3rd yr Apprentice; starting on first commercial job monday and looking for advice! - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By papaotis

Old 07-22-2017, 09:26 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 4
Default 3rd yr Apprentice; starting on first commercial job monday and looking for advice!

Hello everyone! Kind of nervous posting here, first time.

I just joined the union and they have me going out to my first commercial jobsite Monday to start! I am very excited, but also extremely nervous. I was apprehensive to make the jump but my union recruiter convinced me (along with my own conscience) that this was the correct career decision in the long run no matter how difficult it is to make the leap now.

Just to be brief, I am a third year apprentice (almost 4th) and I've been working for a non-union shop doing 90% residential and 10% commercial service work for these last 3 years. I have been running a service van for about 2 to 2.5 years of my time with the non-union shop and doing panel upgrades, service calls... any residential job you can think of for the most part. The limited amount of commercial work I've done has been service calls for older restaurants, maybe running a circuit out of existing switch gear for an office building, or a circuit out of a sub-panel in a workshop. I have bent plenty of EMT up to 1 1/4", but bent no rigid or threaded any either. I have most of my experience in single-phase. It's hard to describe myself in one small paragraph so feel free to ask for details if it helps provide advice.