277v LED can with 120v thermal? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2015, 12:46 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,219
Rewards Points: 2,950
Default

Yep. A contractor working in the same bldg as me wanted to show me something. An entire hallway of LED can lights cycling off and on every 30-60 seconds. They were installed this morning in a grid ceiling with no tiles installed yet. Upon further investigation, the fixtures are 120-277v rated, but the thermals were 120v rated. They are wired 277v. He has 2 skids of these fixtures sitting on the floor and 50-60 already installed. 277v LED can with 120v thermal?-image-1061483532.jpg 277v LED can with 120v thermal?-image-2783764045.jpg
Attached Thumbnails
277v LED can with 120v thermal?-image-2356949766.jpg  

Last edited by btharmy; 02-10-2015 at 01:35 PM.
btharmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-10-2015, 01:55 PM   #2
Member
 
mr.photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Huntley Il.
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 78
Default

Thats weird. I would probably take them all down and see what the supplier can do about a refund or something. I would not trust those. You might just be able to change the thermals but i wouldnt.
__________________
"Science isn't about why, Its about why not!" -Cave Johnson
mr.photon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 02:18 PM   #3
Slave to the grind
 
CopperSlave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 624
Rewards Points: 630
Default

Good 'ol Lithonia strikes again. I wish him luck in dealing with the factory. We have very few good things to say about that company, around this shop.
__________________
I spend most of my money on racing and beer...the rest of it I waste.
CopperSlave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-10-2015, 04:43 PM   #4
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

As far as I can tell, they are not multi tap.
The 3510s are 120 volt
The 3515s are 120 volt
The 3506s are 277
The 3520s are 120 volt
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 05:00 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,219
Rewards Points: 2,950
Default

Here is a better pic of the label with the voltage on it.

277v LED can with 120v thermal?-image-2417390846.jpg

According to this, they are multi volt? Something is not jiving.

Last edited by btharmy; 02-10-2015 at 05:46 PM.
btharmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 05:46 PM   #6
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,766
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

Id be curious to know the reasoning behind that. You say these were cycling?
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to meadow For This Useful Post:
pete87 (02-10-2015)
Old 02-10-2015, 05:46 PM   #7
Watt Pusher
 
B-Nabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Port Coquitlam, Canada
Posts: 2,343
Rewards Points: 474
Default

It looks to me like they use a universal driver (120-277), but that the fixture assembly as a whole is only intended to be connected to 120v, hence the 120v thermal. Probably they use the same driver on all models, but other parts are specific to the intended voltage. Just a guess.
B-Nabs is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to B-Nabs For This Useful Post:
CopperSlave (02-11-2015), mcclary's electrical (02-10-2015), mr.photon (02-10-2015)
Old 02-10-2015, 05:49 PM   #8
Member
 
mr.photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Huntley Il.
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B-Nabs View Post
It looks to me like they use a universal driver (120-277), but that the fixture assembly as a whole is only intended to be connected to 120v, hence the 120v thermal. Probably they use the same driver on all models, but other parts are specific to the intended voltage. Just a guess.
Thats what im thinking. Its probably just easier for the company to give it a range because of all the variables in the cheap product.
__________________
"Science isn't about why, Its about why not!" -Cave Johnson
mr.photon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 05:54 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,219
Rewards Points: 2,950
Default

So, it's possible this contractor may just have a lazy contract manager who just picked the first part number for this fixture without researching compatability.
btharmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 05:59 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,219
Rewards Points: 2,950
Default

Now that I'm home and can do some research online, It looks like they were just not on the ball when placing their order. Lithhonia's website clearly shows 3 voltage options, 120, 277 & 347. I wonder who will end up paying for that one. I can only assume the contractor will have to make it right on their dime. I suppose in the same situation, I would have to eat the cost to make things right.
btharmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 06:19 PM   #11
Yeah Toast!!
 
