4 way switch - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree42Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2016, 10:58 PM   #1
corn-fused
 
papaotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: on the river, near the corn
Posts: 4,769
Rewards Points: 620
Default 4 way switch

kinda burnt out this week. i have a four way circuit that has probly never worked. after checking all the switches making drawings till i cant see straight, all i know for sure is the problem is at one end. what configuration would take the 4way out of the loop? there should be power to one terminal or the other at all times right?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
i like neat! just doesnt always happen
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
papaotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-29-2016, 11:05 PM   #2
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 39,118
Rewards Points: 6,520
Default

Two terminals should always have power. Which two depends on how the upstream 3-way is set and how the 4-way is wired internally.
telsa likes this.
__________________
I'm 480Sparky, and I approved this message.
480sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 11:06 PM   #3
corn-fused
 
papaotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: on the river, near the corn
Posts: 4,769
Rewards Points: 620
Default

right, and the four way should always have power. right?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
i like neat! just doesnt always happen
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
papaotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-29-2016, 11:07 PM   #4
Band Member
 
emtnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 6,042
Rewards Points: 1,664
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by papaotis View Post
kinda burnt out this week. i have a four way circuit that has probly never worked. after checking all the switches making drawings till i cant see straight, all i know for sure is the problem is at one end. what configuration would take the 4way out of the loop? there should be power to one terminal or the other at all times right?
Should have power at each switch, and power to one of the travellers too.

If it never worked ... I'd check how the traveller's are connected
__________________
_____________________________________
Your Mother was a hamster, and your father smells of Elderberries. ... Now go away, or I shall taunt you a second time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
emtnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 11:09 PM   #5
Big nosed attic troll
 
Majewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: In a van down by the river!
Posts: 7,544
Rewards Points: 2,774
Default

Slap me if it's dumb but could any type of cali switch wiring be involved to add to the confusion/exhaustion?
Majewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 11:12 PM   #6
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 39,118
Rewards Points: 6,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by papaotis View Post
right, and the four way should always have power. right?
Assuming the upstream 3-way is correctly wired, yes.... two terminals should always be energized.
__________________
I'm 480Sparky, and I approved this message.
480sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 11:13 PM   #7
Ditch Digging Dummy
 
3D Electric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Wichita Kansas
Posts: 1,860
Rewards Points: 52
Default

Just tie the two pairs of travelers together. Complete the circuit and deal with a standard 3 way if it's being a pain.
3D Electric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 11:19 PM   #8
corn-fused
 
papaotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: on the river, near the corn
Posts: 4,769
Rewards Points: 620
Default

have to go back for some other things so will rehash it on a fresh start! has to be one end, not the middle.................unless the wires go to light box first Hmmmmmmmmm
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
i like neat! just doesnt always happen
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
papaotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 11:21 PM   #9
Ditch Digging Dummy
 
3D Electric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Wichita Kansas
Posts: 1,860
Rewards Points: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by papaotis View Post
have to go back for some other things so will rehash it on a fresh start! has to be one end, not the middle.................unless the wires go to light box first Hmmmmmmmmm
Could be back fed. Sending power down on the white and some one confused it with a neutral. Pull the fixture down and see if the travelers go through the light box.
hardworkingstiff likes this.
3D Electric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to 3D Electric For This Useful Post:
splatz (04-30-2016), Spunk#7 (04-30-2016)
Old 04-29-2016, 11:25 PM   #10
corn-fused
 
papaotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: on the river, near the corn
Posts: 4,769
Rewards Points: 620
Default

yeah, thats what the hmmmm was about. havent got that far yet!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
i like neat! just doesnt always happen
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
papaotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 11:39 PM   #11
Safety Pin Member
 
PlugsAndLights's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 2,255
Rewards Points: 2,880
Default

Funny this thread showed now as i just came back from fixing a neighbours
4 way. It had me confused for a while cause I'm used to seeing 4 switch 4
ways wired power-3way-4way-4way-3way-light. This was wired with both
the power and light out of the first 3way box. Combine that with wires removed
from various places by the homeowner trying to figure it out himself, and it took
a while to sort it out.
Since that likely doesn't help the op, I'll throw out a couple thoughts:
1)Identify where power enters the switch system
2)Identify where power leaves the switch system to go to the light
3)If you have to, un-wire the boxes and use your meter to find both ends
of each wire. Make a drawing and put it back together properly.
Was this post useful or'd I have 1 too many beers?
P&L
PlugsAndLights is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 11:41 PM   #12
Big nosed attic troll
 
Majewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: In a van down by the river!
Posts: 7,544
Rewards Points: 2,774
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlugsAndLights View Post
Funny this thread showed now as i just came back from fixing a neighbours
4 way. It had me confused for a while cause I'm used to seeing 4 switch 4
ways wired power-3way-4way-4way-3way-light. This was wired with both
the power and light out of the first 3way box. Combine that with wires removed
from various places by the homeowner trying to figure it out himself, and it took
a while to sort it out.
Since that likely doesn't help the op, I'll throw out a couple thoughts:
1)Identify where power enters the switch system
2)Identify where power leaves the switch system to go to the light
3)If you have to, un-wire the boxes and use your meter to find both ends
of each wire. Make a drawing and put it back together properly.
Was this post useful or'd I have 1 too many beers?
P&L
This method is how I've saved my sanity a few times. Oh look I have beer, cheers!
emtnut and PlugsAndLights like this.
Majewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 12:53 AM   #13
corn-fused
 
papaotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: on the river, near the corn
Posts: 4,769
Rewards Points: 620
Default

been drinkin it over myself! ill find it when i go back. thanks for the support and a couple reminders
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
i like neat! just doesnt always happen
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
papaotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 01:14 AM   #14
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 39,118
Rewards Points: 6,520
Default

For the paltry sum of $4,000, I'll drive over tomorrow and fix it for you.
hardworkingstiff and Majewski like this.
__________________
I'm 480Sparky, and I approved this message.
480sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 480sparky For This Useful Post:
cal1947 (04-30-2016)
Old 04-30-2016, 07:03 AM   #15
Retired Account
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: the Green Mountain state
Posts: 39,722
Rewards Points: 14,650
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlugsAndLights View Post
Funny this thread showed now as i just came back from fixing a neighbours
4 way. It had me confused for a while cause I'm used to seeing 4 switch 4
ways wired power-3way-4way-4way-3way-light. This was wired with both
the power and light out of the first 3way box. Combine that with wires removed
from various places by the homeowner trying to figure it out himself, and it took
a while to sort it out.
Since that likely doesn't help the op, I'll throw out a couple thoughts:
1)Identify where power enters the switch system
2)Identify where power leaves the switch system to go to the light
3)If you have to, un-wire the boxes and use your meter to find both ends
of each wire. Make a drawing and put it back together properly.
Was this post useful or'd I have 1 too many beers?
P&L
Beer makes everything better.....

Remember all the configurations we had to do back in our apprenticeship Plugs?

power-3way-4way-4way-3way-light.

3way-4way-power-light.-4way-3way.

light-power-3way-4way-4way-3way.

etc etc......~CS~
emtnut likes this.
chicken steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 07:04 AM   #16
Retired Account
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: the Green Mountain state
Posts: 39,722
Rewards Points: 14,650
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
For the paltry sum of $4,000, I'll drive over tomorrow and fix it for you.
I bid $3950 ......beer provided via others

~CS~
Majewski likes this.
chicken steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 09:55 AM   #17
Band Member
 
emtnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 6,042
Rewards Points: 1,664
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chicken steve View Post
I bid $3950 ......beer provided via others

~CS~
Don't you have to be less than 480 to get the job ?
chicken steve likes this.
__________________
_____________________________________
Your Mother was a hamster, and your father smells of Elderberries. ... Now go away, or I shall taunt you a second time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
emtnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 10:15 AM   #18
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 21,106
Rewards Points: 12,579
Default

Meter out your 4 ways to determine which way the = and X are going. I can't remember the details now but I had one job with weird 4 ways.
PlugsAndLights likes this.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 10:18 AM   #19
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 39,118
Rewards Points: 6,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
Meter out your 4 ways to determine which way the = and X are going. I can't remember the details now but I had one job with weird 4 ways.

There's no standard. Some (like Levition, I think) go side-to-side. Others (P&S) are end-to-end.
readydave8 likes this.
__________________
I'm 480Sparky, and I approved this message.
480sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 10:28 AM   #20
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 21,106
Rewards Points: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
There's no standard. Some (like Levition, I think) go side-to-side. Others (P&S) are end-to-end.
Yeah, like I say, I can't remember the details but there was something weird going on that day and the only thing that solved it for me was ohming out the switches.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is micro switch diagram correct? wes5458 Commercial Electrical Forum 4 03-28-2016 01:43 PM
Wireless Remote Switch electricguy Canadian Electrical Forum 17 03-11-2016 09:29 AM
transfer switch for generator blacknpurplejs General Electrical Discussion 2 02-21-2016 10:17 PM
light switch near shower huntingflower Canadian Electrical Forum 4 02-17-2016 08:09 AM
Rangehood operation by remote switch katwalatapan Canadian Electrical Forum 4 01-29-2016 02:37 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com