3-Way Switch: Why did one fail? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Like Tree22Likes
  • 1 Post By Helmut
  • 1 Post By John Valdes
  • 6 Post By lighterup
  • 1 Post By Shmuel93
  • 2 Post By glen1971
  • 5 Post By telsa
  • 5 Post By B-Nabs
  • 1 Post By wildleg
Closed Thread

Old 04-09-2019, 06:41 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Default 3-Way Switch: Why did one fail?

Folks, Sam here. I'm new to the community and appreciate you reading my post. I'm a mechanical engineer and do my best around the house with wiring projects. Recently, I installed an LED-Dimmable compatible Lutron dimmer in a 3-way switch system: two switches that control a fixture with dimmable LEDs. Before I replaced one of the switches with a dimmer, the system worked just fine. Then, once I installed the dimmer, the dimmer properly controlled the light, but the other switch did nothing when the dimmer switch was in the OFF position (when dimmer was ON, other switch could toggle it ON and OFF). I'm confused because I thought I clearly identified the common wire with a multimeter (120V AC) and used the two traveler wires as directed in the switch diagram. After throwing in the towel, I hooked the original switch back in with the common to the common pole, and the two travelers connected accordingly. But now, the behavior persists! The other switch still doesn't work in the way I described above. What did I do wrong here, guys? Your help would be so much appreciated.
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!