Aluminum pigtails in the panel? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree7Likes
  • 3 Post By HackWork
  • 1 Post By HackWork
  • 1 Post By HackWork
  • 1 Post By HackWork
  • 1 Post By dcwired
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2016, 06:58 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
carryyourbooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KATY, TX
Posts: 1,627
Rewards Points: 1,292
Default Aluminum pigtails in the panel?

I was wondering do you guys pigtail aluminum wire in the panel as well as the devices or just at the devices? I'm installing a new Square D QO panel. Thanks!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
carryyourbooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-12-2016, 06:59 PM   #2
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,221
Rewards Points: 1,609
Default

No, never. The breakers are rated for AL and that type of lug connection is solid.
99cents, BababooeyHTJ and Majewski like this.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 07:32 PM   #3
zac
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 2,966
Rewards Points: 818
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
No, never. The breakers are rated for AL and that type of lug connection is solid.
I've had home inspectors write that in their reports. " aluminum on breaker is a violation "!

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
zac is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-12-2016, 07:43 PM   #4
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,221
Rewards Points: 1,609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zac View Post
I've had home inspectors write that in their reports. " aluminum on breaker is a violation "!

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
Yeah, I've also seen them say that 2 wires on a breaker is a violation. Right up until I pulled the breaker out and showed him where it said 1 or 2 Cu or Al conductors.
zac likes this.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 07:44 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
carryyourbooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KATY, TX
Posts: 1,627
Rewards Points: 1,292
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
No, never. The breakers are rated for AL and that type of lug connection is solid.

What about to the neutral/ground bar?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
carryyourbooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 07:46 PM   #6
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,221
Rewards Points: 1,609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carryyourbooks View Post
What about to the neutral/ground bar?
That's rated for aluminum too.

As far as I know, a lug type of connection was never an issue with aluminum, only looping screw connections.
Majewski likes this.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 07:59 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
carryyourbooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KATY, TX
Posts: 1,627
Rewards Points: 1,292
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
That's rated for aluminum too.

As far as I know, a lug type of connection was never an issue with aluminum, only looping screw connections.
On a side note, if that is the case, why do home inpsectors always want antioxidant on the main wire terminations? If they are, in fact, rated AL?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
carryyourbooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 08:08 PM   #8
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,221
Rewards Points: 1,609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carryyourbooks View Post
On a side note, if that is the case, why do home inpsectors always want antioxidant on the main wire terminations? If they are, in fact, rated AL?
I'm not trying to sound like a wiseass when I say this, but who cares what a home inspector wants? The kid stocking the shelves at the super market knows more about electrical code than home inspectors.

Code doesn't require it.

Square D is a pain when trying to find info, so here is a Siemens spec sheet. You'll see at the bottom how every panel allows CU or AL on all the the lugs, bars, and breakers.

http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdf...a43cfec9aa.pdf
Majewski likes this.

Last edited by HackWork; 07-12-2016 at 08:11 PM.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 09:35 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
carryyourbooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KATY, TX
Posts: 1,627
Rewards Points: 1,292
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
I'm not trying to sound like a wiseass when I say this, but who cares what a home inspector wants? The kid stocking the shelves at the super market knows more about electrical code than home inspectors.

Code doesn't require it.

Square D is a pain when trying to find info, so here is a Siemens spec sheet. You'll see at the bottom how every panel allows CU or AL on all the the lugs, bars, and breakers.

http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdf...a43cfec9aa.pdf
No, I get it. But since Square D is copper plated with tin, wouldn't that be dissimilar metals?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
carryyourbooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 09:40 PM   #10
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,221
Rewards Points: 1,609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carryyourbooks View Post
No, I get it. But since Square D is copper plated with tin, wouldn't that be dissimilar metals?
Much smarter people then me say it's ok to do, who I am to question it?

I am really not following where you are going here. Are you suggesting that only tin wire should be used with Square D panels due to dissimilar metal issues?
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 10:17 PM   #11
corn-fused
 
papaotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: on the river, near the corn
Posts: 4,769
Rewards Points: 620
Default

almost any mfg has a cross section of metal in there now. al bars with steel screws, al screws with al lugs, both rated for cu and al?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
i like neat! just doesnt always happen
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
papaotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2016, 09:18 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 40
Default

To my best memory, only QO breakers are made for 2 wires.
electricguy likes this.
dcwired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2016, 11:25 PM   #13
corn-fused
 
papaotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: on the river, near the corn
Posts: 4,769
Rewards Points: 620
Default

well, there are others. homeline is one . there are others. too tired to think hard right know.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
i like neat! just doesnt always happen
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
papaotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I use old breaker panel as a sub panel marshall361 General Electrical Discussion 4 07-09-2016 04:45 PM
Residential aluminum branch circuit wiring dham206 General Electrical Discussion 36 06-29-2016 12:54 AM
Calcul maximum electric panel size martindag General Electrical Discussion 12 03-06-2016 05:23 PM
Wiring Left in Distribution Panel Hdinj Code Violation Discussion 26 02-07-2016 11:31 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com