Roger123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,266
Rewards Points: 1,366
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by btharmy View Post
Now that I'm home and can do some research online, It looks like they were just not on the ball when placing their order. Lithhonia's website clearly shows 3 voltage options, 120, 277 & 347. I wonder who will end up paying for that one. I can only assume the contractor will have to make it right on their dime. I suppose in the same situation, I would have to eat the cost to make things right.
So, the box shows multi-tap as input but the fixture is not?
Roger123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 06:39 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: CA
Posts: 1,486
Rewards Points: 1,702
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger123 View Post
So, the box shows multi-tap as input but the fixture is not?



First Thought .


Helper with other contractor playing with breaker .




Pete
pete87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 06:48 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 2,939
Rewards Points: 1,512
Default

send them all back to the manufacturer,
if they are marked as suitable for 277v ?
Then they should work on 277v
If not the manufacturer can replace them

Have you tried wiring two fittings in series
that would give about 138v a piece.

But my first choice is send them back !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 10:31 PM   #14
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
send them all back to the manufacturer,
if they are marked as suitable for 277v ?
Then they should work on 277v
If not the manufacturer can replace them

Have you tried wiring two fittings in series
that would give about 138v a piece.

But my first choice is send them back !
Its the contractor's fault. The list number shows its a120 volt fixture. The ballast itself is rated for 277, but the fixture is not. that is just because they used the same ballast in every fixture. It doesn't change the fact that that particular fixture is not intended for use with 277
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mcclary's electrical For This Useful Post:
btharmy (02-11-2015)
Old 02-11-2015, 12:17 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,219
Rewards Points: 2,950
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclary's electrical
Its the contractor's fault. The list number shows its a120 volt fixture. The ballast itself is rated for 277, but the fixture is not. that is just because they used the same ballast in every fixture. It doesn't change the fact that that particular fixture is not intended for use with 277
Yep. I'm curious to find out their solution. I will be there again tomorrow to see what happened. I would assume the journeyman on site went home and did a little research and found out his shop screwed up.
btharmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 12:48 AM   #16
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by btharmy View Post
Yep. I'm curious to find out their solution. I will be there again tomorrow to see what happened. I would assume the journeyman on site went home and did a little research and found out his shop screwed up.
Your original picture:

35/20 120........... says it all.
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 10:35 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 2,939
Rewards Points: 1,512
Default

What about using a transformer ?
How many lights ?
How hard is it to send them back ?
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 12:13 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,219
Rewards Points: 2,950
Default

Double post.

Last edited by btharmy; 02-12-2015 at 12:15 AM.
btharmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 12:15 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: kentucky
Posts: 12,412
Rewards Points: 5,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by btharmy View Post
Yep. A contractor working in the same bldg as me wanted to show me something. An entire hallway of LED can lights cycling off and on every 30-60 seconds. They were installed this morning in a grid ceiling with no tiles installed yet. Upon further investigation, the fixtures are 120-277v rated, but the thermals were 120v rated. They are wired 277v. He has 2 skids of these fixtures sitting on the floor and 50-60 already installed. Attachment 47449 Attachment 47465
Just for informational purposes why would the "thermal" trip at a higher voltage?
RIVETER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 12:17 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,219
Rewards Points: 2,950
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RIVETER
Just for informational purposes why would the "thermal" trip at a higher voltage?
I'm not sure unless the higher voltage combined with the resistance in the smaller thermal actually caused it to reach its trip temperature pre-maturely.

Last edited by btharmy; 02-12-2015 at 12:23 AM.
btharmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
277v to 120v XFMR carryyourbooks General Electrical Discussion 3 10-26-2012 12:03 AM
120v 277v ?! Mcsparkin Services and Service Equipment 11 09-15-2012 12:48 AM
t 5 120v -277v ballast running on 347v sparky105 Lighting Design 8 11-27-2010 05:38 PM
120-277v led mogul base? nFLzap Lighting Design 9 04-06-2010 07:43 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com