1000 watt dimmer - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2010, 09:26 PM   #21
Licensed Journeyman
 
nolabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greater New Orleans area
Posts: 5,880
Rewards Points: 2,028
Default

we were being april fooley
__________________
“Dammit, Smithers, this isn’t rocket science, it’s brain surgery!”
nolabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-02-2010, 09:27 PM   #22
child please.....
 
NolaTigaBait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hack City, USA aka New Orleans
Posts: 5,311
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hot wire View Post
whats the deal with some of yalls replys i ask if a 1000 watt dimmer would fit in a 3 gang box with 2 other switches.
Are they standard switches?....If so, then YES they will....I've never had a problem...I believe that several people have said so.
NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 09:27 PM   #23
NJ-IEC
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 14,387
Rewards Points: 424
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hot wire View Post
Has anybody seen a 1000 watt dimmer that will fit in a 3gang box with 2 other switches. Or does it need its own box.The ones ive seen are the ones that have the fins on them for cooling . Might be to late roughed in and dry wall up.
I think for a 1,000 watt dimmer w/o fins in a 3-gang box is good for less than 800 watts.
__________________
Replies based on NEC 2014
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-02-2010, 09:28 PM   #24
Licensed Journeyman
 
nolabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greater New Orleans area
Posts: 5,880
Rewards Points: 2,028
Default

just dont cut the back of the box out

and remember if it is a 2000 watt it will fit but the other two switches will not
__________________
“Dammit, Smithers, this isn’t rocket science, it’s brain surgery!”
nolabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 09:32 PM   #25
child please.....
 
NolaTigaBait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hack City, USA aka New Orleans
Posts: 5,311
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nolabama View Post
just dont cut the back of the box out

and remember if it is a 2000 watt it will fit but the other two switches will not
That's how they do it in Chalmette
NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to NolaTigaBait For This Useful Post:
nolabama (04-02-2010)
Old 04-02-2010, 11:22 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: florida
Posts: 1,045
Rewards Points: 500
Default

absolutley, (dont cut back of box)!!
rnr electric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 11:44 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
220/221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,625
Rewards Points: 4,022
Default

Cut the top out. Heat rises.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 12:30 AM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: California
Posts: 629
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Here's a ganging chart from Lutron:

http://www.lutron.com/product_technical/ganging.asp

A diva (for instance) will have difficulty fitting between Decora switches. When you break off a side, you derate. For a Diva, one side removed makes it a 800 watt dimmer, two sides removed an it's a 650 watt.

So to answer the original poster's question, it depends on the type of dimmer and type of switch you are using.

I had a customer ask about a hot dimmer and found that the installer had broken off both sides when mounting it at end of a three gang. In the end, I changed all the lamps in a large chandelier to lower the load. They never used the fixture full bright anyway.

Last edited by egads; 04-03-2010 at 12:33 AM.
egads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 07:57 AM   #29
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: va
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

what the guy is trying to find is a 1000 watt 3 way dimmer.And the 2 other switches that are in the same box is 3 ways also.The dimmer is on 13 6 inch recess cans that goes around the room THE 600 watt dimmer he put in is hot as fire i told him 13x75 is more that 600. but every thing is roughed in and dry walled. Why do the 1000 watt dimmers get hot to are you talking hot or warm to the touch.hot wouldnt be good.
hot wire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 09:41 AM   #30
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 21,155
Rewards Points: 1,314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hot wire View Post
Has anybody seen a 1000 watt dimmer that will fit in a 3gang box with 2 other switches. Or does it need its own box.The ones ive seen are the ones that have the fins on them for cooling . Might be to late roughed in and dry wall up.
Lutron's Ariadni or diva style dimmers come in 1000 watt and look exactly like the 600 watt units and fits with other switches.



Quote:
Multi-Unit Installations
When combining controls in a wallbox, remove all inner side sections prior to wiring (see below).
Use pliers to bend side section up and down until it breaks off. Repeat for each side section to be
removed. Reduction of dimmer capacity is also required. Refer to chart below for maximum
dimmer capacity.
I am not sure what this means but it appears you need to derate even if you don't break the tabs, say, in a 3 gang install.


Quote:
Model Number No sides removed 1 side removed 2 sides removed
AY-600P / TG-600P 600W max. 500W max. 400W max.
AY-10P / TG-10P 1000W max. 800W max. 650W max.
AYLV-600P 600VA/450W max. 500VA/375W max. 400VA/300W max.
I only break off tabs if necessary. If that is the only dimmer in the box then you won't need to remove the tabs
__________________
They say I shot a man named Gray and took his wife to Italy
She inherited a million bucks and when she died it came to me
I can't help it if I'm lucky

Last edited by Dennis Alwon; 04-03-2010 at 09:48 AM.
Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 11:25 AM   #31
Senior Member
 
220/221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,625
Rewards Points: 4,022
Default

Quote:
what the guy is trying to find is a 1000 watt 3 way dimmer.
no problem


Quote:
And the 2 other switches that are in the same box is 3 ways also.
problem. You will need to break a tab and lose the 1000 watt capacity.

Quote:
The dimmer is on 13 6 inch recess cans that goes around the room
THE 600 watt dimmer he put in is hot as fire i told him 13x75 is more that 600. but every thing is roughed in and dry walled.
He should have done the math at rough in

Quote:
Why do the 1000 watt dimmers get hot to are you talking hot or warm to the touch.hot wouldnt be good.
Why does your plasma TV get hot? Probably the same reason. They WILL get hot. VERY hot if fully loaded.


Just pull the 3gang box out, add another switch leg and split the cans up in a logical manner.


If you want to half ass it, lose the 75 watt lamps. If they are R 30's, change to 50 watt par 30 halogen. The light will seem brighter but the wattage will be dropped by 33%

If the are already par 30's, change them to 50's and hope the HO doesn't notice.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 02:00 PM   #32
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: California
Posts: 629
Rewards Points: 500
Default

On the Lutron site, they suggest adding a single gang box adjacent to the existing and connecting them with a chase nipple. That would move the hot 1000watt to it's own area.

In the case I cited above, the homeowner also had some arcing in the 3 way at the other end. So lowering the load was a big part of my solution.

I speculate that the switches are Decora. In that case both a derated 1000w dimmer (to 850) AND lowering the recess wattage are necessary.

Now let's hope the original electrician accounted for the heavy lighting load. If not, there is some very hot #14 romex in the walls as well.
egads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 02:20 PM   #33
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 39,118
Rewards Points: 6,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
......He should have done the math at rough in .......
Some times you do, but the HO changes their minds once things are trimmed out.

More than once I've gone 'round and 'round with a HO about dimmers, and they flat-out don't want them. Until, of course, after the walls are all finished.

I pre-empt this by running more than one switch leg to the switch box.
__________________
I'm 480Sparky, and I approved this message.
480sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
T-Bays versus 1000 watt High bays garfield General Electrical Discussion 1 03-17-2010 09:10 PM
Fluke T5-1000 cdnelectrician General Electrical Discussion 20 01-23-2009 02:00 PM
Fluke T5-1000 iAmCam Tools, Equipment and New Products 26 11-28-2008 04:36 PM
can i run an 1800 watt a/c unit on an extension cord? jmatthews General Electrical Discussion 1 07-14-2008 05:41 AM
Anybody else use the Condrive 1000?? NC_Electrician Tools, Equipment and New Products 3 04-03-2007 08:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com