225.39 (d) - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-19-2012, 09:47 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 864
Rewards Points: 508
Default 225.39 (d)

I am going to run a feeder out for a sub panel in a detached garage. I want to run a 50 amp circuit which is fine as long as the disconnect means in the sub panel is a 60 amp breaker. Correct?
Gamit is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-19-2012, 10:10 PM   #2
Chairman of the Bored
 
BuzzKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 9,779
Rewards Points: 2,540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamit View Post
I am going to run a feeder out for a sub panel in a detached garage. I want to run a 50 amp circuit which is fine as long as the disconnect means in the sub panel is a 60 amp breaker. Correct?
uh, no..the 50 amp circuit needs a 50 amp breaker in the main panel..you can put a 200 amp disco outside, but the feeder should be rated at 50 amps.
__________________
I'd rather be sleeping.
BuzzKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 10:15 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 864
Rewards Points: 508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuzzKill

uh, no..the 50 amp circuit needs a 50 amp breaker in the main panel..you can put a 200 amp disco outside, but the feeder should be rated at 50 amps.
That's what I was implying. It could be number 8 wire protected by a 40 Amp circuit and with at least three branch circuits it would need at least a 60 Amp disconnect in sub panel.
Gamit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-19-2012, 10:21 PM   #4
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,205
Rewards Points: 170
Default

Why the 60? You could have back fed 40 with a hold down kit.
nrp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 10:24 PM   #5
Chairman of the Bored
 
BuzzKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 9,779
Rewards Points: 2,540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamit View Post
That's what I was implying. It could be number 8 wire protected by a 40 Amp circuit and with at least three branch circuits it would need at least a 60 Amp disconnect in sub panel.
you're losing me..
__________________
I'd rather be sleeping.
BuzzKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 10:26 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 864
Rewards Points: 508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrp3
Why the 60? You could have back fed 40 with a hold down kit.
That's what the article requires that when you have three or more branch circuits on a detached structure the disconnecting means must be rated at a minimum of 60 Amps.
Gamit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 10:28 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 864
Rewards Points: 508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuzzKill

you're losing me..
How?
Gamit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 10:34 PM   #8
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,205
Rewards Points: 170
Default

So what you are saying is that's what 225 39 calls for? I'll drag the book out in the morning.
nrp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 10:37 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 864
Rewards Points: 508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrp3
So what you are saying is that's what 225 39 calls for? I'll drag the book out in the morning.
That's the whole reason for post to confirm. But yes
Gamit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 10:40 PM   #10
ET rocks
 
3xdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 2,875
Rewards Points: 2,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamit View Post
I am going to run a feeder out for a sub panel in a detached garage. I want to run a 50 amp circuit which is fine as long as the disconnect means in the sub panel is a 60 amp breaker. Correct?
Think of it like this, as long as the rating of your disconnect (not breaker) is not less than 60 amp. You could run your 50A feeder and land in a 100A rated MLO panel with no more than 6 throws if you want.

Keep in mind you are feeding a separate structure and need an electrode.
__________________
Too soon, Black Dog... way too soon...Rock on buddy.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
3xdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 10:45 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 864
Rewards Points: 508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3xdad

Think of it like this, as long as the rating of your disconnect (not breaker) is not less than 60 amp. You could run your 50A feeder and land in a 100A rated MLO panel with no more than 6 throws if you want.

Keep in mind you are feeding a separate structure and need an electrode.
That is not what the article is saying? I will have 4 branch circuits in garage on a 50 Amp feeder. The article specifies that the disconnecting means must be 60 Amp rated at very least and 30 Amp rated with 2 circuits.
Gamit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 10:46 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 864
Rewards Points: 508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamit

That is not what the article is saying? I will have 4 branch circuits in garage on a 50 Amp feeder. The article specifies that the disconnecting means must be 60 Amp rated at very least and 30 Amp rated with 2 circuits.
So I do not think you could use a MLO only panel in a detached structure but would need either a 30 or 60 Amp rated disconnect
Gamit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 11:01 PM   #13
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 21,252
Rewards Points: 1,492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamit View Post
So I do not think you could use a MLO only panel in a detached structure but would need either a 30 or 60 Amp rated disconnect
I agree that the article states the disconnect must be 60 amps- who knows what that reasoning is??? However you can have a MLO panel if it is service rated and you have no more than 6 disconnects. So you could have 3 20 amp breakers and that would give you the 60 amps needed to satisfy 225.39(D)
__________________
They say I shot a man named Gray and took his wife to Italy
She inherited a million bucks and when she died it came to me
I can't help it if I'm lucky
Dennis Alwon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 11:02 PM   #14
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 21,252
Rewards Points: 1,492
Default

Most MLO panels require the main breaker kit to make it service rated.
__________________
They say I shot a man named Gray and took his wife to Italy
She inherited a million bucks and when she died it came to me
I can't help it if I'm lucky
Dennis Alwon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 11:04 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 864
Rewards Points: 508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Alwon

I agree that the article states the disconnect must be 60 amps- who knows what that reasoning is??? However you can have a MLO panel if it is service rated and you have no more than 6 disconnects. So you could have 3 20 amp breakers and that would give you the 60 amps needed to satisfy 225.39(D)
Or could I just back feed a 60 Amp breaker in the sub panel and be done with it.Right? This would satisfy the article and I can use as many breakers as I need in compliance with the load calculation of the feeder of course
Gamit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 11:08 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 864
Rewards Points: 508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamit

Or could I just back feed a 60 Amp breaker in the sub panel and be done with it.Right? This would satisfy the article and I can use as many breakers as I need in compliance with the load calculation of the feeder of course
Or a small 100 Amp main breaker panel
Gamit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 11:13 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: kentucky
Posts: 12,412
Rewards Points: 5,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamit View Post
I am going to run a feeder out for a sub panel in a detached garage. I want to run a 50 amp circuit which is fine as long as the disconnect means in the sub panel is a 60 amp breaker. Correct?
How can a 60 amp breaker suffice a 50 amp circuit?
RIVETER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 11:18 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 864
Rewards Points: 508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RIVETER
How can a 60 amp breaker suffice a 50 amp circuit?
The 50 amp circuit is being protected by the 50 Amp breaker in the main panel in house and all the 60 Amp breaker is simply a additional disconnect in the sub panel.
Gamit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 11:19 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: kentucky
Posts: 12,412
Rewards Points: 5,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamit View Post
The 50 amp circuit is being protected by the 50 Amp breaker in the main panel in house and all the 60 Amp breaker is simply a additional disconnect in the sub panel.
Why go to 60?
RIVETER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 11:22 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 864
Rewards Points: 508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by riveter
why go to 60?
225.39 (d)
Gamit is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gamit For This Useful Post:
Magnettica (04-20-2012)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com