8' Lamp post bases - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2013, 06:15 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Pittsburgh Pa
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 12
Default 8' Lamp post bases

This is my first post on here and I just recently started my own electrical contracting business.

I will be completely taking out lamp posts that are 8' in length. replacing them with a newer model the same height. the base changes a little but I have the bolt pattern. I will be using a 16" diameter soni-tube.

What would be the proper depth of concrete for these poles.

this is in a carriage home plan with about 400 units
the old concrete bases will be ripped out which is the reason for pouring new bases.
Bakerbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-06-2013, 06:17 PM   #2
BBQ
Salty Member
 
BBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 31,081
Rewards Points: 2
Default

At 8' it really is no big deal but I would ask the vender to provide the base requirements.
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 06:19 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Pittsburgh Pa
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Thanks for the info. It never really crossed my mind to ask the vendor what their suggested depth would be.
Bakerbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-06-2013, 07:41 PM   #4
Florida resident
 
ampman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida , if your not here you're somewhere else
Posts: 3,898
Rewards Points: 1,604
Default

i would have an adaptor milled to fit the old and new bolt pattern and leave the concrete base
__________________
for lunch I had three cans of alphabet soup then afterwards I had a huge vowel movement
ampman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 08:12 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Pittsburgh Pa
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Well here's the thing. I was goin to try and use the old bases but the customer said to just rip them out. Some concrete on some of the bases is spalling with exposed agg, and rebar.
But of course I'm not goin to rip them out I will be subbing that out to my excavator friend.
And I will be pouring the bases.
Bakerbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 12:16 AM   #6
Head Grunt
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lower Adirondacks, NY
Posts: 415
Rewards Points: 266
Default

Manufacturer should give the base specs for the wind load. Last time i estimated for a 16' light install for 80mph wind load the base needed to be 2' diameter and at least 4' deep.
__________________
No free man shall ever be debarred the use of arms.-Thomas Jefferson
woodchuck2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pipe to lamp post? Hackster General Electrical Discussion 18 06-27-2013 09:56 PM
Post Lamp Replacement or Repair A Little Short Lighting Design 16 01-10-2012 08:19 PM
why post lamp didnt work donselec General Electrical Discussion 20 11-25-2011 07:24 AM
Lamp post Apprentice_617 General Electrical Discussion 51 11-01-2011 09:15 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com