208Vac to 120Vac Industrial Control transformer? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2015, 07:52 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 6
Default 208Vac to 120Vac Industrial Control transformer?

Hello, I've got a question about an 'Industrial Control Transformer'.
There's an elevator which is fed from a 120/208Vac panel, with a 60 amp 3 phase disconnect in between. The 3 phases come in and feed the motor circuit. From the top of that circuit, two lines tap off and go to 2 - 1.6A fuses and then to the 0.15kVA - 208Vac to 120Vac 'Industrial Control Transformer'. (which is single phase)
Anyone have an idea why on earth the installers didn't just bring a 15amp line to neutral circuit from the panel to the 1.6amp fuses to feed the control circuit? Is it an elevator code situation where the entire system must be able to be de-energized with one disconnect? That's all I can really think of.
unlucky.break is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-07-2015, 08:06 PM   #2
Senile Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 373
Rewards Points: 1,298
Default

Yes, the disconnect shuts off everything so you don't have to find a breaker to also shut off if you pulled in a separate 120 ckt.
Mich drew is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mich drew For This Useful Post:
glen1971 (02-13-2015)
Old 02-12-2015, 01:38 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Thank you for confirming my suspicions Mich.
unlucky.break is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-12-2015, 02:32 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 1,483
Rewards Points: 2,080
Default

they just didn't run a 4 wire cable, they could have run the 60 amp with a neutral then 1 leg go to a control fuse, no need for separate 120v circuit.
oliquir is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 03:07 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
just the cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Colorado Springs Colorado
Posts: 1,725
Rewards Points: 148
Default Maybe 240 volt also

The elevator may have dual voltage ratings 480 volt or 240 volt, then they would need the xformer so they probilaly build them all the same.
__________________
A cowboy may get thrown down, but he always gets up and walks forward and don't look back at what thru him.
just the cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 03:11 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Western Kentucky
Posts: 522
Rewards Points: 1,004
Default

....
xpertpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 08:53 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Eighty Four,Pa.15330
Posts: 7,985
Rewards Points: 1,464
Default

We can only bring power to the elevator room and the Otis guys take it from there. Usually 480 3 and a 120 fusible disconnect for cab lights.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bobelectric For This Useful Post:
glen1971 (02-13-2015), Shockdoc (02-13-2015)
Old 02-13-2015, 01:44 PM   #8
felonious smile.
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 15,934
Rewards Points: 572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
We can only bring power to the elevator room and the Otis guys take it from there. Usually 480 3 and a 120 fusible disconnect for cab lights.
On my end they want a second 120 volt circuit ran through the disconnect for service gfci receptacles in machine room and shaft.
__________________
Clean this mess up before we all end up in jail, the test tubes and the scale. Just get it all out of here. Is there gas in the car?
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best U.S. City for Entry into Field of Industrial Control Systems. theForce PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls 6 06-10-2014 11:44 PM
Convert UPS Output Power Jack from 208vAC to 120vAC Question newbDan General Electrical Discussion 5 07-30-2013 06:59 PM
Industrial Control Work Chat42 New Member Introductions 10 05-14-2012 06:40 PM
Insurance for doing industrial control work. Sparkee Business, Marketing, and Sales 6 07-20-2011 11:33 PM
Industrial Control Panels - Installation michelebacocchia NEC Code Forum 16 08-26-2010 10:25 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com