Tools, Equipment and New Products 7 10-22-2009 01:04 AM
why solid bonding conductor te12co2w NEC Code Forum 34 03-02-2009 09:55 AM
Solid State Relay simmo General Electrical Discussion 9 09-15-2008 01:30 PM
Solid Fuel Heating Mountain Electrician Off Topic (Non Trade) 4 04-29-2008 08:54 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com