8ga Aluminum Oven Wire vs 8ga Copper Wire? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree7Likes
  • 1 Post By daveEM
  • 4 Post By emtnut
  • 1 Post By theJcK
  • 1 Post By NC Plc
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2016, 08:40 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: phx
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 22
Default 8ga Aluminum Oven Wire vs 8ga Copper Wire?

I came across a home today that I think is 8ga aluminum wire but I can't read the jacket. I had some 8ga copper wire with me and the copper wire is much smaller. In older homes did they use 6ga aluminum wire for an oven circuit and can I connect aluminum to copper for a splice to extend the wire?
savatreatabvr is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-12-2016, 08:42 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Service Call's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 1,965
Rewards Points: 36
Default

Yes they did. I would use a split bolt with the divider in it (I can't recall what its actual term) or a Polaris lug.
Service Call is offline  
Old 01-12-2016, 08:48 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: phx
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Service Call View Post
Yes they did. I would use a split bolt with the divider in it (I can't recall what its actual term) or a Polaris lug.
I agree but is it safe to just box it and use a big blue wire nut?
savatreatabvr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-12-2016, 08:58 PM   #4
:-)
 
daveEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 3,670
Rewards Points: 2,382
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by savatreatabvr View Post
I agree but is it safe to just box it and use a big blue wire nut?
I duno. Is the big blue nut approved for that?

Hint...
emtnut likes this.
__________________
<<
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


I like perfect.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
daveEM is offline  
Old 01-12-2016, 09:06 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: phx
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveEM View Post
I duno. Is the big blue nut approved for that?

Hint...
I think it is in my neighborhood!
savatreatabvr is offline  
Old 01-12-2016, 09:30 PM   #6
Band Member
 
emtnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 6,339
Rewards Points: 2,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by savatreatabvr View Post
I think it is in my neighborhood!
Do you have a lot of these in your neighborhood ?


Attached Images
 

Last edited by emtnut; 01-12-2016 at 09:32 PM.
emtnut is offline  
Old 01-12-2016, 09:40 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: phx
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emtnut View Post
Do you have a lot of these in your neighborhood ?


It was a joke! :vs_lol: Next question, how am I going to insulate a polaris lug in a metal box? No, not using tape.
savatreatabvr is offline  
Old 01-12-2016, 09:49 PM   #8
Senior Moment
 
danhasenauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Rochester, NY IBEW LU86
Posts: 383
Rewards Points: 725
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by savatreatabvr View Post
It was a joke! :vs_lol: Next question, how am I going to insulate a polaris lug in a metal box? No, not using tape.
Properly sized heat-shrink insulation, 2 layers. I would use friction tape covered with Super33+ myself. You're an Electrician?

Last edited by danhasenauer; 01-12-2016 at 11:27 PM.
danhasenauer is offline  
Old 01-12-2016, 09:49 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
theJcK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Western NC
Posts: 712
Rewards Points: 256
Default

They make insulated polaris lugs. Make sure you bond and terminate correctly. Do they make big purple wirenuts?
Voltron likes this.
theJcK is offline  
Old 01-12-2016, 09:49 PM   #10
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 28,448
Rewards Points: 19,265
Default

Home depot sells inline connectors for #6 and #8 that are rated al/cu. Set screws tighten to secure the connection, however the unit is not insulated so you have to use tape to make it proper. Ten half wraps should about do it.
__________________
Bill Gates: The guy who couldn't keep viruses from getting into your computer, want's you to take his DNA changing vaccine to stop a virus? Hell No......
macmikeman is offline  
Old 01-12-2016, 11:20 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
NC Plc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nationwide
Posts: 3,529
Rewards Points: 7,888
Default

I like al-cu split bolts and I haven't had one fail yet, I've put them on a couple dozen motors.
danhasenauer likes this.
__________________
I would rather ask a seemingly stupid question than not ask it and make a stupid mistake.
NC Plc is offline  
Old 01-13-2016, 12:07 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: phx
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danhasenauer View Post
Properly sized heat-shrink insulation, 2 layers. I would use friction tape covered with Super33+ myself. You're an Electrician?
Im not an electrician, I'm a systems tech with 110v knowledge that's why I thought I'd ask questions before installing 220v.
savatreatabvr is offline  
Old 01-13-2016, 12:26 AM   #13
Senior Moment
 
danhasenauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Rochester, NY IBEW LU86
Posts: 383
Rewards Points: 725
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by savatreatabvr View Post
Im not an electrician, I'm a systems tech with 110v knowledge that's why I thought I'd ask questions before installing 220v.
Good idea. If you know an Electrician in your area, you may want to have him check your work. There is a hella lot more liability at stake when you get over 24v.
danhasenauer is offline  
Old 01-13-2016, 12:32 AM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
wendon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Wisconsiberia
Posts: 9,327
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by savatreatabvr View Post
Im not an electrician, I'm a systems tech with 110v knowledge that's why I thought I'd ask questions before installing 220v.
Oh boy!
Attached Images
 
__________________
Saving the world, one backstabbed receptacle at a time.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wendon is offline  
Old 01-13-2016, 02:16 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: phx
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 22
Default

[QUOTE=danhasenauer;2507937]Good idea. If you know an Electrician in your area, you may want to have him check your work. There is a hella lot more liability at stake when you get over 24v.

This is not meant in a derogatory way but I fully understand the dangers involved! I joined this forum to socialize people with similar interest and to get answers from actual electricians before I started pulling wire, not to be criticized and poked fun at. I'll try YouTube for information on this subject.
savatreatabvr is offline  
Old 01-13-2016, 02:35 AM   #16
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,766
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by savatreatabvr View Post
Im not an electrician, I'm a systems tech with 110v knowledge that's why I thought I'd ask questions before installing 220v.

110 and 220 volts dont exist in the US.
meadow is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to meadow For This Useful Post:
JW Splicer (01-15-2016), TheWireNut (01-13-2016)
Old 01-13-2016, 07:46 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 11,885
Rewards Points: 1,360
Default

[quote=savatreatabvr;2507985]
Quote:
Originally Posted by danhasenauer View Post
Good idea. If you know an Electrician in your area, you may want to have him check your work. There is a hella lot more liability at stake when you get over 24v.

This is not meant in a derogatory way but I fully understand the dangers involved! I joined this forum to socialize people with similar interest and to get answers from actual electricians before I started pulling wire, not to be criticized and poked fun at. I'll try YouTube for information on this subject.
Why is a "systems tech" working on electrical in a house you "came across"?
RePhase277 is offline  
Old 01-13-2016, 07:57 AM   #18
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 21,554
Rewards Points: 2,034
Default

Thanks for posting on ElectricianTalk.com. The Moderators of this forum would prefer if you post Do It Yourself related topics on our sister site www.DIYChatroom.com

ElectricianTalk.com is designed for electrical industry professionals to discuss issues and topics related to the electrical trades and related industries. Many of our professionals are also members at DIYChatroom.com and are looking forward to assist you with your needs.

Please take a moment to post your question at www.DIYChatroom.com If you're not already a member of DIYChatroom.com you can sign up for a free account by going to http://www.DIYChatroom.com/register.php/

We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused. This thread has been closed.
Dennis Alwon is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com