1000 watt dimmer - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2010, 10:16 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: va
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default 1000 watt dimmer

Has anybody seen a 1000 watt dimmer that will fit in a 3gang box with 2 other switches. Or does it need its own box.The ones ive seen are the ones that have the fins on them for cooling . Might be to late roughed in and dry wall up.
hot wire is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-01-2010, 10:18 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default Joe

Put a tandem switch in left side of box, leave middle open, then dimmer. We use a rotozip and cut back of box out for extra cooling as well.
GitRDoneElectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 10:19 PM   #3
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 39,118
Rewards Points: 6,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GitRDoneElectric View Post
.........We use a rotozip and cut back of box out for extra cooling as well.

I hope this is an April Fools' joke.
__________________
I'm 480Sparky, and I approved this message.
480sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-01-2010, 10:19 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: kentucky
Posts: 12,412
Rewards Points: 5,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hot wire View Post
Has anybody seen a 1000 watt dimmer that will fit in a 3gang box with 2 other switches. Or does it need its own box.The ones ive seen are the ones that have the fins on them for cooling . Might be to late roughed in and dry wall up.
What kind of wattage are you dimming? Does it HAVE to be that large?
RIVETER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 10:20 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default bob

shhh, we have 2 hrs left....
GitRDoneElectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 10:21 PM   #6
Licensed Journeyman
 
nolabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greater New Orleans area
Posts: 5,880
Rewards Points: 2,028
Default

Last dimmers I installed were 2000 watts, we did not cut the back of the box out.
__________________
“Dammit, Smithers, this isn’t rocket science, it’s brain surgery!”
nolabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 10:24 PM   #7
child please.....
 
NolaTigaBait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hack City, USA aka New Orleans
Posts: 5,311
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nolabama View Post
Last dimmers I installed were 2000 watts, we did not cut the back of the box out.
Yeah, they have cooling fins on them....They stick out a little...I've never had a problem with them not fitting....Maybe derate one side of the switch or go up to a 1500...
NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 10:26 PM   #8
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 20,984
Rewards Points: 1,421
Default

They'll fit in a box with regular switches with the fins on them. Not sure I follow your reasoning for wanting to break them off if the other switches are just switches and not dimmers.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 10:27 PM   #9
child please.....
 
NolaTigaBait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hack City, USA aka New Orleans
Posts: 5,311
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDShunk View Post
They'll fit in a box with regular switches with the fins on them. Not sure I follow your reasoning for wanting to break them off if the other switches are just switches and not dimmers.
Yeah, I've never had a problem with them fitting either...I'm also a great mechanic, so that may be why.
NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 10:39 PM   #10
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 20,984
Rewards Points: 1,421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NolaTigaBait View Post
Yeah, I've never had a problem with them fitting either...I'm also a great mechanic, so that may be why.
You mean you do tune-ups and rebuild carburetors too?
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 10:43 PM   #11
child please.....
 
NolaTigaBait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hack City, USA aka New Orleans
Posts: 5,311
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDShunk View Post
You mean you do tune-ups and rebuild carburetors too?
Yeah, I used to work on lawnmowers...But, I also consider myself a "mechanic"...A mechanic that can actually read, write and can understand algebra. Oh, yeah did I mention I'm also a college graduate...I'm kinda like a renaisaance man like Ben Franklin, minus the syphylis thing.
NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 10:46 PM   #12
Licensed Journeyman
 
nolabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greater New Orleans area
Posts: 5,880
Rewards Points: 2,028
Default

The 2000 watt lutron nova series needs its own two gang box, but the 1000 watters should give you no problems.
__________________
“Dammit, Smithers, this isn’t rocket science, it’s brain surgery!”
nolabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 10:48 PM   #13
child please.....
 
NolaTigaBait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hack City, USA aka New Orleans
Posts: 5,311
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nolabama View Post
The 2000 watt lutron nova series needs its own two gang box, but the 1000 watters should give you no problems.
The last one I installed (2000 watt lutron) could be used in a 1 or 2 gang box...
NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 10:49 PM   #14
Spark
 
Marcus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 620
Rewards Points: 504
Default

hey mate you could try a DIN mount 1000W dimmer to fit in the switchboard - but then you would have to run the switchwire and switched loop to the light back to the board. maybe too late if the plaster is already up, hey.
Marcus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 10:50 PM   #15
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 20,984
Rewards Points: 1,421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NolaTigaBait View Post
The last one I installed (2000 watt lutron) could be used in a 1 or 2 gang box...
Yeah, I can't say that I've ever used a dimmer in the 2000 watt range that "must" have a 2-gang box. They seem to all come with holes to mount them on either a 1 or 2 gang box. I generally set a single-gang, since they don't cover a whole lot around a 2-gang box... gives the sheetrockers some margin of error.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 11:07 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
220/221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,625
Rewards Points: 4,022
Default

We install 1000 watt dimmers all the time. They are the same size as a 600 watt dimmer.

They do get hot though. It's probaby our #1 complaint.

You do have to break the tabs to install them next to a decora switch. That knocks the rating down to....????? 940???

Quote:
The ones ive seen are the ones that have the fins on them for cooling .
Old school!

Found this in my warehouse a couple years ago, still in the box.




Last edited by 220/221; 04-01-2010 at 11:45 PM.
220/221 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 12:08 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
danickstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: LA valley
Posts: 931
Rewards Points: 568
Default

lutron makes 1000w and 600w dimmers standard. should not be a problem. they just fit in a regular 1 gang. most of their line comes 1000w or 600w depending on what you want to pay, what you need.
danickstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 08:35 AM   #18
Licensed Journeyman
 
nolabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greater New Orleans area
Posts: 5,880
Rewards Points: 2,028
Default

That cooling fin dimmer that 220/221 is what i am talking about. I guess I should have said it will fit in a single gang box but 2 will not fit in a 2 gang box.
__________________
“Dammit, Smithers, this isn’t rocket science, it’s brain surgery!”
nolabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 09:24 PM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: va
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

whats the deal with some of yalls replys i ask if a 1000 watt dimmer would fit in a 3 gang box with 2 other switches.
hot wire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 09:26 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: kentucky
Posts: 12,412
Rewards Points: 5,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hot wire View Post
whats the deal with some of yalls replys i ask if a 1000 watt dimmer would fit in a 3 gang box with 2 other switches.
Yes!!!
RIVETER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
T-Bays versus 1000 watt High bays garfield General Electrical Discussion 1 03-17-2010 09:10 PM
Fluke T5-1000 cdnelectrician General Electrical Discussion 20 01-23-2009 02:00 PM
Fluke T5-1000 iAmCam Tools, Equipment and New Products 26 11-28-2008 04:36 PM
can i run an 1800 watt a/c unit on an extension cord? jmatthews General Electrical Discussion 1 07-14-2008 05:41 AM
Anybody else use the Condrive 1000?? NC_Electrician Tools, Equipment and New Products 3 04-03-2007 08:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com