Amp Spike On Startup - Page 3 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree33Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2019, 07:29 PM   #41
Senior Member
 
HertzHound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: East coast
Posts: 202
Rewards Points: 238
Default

Maybe there is a car port at the entrance where the fossils get picked up and dropped off. So in the soffit it has a dozen heads that could freeze. The building has plenty of pressure, so there is no fire pump. Just a little compressor to take care of a dozen heads.

Boy a picture would say a thousand words.
__________________
ďWhy say lot words when few words do trickĒ
HertzHound is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-05-2019, 09:46 PM   #42
Senior Member
 
JRaef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Posts: 4,984
Rewards Points: 1,856
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by telsa View Post
Me too.

These puppies barely run as the system is tested to be air-tight in the first place.

Further, they are deliberately modest so that they can't hide the pressure drop of a popped head.

What do you bet that 5 hp turns out to be 0.5 hp?
He didn't say the HP, he said the nameplate FLC was 30A. That comes out to 5HP at 230V according to the NEC tables. A 0.5HP motor would not have an FLC on the nameplate of 30A...


Those small compressors use the pressure switch as the "starter" directly because the contacts have a motor rating, but you won't find a pressure switch with a 5HP 230V motor rating. So the control circuit is going through the pressure switch and closing a contactor that is turning the motor on and off.
trentonmakes likes this.
__________________
"If you don't know where you're going, then any direction will do." -- Lewis Carroll

Last edited by JRaef; 04-05-2019 at 09:49 PM.
JRaef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 09:50 PM   #43
Senior Member
 
trentonmakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,314
Rewards Points: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HertzHound View Post
Maybe there is a car port at the entrance where the fossils get picked up and dropped off. So in the soffit it has a dozen heads that could freeze. The building has plenty of pressure, so there is no fire pump. Just a little compressor to take care of a dozen heads.



Boy a picture would say a thousand words.
They pulled from the guy I usually work with today. I'm with him tomorrow, I'll get the nameplate pic and post it.

Sent from my LG-K550 using Tapatalk
trentonmakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-05-2019, 10:10 PM   #44
Cow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eastern Oregon
Posts: 2,745
Rewards Points: 4,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trentonmakes View Post
They pulled from the guy I usually work with today. I'm with him tomorrow, I'll get the nameplate pic and post it.

Sent from my LG-K550 using Tapatalk

Why are you working on a Saturday!?!?!
Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 10:18 PM   #45
Senior Member
 
trentonmakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,314
Rewards Points: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cow View Post
Why are you working on a Saturday!?!?!
Fri nite, saturday, and possibly sunday!

I blame Doug!

Sent from my LG-K550 using Tapatalk
trentonmakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 08:00 AM   #46
Senior Member
 
trentonmakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,314
Rewards Points: 138
Default

This is only pic he took of info

There was actual name plate where i saw the FLA



ETA; I know you guys mentioned the voltage but I sworn I seen 220/240 on the nameplate. I'm thinking they swapped motors???

I'm there next week doing sconces, I'll get pics and more info and definitely check voltage.

Sent from my LG-K550 using Tapatalk

Last edited by trentonmakes; 04-08-2019 at 09:54 AM.
trentonmakes is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to trentonmakes For This Useful Post:
HertzHound (04-08-2019)
Old 04-08-2019, 04:57 PM   #47
Senior Member
 
HertzHound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: East coast
Posts: 202
Rewards Points: 238
Default

Well there you go! Bring a 40A breaker with you. If the manufacture is calling for #6 wire, thatís probably what it should have. By code the motor draws 16A. 16*1.25=20. You could get away with #12 not taking into account the length of the run or the manufacturers recommendation. Bring it to their attention and charge to change it. They already know they have a problem. They know your not making it up.

16*2.50=40A for an inverse time circuit breaker. You could have a 40A breaker on #12 wire in this situation. Up to one HP could have internal thermal overloads. Thatís what would protect the motor while itís running.

