Add New Sub Panel - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree9Likes
  • 2 Post By trentonmakes
  • 1 Post By trentonmakes
  • 1 Post By trentonmakes
  • 2 Post By trentonmakes
  • 1 Post By Wirenuting
  • 1 Post By Bird dog
  • 1 Post By Wirenuting
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2018, 09:05 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default Add New Sub Panel

I am adding a sub panel at my pole barn. I plan a running 1/0 wire from the sub panel that is on the outside of my house. It looks like the sub panel on the outside of my house needs a ground bar? Neutral and grounds are connected to the same bus bar. And how do I attached my 1/0 neutral wire to the neutral bus? Do I get another neutral bar and bond it?
mustangman04 is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-03-2018, 09:09 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
trentonmakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,315
Rewards Points: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mustangman04 View Post
I am adding a sub panel at my pole barn. I plan a running 1/0 wire from the sub panel that is on the outside of my house. It looks like the sub panel on the outside of my house needs a ground bar? Neutral and grounds are connected to the same bus bar. And how do I attached my 1/0 neutral wire to the neutral bus? Do I get another neutral bar and bond it?
1st things 1st!

Make sure all your fire extinguishers are up to date and the arrows are in the green!

You'll thank me later!

Texting and Driving
MechanicalDVR and tjb like this.
trentonmakes is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to trentonmakes For This Useful Post:
MechanicalDVR (06-03-2018)
Old 06-03-2018, 09:10 AM   #3
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,290
Rewards Points: 996
Default

First of all

[IMG][/IMG]

Secondly

[IMG][/IMG]

Thirdly

[IMG][/IMG]

Then comes

[IMG][/IMG]

Followed up by

[IMG][/IMG]
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-03-2018, 09:11 AM   #4
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,290
Rewards Points: 996
Default

Do the world a favor, if you have to ask that question you shouldn't be doing this work.


Call a licensed electrician!
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline  
Old 06-03-2018, 09:13 AM   #5
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,290
Rewards Points: 996
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trentonmakes View Post
1st things 1st!

Make sure all your fire extinguishers are up to date and the arrows are in the green!

You'll thank me later!

Texting and Driving
You forgot to say get anything you value out of the house!
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline  
Old 06-03-2018, 09:13 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
trentonmakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,315
Rewards Points: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicalDVR View Post
Do the world a favor, if you have to ask that question you shouldn't be doing this work.


Call a licensed electrician!
I dunno about the world....you may be exaggerating a bit.

Now, his family and neighbors....you may be onto something. Then again if he procreates you may have a point. Lol

Texting and Driving
MechanicalDVR likes this.
trentonmakes is offline  
Old 06-03-2018, 09:15 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
trentonmakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,315
Rewards Points: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicalDVR View Post
You forgot to say get anything you value out of the house!
They'll be fine assuming he follow the proper procedures.
Hows it go?

PASS

pull aim sweep start low....i forget. Lol

Texting and Driving
MechanicalDVR likes this.
trentonmakes is offline  
Old 06-03-2018, 09:18 AM   #8
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,290
Rewards Points: 996
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trentonmakes View Post
They'll be fine assuming he follow the proper procedures.
Hows it go?

PASS

pull aim sweep start low....i forget. Lol

Texting and Driving
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline  
Old 06-03-2018, 09:22 AM   #9
86 45 20
 
Southeast Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 17,732
Rewards Points: 8,140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mustangman04 View Post
I am adding a sub panel at my pole barn. I plan a running 1/0 wire from the sub panel that is on the outside of my house. It looks like the sub panel on the outside of my house needs a ground bar? Neutral and grounds are connected to the same bus bar. And how do I attached my 1/0 neutral wire to the neutral bus? Do I get another neutral bar and bond it?
Are you looking for free how to advice??

single phase neutrals are so over rated.
Southeast Power is online now  
Old 06-03-2018, 09:30 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
trentonmakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,315
Rewards Points: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mustangman04 View Post
I am adding a sub panel at my pole barn. I plan a running 1/0 wire from the sub panel that is on the outside of my house. It looks like the sub panel on the outside of my house needs a ground bar? Neutral and grounds are connected to the same bus bar. And how do I attached my 1/0 neutral wire to the neutral bus? Do I get another neutral bar and bond it?
One OUGHT not play with electricity
Lol

Texting and Driving
Navyguy and splatz like this.
trentonmakes is offline  
Old 06-03-2018, 09:31 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Barjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 898
Rewards Points: 280
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southeast Power View Post
Are you looking for free how to advice??

single phase neutrals are so over rated.
I agree.

I was always taught to balance my loads so that a neutral was not necessary.
Barjack is offline  
Old 06-03-2018, 09:38 AM   #12
Professional Nit Picker
 
manchestersparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,256
Rewards Points: 2,148
Default

Ibtl - yes !!!
__________________
Anything Worth Doing ....
Is Worth Doing Right
manchestersparky is offline  
Old 06-03-2018, 09:43 AM   #13
Coffee drinking member
 
Wirenuting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ceti Alpha V
Posts: 11,958
Rewards Points: 5,502
Default

Ibtl
Attached Images
 
Bird dog likes this.
__________________
Teacher, my brain is full... Can I go home now?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Wirenuting; 06-03-2018 at 09:50 AM.
Wirenuting is offline  
Old 06-03-2018, 09:55 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Bird dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: South East US
Posts: 4,931
Rewards Points: 1,636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wirenuting View Post
Ibtl
Can you make S'mores at a barn fire?
Wirenuting likes this.
__________________
Popcorn munching forum observer
"The supreme art of war is to subdue the enemy without fighting." Sun Tzu
Bird dog is online now  
Old 06-03-2018, 10:28 AM   #15
Coffee drinking member
 
Wirenuting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ceti Alpha V
Posts: 11,958
Rewards Points: 5,502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bird dog View Post
Can you make S'mores at a barn fire?
I’m a professional, I can burn anything.
Bird dog likes this.
__________________
Teacher, my brain is full... Can I go home now?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Wirenuting is offline  
Old 06-03-2018, 10:58 AM   #16
Moderator
 
John Valdes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 15,589
Rewards Points: 2,788
Default

Thanks for posting on ElectricianTalk.com.
However, working with electricity and electrical systems can be unsafe if not done by a professional licensed electrician. The moderators of this site would like to advise you to contact a professional electrician in your area.

If you are permitted by law in your area to do your own electrical work, please sign up at our sister site, www.DIYChatroom.com where many of our professionals are also members and are looking forward to assist you with your needs.

Please take a moment to post your question at www.DIYChatroom.com If you're not already a member of DIYChatroom.com you can sign up for a free account by going to http://www.DIYChatroom.com/register.php/

We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused. This thread has been closed.
John Valdes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need advice for mouting a pony panel NDC Canadian Electrical Forum 10 04-05-2018 02:52 PM
Converting a 3 wire 3 phase aux panel to 4 wire Elec Trix Commercial Electrical Forum 10 01-13-2018 06:33 AM
Double panel design question. JohnJ65 Services and Service Equipment 23 07-07-2017 08:19 PM
Main panel, subpanel, detatched structure, objectionable current and 3-phase cdw904 Residential Electrical Forum 4 05-10-2017 02:47 PM
Old Breaker/Fuse Panel A Little Short General Electrical Discussion 18 10-11-2016 05:34 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com