250 volts to 220 volts - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2015, 04:18 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default 250 volts to 220 volts

Hello,

for our company, we just purchased an industrial CNC machine built in China. We had it built for 220 volts, 2 phase, as we were told that is what we have in our warehouse. Now, when we got it and adjusted all the plugs to fit US sockets, we found out the the voltage in the sockets are from 242v - 249v (mostly in the evening). We contacted the manufacturer and he confirmed that machine should not have problems with 240 volts, but it would be better to keep it lower than that. So 249v might be a big problem for us.

Is there some easy transformer solution to step down from 240-250 to 220 volts?

Thank you very much, please be aware that I do not know much about electricity, volts amps etc )
Babajaga is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-14-2015, 04:27 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
The_kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 659
Rewards Points: 12
Default

A really big dimmer.
The_kid is offline  
Old 02-14-2015, 04:29 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
The_kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 659
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Orrrrrr get a reallllly long cord.
The_kid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-14-2015, 04:31 PM   #4
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,766
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

Ibtl
meadow is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to meadow For This Useful Post:
guest (02-14-2015)
Old 02-14-2015, 04:33 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
The_kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 659
Rewards Points: 12
Default

If you go to your nearest supply house they should have your transformer. Right next to the Romex stretchers.

OR you can just hire a qualified 'lectrictian.
The_kid is offline  
Old 02-14-2015, 04:33 PM   #6
Rest In Peace
 
aftershockews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: TN
Posts: 6,298
Rewards Points: 7,003
Default

Run a microwave in series between the machine and the power source. Not only will it drop the voltage a bit but your hot dogs will cook faster.
__________________
Official troll magnet.
aftershockews is offline  
Old 02-14-2015, 04:40 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NOYB
Posts: 4,665
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Thanks for posting on ElectricianTalk.com. However, working with electricity and electrical systems can be unsafe if not done by a professional licensed electrician. The moderators of this site would like to advise you to contact a professional electrician in your area.

If you are permitted by law in your area to do your own electrical work, please sign up at our sister site, www.DIYChatroom.com where many of our professionals are also members and are looking forward to assist you with your needs.

Please take a moment to post your question at www.DIYChatroom.com If you're not already a member of DIYChatroom.com you can sign up for a free account by going to http://www.DIYChatroom.com/register.php/

We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused. This thread has been closed.
guest is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
amperages at 220 and 440 volts jrdplowing General Electrical Discussion 18 08-12-2012 10:50 PM
Phase to Phase 212 volts, Phase to ground 122 volts? newspark80 General Electrical Discussion 11 02-16-2012 05:29 AM
11 volts All Current General Electrical Discussion 20 11-29-2011 10:43 PM
220 volts outlet irastai General Electrical Discussion 31 07-10-2010 08:20 AM
Tale of Two voltages: 120 volts & 45 volts. partimer31 General Electrical Discussion 6 08-27-2009 07:18 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com