I donít know all the fire alarm codes. But I would think the breaker should be red and it should have a breaker lock on it, so it doesnít get shut off accidentally. I may be overthinking it. If the compressor fails to run, the worse that could happen is that the system fills with water. If itís winter it could freeze. Freezing would be the life safety issue, not necessarily the compressor not running. Weíve always painted them red with nail polish and put a lock on them.

Usually there would be a tamper switch to make sure no one shut off the valve for the water. A low pressure switch to warn them the compressor isnít running. And a flow switch to initiate an alarm. The flow switch looks like/is a pressure switch. Again maybe Iím over thinking it, but thatís what I always remember wiring.

Did the maintenance guy even put the system on test before he started to run the pump?
__________________
ďWhy say lot words when few words do trickĒ
HertzHound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 08:57 PM   #48
Senior Member
 
trentonmakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,314
Rewards Points: 138
Default

I still have no idea whats going on with this thing.

I can't wait to go back and try and figure it out.

Sent from my LG-K550 using Tapatalk
trentonmakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 10:06 PM   #49
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 6,314
Rewards Points: 2,240
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HertzHound View Post
Well there you go! Bring a 40A breaker with you. If the manufacture is calling for #6 wire, thatís probably what it should have. By code the motor draws 16A. 16*1.25=20. You could get away with #12 not taking into account the length of the run or the manufacturers recommendation. Bring it to their attention and charge to change it. They already know they have a problem. They know your not making it up.

16*2.50=40A for an inverse time circuit breaker. You could have a 40A breaker on #12 wire in this situation. Up to one HP could have internal thermal overloads. Thatís what would protect the motor while itís running.

I donít know all the fire alarm codes. But I would think the breaker should be red and it should have a breaker lock on it, so it doesnít get shut off accidentally. I may be overthinking it. If the compressor fails to run, the worse that could happen is that the system fills with water. If itís winter it could freeze. Freezing would be the life safety issue, not necessarily the compressor not running. Weíve always painted them red with nail polish and put a lock on them.

Usually there would be a tamper switch to make sure no one shut off the valve for the water. A low pressure switch to warn them the compressor isnít running. And a flow switch to initiate an alarm. The flow switch looks like/is a pressure switch. Again maybe Iím over thinking it, but thatís what I always remember wiring.

Did the maintenance guy even put the system on test before he started to run the pump?
I don't mean to be a nit-picky jerk here but 240.4(D) allows #14 to be used for a 1 HP motor operating at 115 volts.

So, in this case, it would be code compliant to have #14 and a 40 amp breaker......well, other than violating the manufacturers instructions.

Why would they specify #6 anyway?
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2019, 05:26 PM   #50
Senior Member
 
cwsims84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon
Posts: 134
Rewards Points: 171
Default

In Rush current can be as much as 800%... there is no surprise here...
cwsims84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2019, 05:34 PM   #51
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 13,547
Rewards Points: 25,342
Default

It may be that the unit is designed to punch new air against nearly full pressure right from the first.

That would really suck in instantaneous current!
telsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2019, 05:47 PM   #52
Senior Member
 
Bird dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: South East US
Posts: 4,521
Rewards Points: 830
Default

Hyg...

https://www.generalairproducts.com/lt620100a.html
https://www.manualslib.com/products/...0-3772316.html
http://www.vikinggroupinc.com/sites/...nkCutSheet.pdf
__________________
Popcorn munching forum observer
Bird dog is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
!/4 scale Chevy V8 startup The build starts at 4:44 LARMGUY Off Topic (Non Trade) 0 01-24-2018 09:26 PM
MCC startup failure light? QMED Industrial Electrical Forum 19 08-28-2017 09:21 PM
umbrella sharing startup wildleg Off Topic (Non Trade) 2 07-11-2017 09:34 PM
Virginia startup Locknutz Business, Marketing, and Sales 9 06-12-2017 07:32 PM
Startup SparkyJ Business, Marketing, and Sales 12 03-16-2016 05:59 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com