208V receptacle and 120V receptacle - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Like Tree24Likes
  • 4 Post By telsa
  • 2 Post By Bird dog
  • 7 Post By MechanicalDVR
  • 2 Post By Greg Sparkovich
  • 3 Post By Majewski
  • 1 Post By ejon1801
  • 3 Post By frenchelectrican
  • 2 Post By Speedy Petey
Closed Thread

Old 03-12-2017, 06:31 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 14
Default 208V receptacle and 120V receptacle

Hello everyone:

Before I ask the question, I want everyone to know I am NOT an electrician and I do not have the experience. This is due to the fact that this may seem like a fairly easy question.

Im want to install a 208V receptacle and some 120V receptacles in the same room/building. From the breaker panel, I "believe" I will use double pole 20A breaker for the 208V receptacle and for the 120V I will use 15A single pole breaker . From what I've researched, the 120V receptacle will need only one hot , one neutral, and one ground conductors. However, the 208V receptacle will need (two) hots , one ground, and one neutral. My question is what is it about the double pole breaker that allow one to bring two hots to the 208V receptacle? Will the breaker panel require a main breaker since I have these two different types of receptacles OR it doesnt matter? Finally are these values correct for what Im trying to do? Again, Im not experienced, even though this maybe a fairly simple question. Thanks in advance
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!